We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic amenities”
Review of Heidi's Inn Ilwaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heidi's Inn Ilwaco
Ranked #4 of 6 Ilwaco B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2013

No frills: towels are clean, no air conditioning (small fan is there), marginal mattress (jiggles a lot),vanity wasn't bolted down. There's packets of shampoo, makeup remover towelettes, facial soap, body soap, packets of lotion. Ask for the WiFi code: they don't give it out unless you ask. Our room had two doubles, stove, compact fridge, Folgers with coffee maker, tiny 20 inch TV. Vertical window blinds don't keep out enough light. This motel is frequented by fishermen going out of Ilwaco for salmon and tuna trips; it's located about 5 min from the marina. It's not unusual to hear diesel trucks starting up at 2:30 in the morning, but I managed to sleep through it.
Pros: the basics are there (except the hair dryer), it's pretty clean (for an old motel), and the staff at the desk is friendly and helpful. It's not outrageously priced compared to Long Beach, but there are more choices there. One final happy note; with the change in management, the office doesn't smell like yesterday's curry.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank WAgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa L, Owner at Heidi's Inn Ilwaco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thanks for the review! We get a chuckle out of the high volume of comments regarding the smell of Curry - ut the fact that you recognize such indicates you have een a guest of Heidis Inn Ilwaco for some time. We are spending the off season refreshing the rooms now that we have a moment, so will be insuring that all roomshave consistent ammenities.
One of the projects we are most anxious about completing is the installation of black out curtains - as we absolutely agree that the horizontal blinds do not do an adequate job of blocking the light.

The mints will remain, though we may mix it up for the benefit of all our returning guests :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Heidi's Inn Ilwaco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

I was a bit shocked by this place. It was a last minute reservation as our plans had changed, so I asked for a downstairs room for my elderly mother. The man said it was a smoking room but otherwise they only had upstairs rooms left. When we arrived it was actually impossible to take that downstairs room because it did smell horrible of smoke (I guess I was hoping it would have been a faint smell).

The girl at the front desk was very nice, friendly and helpful. She showed me the rooms and made it clear that she would not hold us to the reservation if we decided we couldn't take the upstairs room (indicating that at least they had a ramp leading to the upper levels-lol, plywood over the stairs, so it was STEEP).

The rooms were old and, well, old is the best way to describe them. Not easy to make look clean and pretty.

My 73 year old mom and I had to lug our heavy luggage to an upstairs room where at least it didn't smell too bad, however we could still smell the faint smell of musty smoke. It was VERY hot and there was no air conditioning. Oh my gosh it was hot. This was the end of June and a rare heatwave was going through. We opened the windows for awhile but felt too concerned to sleep with it open, because there was no screen on it.

The bathroom set up was nice and there was another window in there that we were able to leave open all night - but even though it got nice an chilly outside that night it didn't seem to cool down the room much.

The beds were comfortable and if it weren't for being so hot and humid we would have had a nice sleep - but I didn't sleep well at all - in fact, I got very little sleep.

I took a shower the next morning and realized there was NO hair dryer. We tried over and over to reach the office to see if they had one we could use and nobody answered the phone or the door - course it was early. Needless to say we had to air dry our hair that day, and try drying your hair in 100% humidity!

I think the whole experience would have been better if all the smoking rooms were on the second floor, if they would have offered a hair dryer when checking in, and if there had been an air conditioner to get the wet sticky humidity out of the room. We spent roughly $88 for this (and this felt like a complete rip off, I'd have been happier if I'd paid forty nine dollars!, I suppose because it's in a relative tourist area, the nicer hotels were outrageously priced - however, looking back, I would have spent more and not re-experienced this.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meshell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa L, Owner at Heidi's Inn Ilwaco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Heidi's Inn Ilwaco.
We are pleased to read that our Team did so many things right in ensuring the recently converted smoking room was properly represented, as well as the ramp access to the second floor.
We regret that after seeing the rooms your stay was not as you had hoped for. We take no pride in disappointing our guests.
We hope you will afford us another opportunity sometime in the future to show our best and thank you again for your feedback - which we use to better the service and accommodations we are pleased to provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

If you are staying in Southwest Washington near the Long Beach Peninsula or in Northwest Oregon near Astoria this is the place to stay. $49 a night is an amazing price. The rooms are quite nice and extremely clean. It's on a quiet street and the staff is warm and friendly. You get excellent service and accommodations at a great rate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa L, Owner at Heidi's Inn Ilwaco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words.
We greatly appreciate the time you took to review Heidi's Inn and look forward to hosting your next stay on the Discovery Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I recently stayed at your motel, and i wanna say that it was only six (6) days, however i was treated with respect. i wanna thank janak and her daughter for attending to my needs as a guest.i visit Washington every year, and i always stay with them. I will HIGHLY recommend this motel to anyone that is planning a stay in the Washington area. Thanks Janak!! see you next year!!! Ramiro..

Room Tip: Very pleasant and quiet,safe location..
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank felix p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa L, Owner at Heidi's Inn Ilwaco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you Felix for taking time to share Heidi's Inn with folks.
Your review and generous words are greatly appreciated - Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Passing through Ilwaco on our Northbound trip, Heidi's Inn was exactly what we were looking for.
The room was at ground level, very convenient, and comfortable. (Being early in the season, the heater was needed briefly and worked perfectly.)

The clerk was friendly and helpful with directions we needed, AND the price was very fair !

Summarizing, this place was PERFECT for our stay !

Room Tip: Ask and you shall receive ! It was not a busy time of year, but the clerk gave us a perfect room loc...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa L, Owner at Heidi's Inn Ilwaco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

We always love hearing Feedback from guests -so its very considerate of you to take a moment to write on our behalf.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The room was clean, the water was hot, the bed was firm, and the price was very reasonable. It was newly painted and the owners, who were kind and considerate, said they paint every two years. The mini fridge, microwave, and instant coffee makings were a nice touch. I either camp or stay in budget motels when I travel, and this was the nicest, and cleanest, motel I've been in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa L, Owner at Heidi's Inn Ilwaco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

No Frills, No Chills. Just a nice, clean, economy place to stay.
Thanks for your fair and sincere review!
We look forward to hosting your next visit to the Long Beach Peninsula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This is a good place to stay if you just want a budget-friendly place to sleep for the night. The room was clean. It was pretty quiet. There is a TV, microwave and refrigerator. The table fan kept the room a comfortable temperature. The shower was very small and the bed was just okay. I would not recommend it for a longer stay if you want something nice. The staff was courteous and friendly. Plenty of free parking. It's in a good location for access to Long Beach and the coast. A very basic room for a good price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mz_Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa L, Owner at Heidi's Inn Ilwaco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

As new owners we obviously were not here during your stay, but we do believe your review was accurate enough to warrant a response - even a year or so late.
Heidi's Inn is in a unique location - right at the Gateway to Discovery.
The Port of Ilwaco, Cape Disappointment, long Beach, Astoria, The Columbia River, The Pacific Ocean, The Lewis and Clark Trail and Interpretive Center, a bevy of Museums...its definately all here. And you are right, you can save a bit by staying in Ilwaco over some of the larger properties up the beach.
As for extended stays, we do offer 6 Family Rooms all extra large in size with 3 Beds and a dining/desk area. Several of them also have full kitchens and can be booked with the adjoining room to create a very large living and sleeping area.
we also have The Wreck room - which is best for groups that dont mind sharing a very large fully appointed living area (Sleeps 8 with full kitchen, and double baths. Think college dorm..)
These rooms are also located away from the main building and office, providing a little more space and privacy for families and larger groups.
Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you at the coast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilwaco
3.7 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
267 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
89 reviews
2.7 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#2 of 8 in Long Beach
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn at Harbour Village
0.2 mi away
Salt Pub & Hotel
Salt Pub & Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ilwaco
68 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Long Beach
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Inn Ilwaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Inn Ilwaco

Address: 126 Spruce St E, Po Box 776, Ilwaco, WA 98624-9174
Region: United States > Washington > Ilwaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ilwaco
Price Range: £54 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heidi's Inn Ilwaco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in Ilwaco, Washington on the Long Beach Peninsula. Beach Horse Back Riding, Cape Disappointment,The Edge of the Continent, The Graveyard of the Pacific and The Lewis and Clark Trail: all where one of North Americas largest rivers runs headlong into the Worlds largest ocean. Stay in Ilwaco and save on your visit to the Washington Coast. Ideal location near Salmon, Sturgeon and Tuna Charters. Large, Small, Interlocking Rooms Available for Groups and Families. Suites and Kitchens. All Rooms with Microwave, Fridge, and Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Heidi's Inn Ilwaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing