We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to stay here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gig Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear's Lair Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Gig Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You have to stay here!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My sister recommended this B&B for us to stay in and was I ever glad we did. Jen and Giulio were the perfect hosts at this magnificent Bavarian home in the woods. Totally relaxing, unbelievably quiet, close to Gig Harbor, restaurants and shopping - it was the perfect getaway. Plus Jen's yummy breakfasts each morning. Don't even think of going anywhere else to stay.

Room Tip: There are two rooms in the main house and another room in the nearby carriage house. Any would be de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
53
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My friend and I plan a once a year vacation to any part of the country. This year we chose Seattle, Washington, but our goal was to visit Port Orchard because one of our favorite Hallmark series is "Cedar Cove" which takes place in that area. So we found Bear Lair B & B nearby. We had no idea where we were going but thanks to Jen our hostess and our GPS we were able to find it. It is located and nestled in the middle of the most beautiful six acre forest. As you drive in you almost feel like you have died and gone to heaven. We were welcomed by Jen and Giulio when we arrived.The property is relaxing, serene, quiet, and so beautifully manicured. Their home has the most gorgeous flower boxes on the windows, the front yard is plush green grass and to the left is a small quaint gazebo. Jen has green thumb and everything she grows reflects a sense of escape from the confines of city life. Her entry garden design to their home and the Carriage House where we stayed is landscaped with a feeling of tranquility. They have several niches throughout the gardens. The "Carriage House" where we stayed actually has a carriage buggy sitting in the garden. It is a home away from home. It is cozy and warm, from the entry living area to the dining area with a beautiful fireplace and a complete kitchen with complimentary soft drinks, coffee, milk and other amenities. Jen bakes so there were homemade cookies and fresh flowers on the dining table. The bedroom setting is beautifully decorated and bathroom has fresh clean towels. But the best part was Jen's gourmet breakfast, mmm....fresh fruit, raspberries, blueberries, strawberries with yogurt on a parfait goblet, homemade muffins and quiche with sausage and orange slices. OMG! Delicious!! I promise you that you will love "Bear Lair Bed & Breakfast! We did! We wished we had stayed longer than two days!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Wow! Great surprise for us as we drove onto the six acre property of Bear's Lair B&B. The setting is beautiful, peaceful, charming, and speaks of tender loving care of this forested site and the spotless accommodations. Jen & Giulio, builders of the B&B, are perfect hosts, helpful with local information, site seeing (thanks for the tip to take the Bremerton ferry to Seattle!), stimulating conversation, wonderful breakfasts served to us in the cottage, balanced with space to relax, rest and recuperate. We booked for three nights in the cottage, and after one night we asked for two additional nights but unfortunately a family illness at home called us. The three nights we stayed were not enough—we will be back!

Room Tip: Choose the cottage if you can. Great amount of space and breakfast is served to you each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug_Holck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosier, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We found this beautiful spot at the last minute and fortunately they had 2 rooms available for us to stay. We were doing an Olympic peninsula trip with friends from the east coast and this was our first night. The rooms were very nicely appointed and clean. The common room was very comfortable to have cocktails in before dinner. We all enjoyed a delicious breakfast with one other couple staying there. The grounds are just beautiful and we enjoyed a walk around them after breakfast. We highly recommend Bears Lair B and B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizandglenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

To echo other reviews - Jen & Giulio made their home my home. This is why I stay in B&B's - to feel connected and interact with the other guests and the owners that open their home to us. I came for one night and quickly decided I should check out early of my conference hotel and come back two nights later for another night stay. I felt cared for in the best way - a great location and grounds, a comfortable bed, engaging conversation and lovely breakfast. The almond sea salt and chocolate bars set out are amazing, the coffee is great and the furnishings are so comfortable and inviting. I can't wait to visit in the spring and summer, when I can enjoy the outdoor areas. I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed in the Carriage house and everything was Excellent. Breakfast was excellent. House was clean and beautiful. Bed was super comfortable. Owners are super nice. Will definitely stay here again if we are traveling to the area

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This review is as much about the B&B's owners as it is about the place itself. Jen and Giulio Santori made my wife and I feel as though we were old friends. We got to hear the amazing story of how they build the place themselves from the ground up. And what a place it is! Beautiful and lovingly cared-for buildings and grounds. The first night we were there, a massive wind storm swept through the area, bringing down tons of leaves and fir needles. By the end of the day, the two of them had the grounds immaculate again. I highly recommend Bear's Lair if you are planning a stay in the Gig Harbor area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ_Lorenzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gig Harbor
5.8 mi away
Best Western Wesley Inn & Suites
4.6 mi away
Waterfront Inn
Waterfront Inn
#4 of 5 in Gig Harbor
101 reviews
6.3 mi away
The INN at Gig Harbor
The INN at Gig Harbor
#2 of 5 in Gig Harbor
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
8.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Orchard
Days Inn Port Orchard
#3 of 4 in Port Orchard
350 reviews
18.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Silverdale Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear's Lair Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Lair Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bear's Lair Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13706 92nd Avenue Ct NW, Gig Harbor, WA 98329-7066
Region: United States > Washington > Gig Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gig Harbor
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing