We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service, Great Food, Nice Menu”

The Greenbank Grille
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Greenbank
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: American
Description: Take a step back in time when you visit the Greenbank Store & Grille on beautiful Whidbey Island. Built in 1904, the store has served the community for many years and holds dear memories for many folks. Come on in for good food, conversation, a view of Baby Island or to pick up some of our wonderful Whidbey Island products. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Restaurant details
Description: Take a step back in time when you visit the Greenbank Store & Grille on beautiful Whidbey Island. Built in 1904, the store has served the community for many years and holds dear memories for many folks. Come on in for good food, conversation, a view of Baby Island or to pick up some of our wonderful Whidbey Island products. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kirkland, WA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly Service, Great Food, Nice Menu”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Very friendly service and hands on owner, all make you feel very welcome. Food is well prepared and reasonably priced. The Prime Rib special for $20 is outstanding! Cool atmosphere and just a fun place to have a few drinks or dinner. Been there four times now as we are new island residents and every time has been very good.

Had an embarrassing moment where I dropped my car key that fell into into a crevice in their deck while leaving. Their staff including Brian the owner fished my key out with a wire hook and saved the day. These are really nice people who care about their customers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Larson777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coupeville, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stepping Up in Greenbank”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Not enough Whidbey Islanders even know it exists, let alone how good the food and service are at The Greenbank Grille. Next to the post office, in the loft area above the main floor of the historic Greenbank Store you will find a friendly little bar with about 10 bar stools in the midst of a dining area with about 10 tables.

There is a nice, but limited selection of spirits, wine and beer fairly priced and generously poured.

With a comfortable 'country store' feel the Grille offers a cross section of menu items ranging from a bucket of perhaps the island's best french fries, a serviceable Caesar salad, and a tasty twist on a classic Reuben sandwich to a couple of pasta dishes, burgers with interesting options, fish and chips, and a rotating list of daily specials including prime rib.

Service is casual, experienced and friendly, and overall the Grille offers locals and visitors to central Whidbey Island a very good bang for the buck! Wish we could get there more often.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CouperLVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A tasty, friendly place to enjoy comfort food, deliciously prepared.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The burgers are high quality, satisfying. The fries are just perfect- flavorful and crispy. I didn't have the bread pudding, but I hear it's amazing!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surroundings, Good Food”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I enjoyed dinner at the Greenbank Grille in July with our out-of-town guests. The rock music was blasting when we arrived, at a level that would make conversation difficult, and I was impressed with how willing the staff was to turn it down at my request, and how nice they were about it. We had the fish tacos. My husband had fries with his, but I ordered potato salad with mine, and it was delicious, very fresh and tasty. One of our guests ordered a special that included rice and beans with her fish tacos; she found the sides too spicy but readily admitted she is a 'wimp' when it comes to spicy food. Our friends enjoyed themselves, and we liked the relaxing, Western-influenced decor of the upstairs dining room overlooking the deli and general store below. We look forward to returning and trying another one of the Greenbank Grille's dinner items.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3Islanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbank, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food,friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We live in Greenbank and go to the Greenbank grille every couple of weeks. The fish and chips are excellent. But my favorite meal is the pineapple habanero chicken. The staff and the owner are so friendly. On the menu there is something for every taste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Empress2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greenbank Grille also viewed

Greenbank, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Langley, Whidbey Island
Freeland, Whidbey Island
 

Been to The Greenbank Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing