We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gig Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear's Lair Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Gig Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The Bear's Lair is a charming B&B near Gig Harbor. It is like a fairy-tale cottage in the woods, only without the wicked witch and with gourmet breakfasts and a warm and friendly welcome. I went there with two friends for a mini writing retreat, and it was perfect. The shore is within easy walking distance, too. Quiet except for the frogs! Beautiful gardens, too.

Room Tip: I had the Patio Room, which was comfy but dim...but it has a patio of its own. My friends shared the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

We recently stayed here two nights. The accommodations were excellent. Our room and king bed was very comfortable. Your host are very attentive to all the fine details but respect your privacy. Jen prepared a wonderfully balanced & tasty breakfast. If you are into wood working and gardening you will have plenty of opportunity to keep your eyes busy. The owners built the home. Custom trim and cabinets everywhere and lovely gardens and landscaping.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We recently had the privilege of spending two nights at this wonderful B &B. Every detail has been thought of by Jen and she provides a breakfast that you will not believe. We hope to return soon. If you are traveling to Gig Harbor you cannot miss with the Bear's Lair.

Bill and Lois Harvey
North Bend, OR

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any of the rooms. The Patio room is the smallest but perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halosaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My bought a living social deal to spend 2 days at the Bear's Lair wuth my girlfriend for her birthday. We had no trouble finding the place due to Jen's great directions.

When you drive up, you are unstantly awestruck by the beauty and craftsmanship of this wondefful home and the surrounding grounds! When you walk in, you are instantly, warmly greeted and you feel as though you just stepped into your vacation home! You feel at ease, not like the normal arrival at a hotel feeling of anxiety and chaos.

Jen was very informative upon check in about the surounding area and pointing out hotspots on the map she gave us and they have a bunch of brochures about other things to do.

The rooms were exquisetly put together. We stayed in the Rose Room and it was amazimgly fresh and clean feeling and looking. The decor was very quaint and homey. We instanly felt comfortable enough to get in, relax and start our getaway.

The breakfast was equally amazing starting with fresh fruit and moving to some delicious eggs with various inserts or sides. Jen takes into account dietary "no's'" specific to each person, like diabetics, allergies and vegitarians, so you are never disappointed!

We toured the surrounding towns and were always greeted with a smile and light conversation when we returned! We had an amazing time and were terribly sad to go back to our reality.

We highly recommend this B&B to anyone of any age and Jen and Gulio, we will be back soon and often!! Thank you so much!!

-Kahlin & Flavia

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwistedSimplicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My sister and husband were visiting from the mid-west and so we were looking for a place to stay to enjoy the area. Bear's Lair is just the ticket. A lovely place that reminded us of Europe. The accommodations were wonderful, quiet, and very comfortable and the breakfast and treats were delightful! Very relaxing. We enjoyed our stay very much and hope to return again. Jen was very friendly and helpful in her suggestions of what to see in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We wanted to stay at a B & B in Gig Harbor itself, close to the water, with perhaps a view, but our instincts and research kept leading us to Bear's Lair which is located about ten minutes drive from the harbor. Immediately upon arrival we knew we'd made the right choice!

A wonderful property built by the owner's in a secluded wooded area that is quiet and peaceful, with a wonderful and warm interior. We stayed in the Dahlia Room, a very nicely appointed and sizeable room, with a comfy king-sized bed. The lounge/breakfast area that is for all guests, is large, yet cozy, and invites one to linger with a book and a coffee.

The attention to detail that owner's Jen and Giulio have invested into this bed and breakfast, is evident not only in the fine woodwork of the building and furniture, but also in what I call the "extras", like a fridge stocked with drinks, plus cookies and candies which are available 24/7, along with all the nice touches to make your stay more pleasant and effortless. Breakfast was delicious with lovely presentation, all prepared and served by the friendly Jen, who takes the time to get to know her guests and make you feel welcome.

We will return, and highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Vancana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is a truly beautiful home and we loved our stay there. Jen is a great cook and will difinitely go back,

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gig Harbor
4.6 mi away
Waterfront Inn
Waterfront Inn
#4 of 5 in Gig Harbor
106 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Wesley Inn & Suites
6.4 mi away
The INN at Gig Harbor
The INN at Gig Harbor
#2 of 5 in Gig Harbor
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
13.9 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#2 of 28 in Tacoma
3,373 reviews
14.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear's Lair Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Lair Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13706 92nd Avenue Ct NW, Gig Harbor, WA 98329-7066
Region: United States > Washington > Gig Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gig Harbor
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing