We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maryhill Museum of Art

Maryhill Museum of Art
Book In Advance
More Info
US$188.88*
and up
Private Tour: Columbia River Gorge Day Trip from Portland
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Goldendale
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Housed in a majestic Beaux Art mansion overlooking the Columbia River Gorge, Maryhill Museum of Art is one of the NW's most fascinating cultural destinations. Explore world-class European & American art, an extensive American Indian art collection, sculptures and watercolors by Auguste Rodin - one of the largest collections in the US - and much, much more. Cafe, museum shop, sculpture garden, & picnic grounds on-site. In 2012 the museum opened its 25,000 square foot Mary & Bruce Stevenson Wing, featuring a dedicated arts education suite, a cafe with terrace seating and sweeping views of the Gorge and Mount Hood.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
beaverton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Good collection of Romanian royalty art as well as Native American weaving and several Rodin sculptures. The view from the grounds is great and there are also many modern art sculptures on the grounds.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tkabj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    68
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem of a museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Friends suggested we visit this museum in Goldendale, WA., but we never expected to see a superb Rodin exhibit and a wonderful, special fashion exhibit. We started out reading about Sam Hill and the building of the museum and how the collections came to be. The exhibits of the paintings, furniture and clothes of a Romanian Queen were interesting. The Rodin exhibit featured a collection of superb drawings supplemented by many pieces of his sculptures. There was an exhibit of "Theater de Le Mode" fashions that was completely unexpected in the Columbia River environment. More in tune was the large collection of No. American indian artifacts, including a huge number of baskets, weapons and clothing. Most entertaining was a small exhibit of the early 20th century dancer Loie Fuller, including pictures, posters and a short video. The small exhibit of chess sets is magnificent. Overall, this is a museum you cannot skip if you're in this area...and there is a great winery nearby.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Eclectic mix and worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

In a beautiful situation above the Columbia River Gorge, the building is not what you would expect in this area but, as we were recommended to see it by our b and b hostess in Joseph, we went. It rained the whole of the four days we were in Hood River so we were looking for museums and indoor attractions to visit. The rain let up just enough for us to take some photos of the surroundings and the outdoor scuptures.

We never thought to come here to see furniture that belonged to the Queen of Rumania but there it was in all its splendour. This museum also has an excellent collection of artefacts from the North Western native tribes - one of the best we have seen so far and beautifully displayed.

I particularly liked the miniature mannequins displaying French designer dresses from just after the war. Wonderful that they have survived; never heard of these before.

The cafe is pleasant and it would have been lovely to have sat on the terrace and had a drink but the weather beat us.

We were very pleased we heard of this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A very, very pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Eclectic collection housed in a beautiful building on landscaped property located high above the Columbia River Gorge makes this well worth a visit. Check out the museum website to make your own determination, but if in doubt go for it – you can’t beat the view!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BackroadsExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit - most people have no idea.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Many people have not heard of this place. It is an amazing mansion turned into a museum and highlights the incredible accomplishments of Sam Hill and his interests. It is one of the better museums I have been two. Good layout. Interesting displays - particularly the furniture from Queen Maria of Romania, the sculptures of Rodin, the pictures and stories of Loie Fuller, the collection of Chess sets, and beautiful art work. The grounds are beautiful - great views of Mt Hood and the gorge as well as interesting sculptures out of metal. Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maryhill Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Maryhill Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing