We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Rental”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of A Stone's Throw

Mt. Index, the mountain the town was named after.  It is your view from our B&B
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mt. Index, the mountain the town was named after.  It is your view from our B&B
Sit by the river and just breathe We offer weddings and small gatherings in our expansive gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Mt. Index, the mountain the town was named after.  It is your view from our B&B
Sit by the river and just breathe
We offer weddings and small gatherings in our expansive gardens
You just can't get away from the views
Your private outside shower.  PURE BLISS!!!!
Your queen size icomfort bed with tempurpetic pillows
View from your bedroom
Your own private sitting room where breakfast is served when weather doesn't permit outside dining.
Your own private bath.
Soak in your private claw foot tub with views of Mt. Index        s of Mt Index        s of g.
Dining room downstairs.
Living Room
So many places to sit and be surrounded by peace and beauty.
We are only 27 minutes from Stevens Pass Ski Area.
Beautiful garden in the snow.
Another place to sit and look at the mountains.
As the locals call it 'The Wall' world famous rock climbing.
Another place to sit and watch the world go by.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Index, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marchfr
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Rental”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Very good location. Lynn was very accommodating and rooms were spotless. Only concern is that a train runs right by the house. If you're a light sleeper earplugs work great. After a long day of hiking I fell asleep and never heard the train. Overall a good place to put your feet up and relax as Lynn has a beautifully landscaped property that invites you in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thanks Fran, I hope you enjoyed the rest of trip visiting WA state.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catharine...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a view to wake up to!”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We totally enjoyed our stay at A Stones Throw. The room / whole floor of the house was wonderful. I woke up ahead of my husband, and was able to settle into the living room and let him sleep. David was an awesome host. He sent us away with "Chocolate Cookies to Dye For". They are well named! We hope to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msteele20...
Tacoma, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Transported in Time in Creative Leisure”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a great visit and relaxing time we had at "A Stone Throws B&B" Staying at Lynn and Dave's home was like being in a art gallery, museum and being at home away from home. Every detail was attended to artistically with craft and heart. Their suggestion for a hike was just perfect for us. Graciousness and warm hospitality was evident always.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I loved your header "Transported in Time in Creative Leisure"
You guys are the best!!! We hope to see you again. It was such a pleasure having you in our home and getting to know you both. We totally enjoyed your energy.
Thanks again.
Lynn and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland_O...
ashland, or
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a great place to stay. The upper floor of a beautiful home is yours! And if a lovely claw foot tub is not to your liking, the outdoor shower might tickle your fancy. The bed was comfortable and the hosts, terrific. You will not regret this choice of BnB.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2015
Thank you both so much for the lovely review. I knew you would love our outdoor shower. I so enjoyed having you stay with us and getting to know you.. You are both wonderful people and I do hope we will see you again.
Take care and please come back to visit!
Lynn & David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin B
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We did some hiking and climbing in the Mt. Index area and stayed one night in this magical B & B. The house and gardens are beautiful down to every last pristine vintage detail. The deep soaking tub and outdoor shower were the perfect relief for sore muscles. And the breakfast...oooh it can't be beat! I cannot wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The deep soaking tub and outdoor shower
Liked least: The floors are a little creaky - to be expected in an old house, though.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yvallett
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History with a view”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Located in an area that abounds with history and natural beauty. Lynn our inn keeper was so very gracious and accommodating. Our upstairs our room had the most spectacular views of Mt. Index, while being true to the history of the house in it's adornments. The property has the most amazing garden. We can't wait to visit again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Squeaky floors of an old house,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midsouthg...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay! Beautiful view right outside our window with clean and comfy rooms. I loved soaking in the claw footed tub viewing the mountains after a day hiking. Stay in Index rather than Luvenwerth because its much more quaint, less crowded and cooler on this side of Stevens Pass.
Lynn served us a gourmet breakfast to top it all off and gave us some great travel advice for the area.
As fellow gardeners, we loved the yard too!
Thanks Lynn!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing