We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner on the water”

El Puerto de Angeles
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Hoodsport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice dinner on the water”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our visit to this small unassuming place. We each had a chimichanga. Very good and tasty, plus it wasn't mass quantities of food like you often get in a Mexican restaurant. Just enough. My margarita was gigantic and yummy. It would have been nice to sit outdoors if it had not been so windy, because it's right on the water.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twincitiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    21
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Waterfront Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My wife and I were driving on US 101 on our way from Mt. Rainier to Port Angeles to explore Olympic National Park. We were getting hungry for lunch, so we used the TripAdvisor phone app to look up local restaurants. We were within two minutes of this restaurant, and Mexican sounded good, so we pulled in. The location is great - right on the water with a beautiful view of Hood Canal. There are outside tables, but it the weather wasn't the greatest, so we ate inside. The decor is pretty basic, however, there is a wonderful religious shrine taking up most of one wall. Our server was very friendly, and suggested some of the house specialties. My wife went with the burrito asada. The beef filling was incredibly flavorful, and the serving was huge. I chose the seafood chimichanga. It was delicious, but the flavor of the dungeness crab overwhelmed the other seafood (I think there were also shrimp, scallops and halibut in there). The accompanying refried beans and rice were yummy. The only funky thing about the restaurant is that the restrooms are located in a trailer-like building next door.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zaphod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great place for a small town”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I go to hoodsport often for scuba diving , there re not a lot of choices in this area but this is a no brainier . Very good food very good service . Nice view for some tables . Good strong drinks

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Reliably good food. But they need a better bathroom. The view is wonderful and it's nice to sit outdoors. Good margaritas.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoodsport
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This is one of the absolute few reasturants on Hood Canal. Owned and operated by Mexicans that know their food. Try the chicken soup sopa de pollo. Great views, looking east, on the Canal. Actualy it is not a canal but a fiord one of the few in the states. A true canal joins two bodies of water and this was missed named by the early explorers not doing a complete study.
English and Spanish spoken here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buck_Soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Puerto de Angeles also viewed

 

Been to El Puerto de Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing