We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Idea, Bad Execution” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treehouse Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Issaquah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Treehouse Point
Ranked #1 of 1 Issaquah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun Idea, Bad Execution”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

We stayed for one night and thought the treehouse itself was great--beautfiul wood and furnishings, great setting in the woods above the river--but the lack of communication from the manager really detracted from the stay. We made our reservation but were not given any information about how to find the place, when or how to check in, or where exactly we were staying or what the accomodations were like. When we inquired in the days before our stay, we didn't get any email response but eventually got a return call after we left a telephone message and were told to just call again when we arrived. We called when we arrived and learned where we were staying but didn't see anyone around for quite a while, so put the spot heater on in the treehouse and went to dinner. (We had a great dinner at the Fall City Roadhouse just down the road in Fall City --delicious food, beautiful old place, great waitstaff.) Perhaps our fault for not asking for lots of details, but we didn't know that the bathroom was quite a distance from the treehouse (and very cold and smelled like a sewer). Truly, while the treehouse was cold but neat, the experience felt a lot like camping out, which wasn't what we were expecting. We could have adjusted our attitudes a lot easier if enough information had been provided beforehand and we knew this was what to expect (though maybe we would have passed on the experience because at $200+ per night, it's pretty expensive camping, especially for a couple who don't really enjoy camping). All in all, it is a really cool idea, it was a neat treehouse, but it certainly wasn't the "bed and breakfast in a cool setting" concept that we thought it looked like from the website (www.treehousepoint.com) and from a local news spotlight. Win some, lose some.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
34 Thank ItsOtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteNelson, Owner at Treehouse Point, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Dear ItsOtis,

We regret you had a difficult stay at Treehouse Point. As we are new to the business of hospitality we expect to make meaningful changes that will take into account your important grievances. Improved communication with our guests is our new point of emphasis. We are now contacting our guests with a pre-arrival email that will explain important details such as our location, check-in times, and what to expect upon arrival. When someone from the Treehouse Point staff is unable to check in a guest, there will be clear instructions for the guest to follow. We have built a well-lighted self check-in kiosk that provides a comprehensive site map of the four-acre property. The treehouses, bathrooms, breakfast area and other important landmarks are clearly marked on the site map will be waiting for the guest upon arrival, no matter what time of day or night. We are also introducing a Welcome Pack that is provided in each of our rooms. This contains good information about the local area such as where to eat and what to see.

We hope we will be able to show you these important improvements first hand!

Sincerely,

Pete Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    14
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
94
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery Village
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

First, some points of disclosure: I was part of the "we" mentioned by AzuRiv of the 8.1.09 review, I didn't have direct dealings with THP's owner, and because of unrelated circumstances, I had limited experience of the apparently gorgeous property, pretty much confined to the lodge. That said, I feel compelled to write a review, because I was tremendously disappointed by the way the brief stay turned out.

Nobody's perfect. I get that. But if our experience demonstrates anything, it's that even a well-meaningly laissez faire approach can overshadow all the beauty and wonder of a concept in hospitality, especially at $200 a night.

Here's the deal: if you are as enthralled by the idea of sleeping in/among treehouses in a beautiful wooded environment as we were, and you decide that you must try Treehouse Point, take excellent stock of what your expectations are for your dollars. When you are setting things up for your stay, ask for a written run-down of:

* check-in/check out procedures and policies (time, who to expect, keys, etc. Trust me, that's important, and you may be surprised)

* whether or not breakfast is included with your room and what it comprises and what time it'll be served. Are there other meal options nearby? is the kitchen off limits?

* schedule of housekeeping service and where to expect it (where do you dispose of trash on the grounds? recycling?)

* amenities and toiletries included or not, and in what rooms (can you expect soap in the bathroom? what happens if you run out of toilet paper?)

* climate control options and what help you can expect if things get less than comfortable (management doesn't seem to be on-site)

* who is available if you need help, have a question, or an urgent issue, and how can you contact them? (public phone not in evidence, though I might have missed something)

* any other policy issues the host might not have mentioned.

Knowing the answers to these questions in advance can help you make an educated decision about staying, because there was no guide, no documentation and little communication of any of it before and during our visit. The web site is visually nice, but little help on these points. Don't take anything for granted, so if you do decide to move forward, you'll be better able to avoid the frustration of paying premium prices for what we thought was a low-key B&B but the owner apparently sees as a hands-off site rental. I don't doubt that the first reviewer had an amazing time, but as they say, "It's all good until it's not." The proof is in how a host handles things when they're "not".

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank magmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteNelson, Owner at Treehouse Point, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Dear Magmaven,

Thank you for bringing your important observations to our attention. Treehouse Point is relatively new to the hospitality business and your feedback is extremely important to us. We will do everything we can to address any and all issues that made your stay less than what it could have been.

Most of your concerns are centered on a general lack of communication from the Treehouse Point staff. To make proper changes we have implemented a simple pre-arrival email, which will explain important details such as our location, check-in times, and what to expect upon arrival. This is indeed a unique place, and a clear set of procedures is outlined in a newly introduced Welcome Pack provided in each room. Beyond important local information such as where to eat and what to see, it explains where the recycling is located, where garbage can be left, where the extra toiletries are kept. It will also provide information regarding climate control options in your room, land-line phone policies, and contact numbers for staff members in case of emergencies.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to show you our improvements in the near future!

Sincerely,

Pete Nelson & The THP Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado, US
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

We were unfortunate to check in during a record heat wave in the Seattle area with highs in the 100F degrees. Although the room was beautiful, it was on the top floor with only one weak ceiling fan (and the owners were running the washer/dryer right next to the room, which only added to the stifling heat). Even with all the windows open, my toddler didn't fall asleep until well past midnight because of the heat. When we left just after 8AM the next morning to sight-see, no breakfast had been put out. When I called the owner the next morning to ask if we could check out that day due to the heat and still receive a refund for the remaining 2 nights we were supposed to stay there, he agreed.

We had to return to pack and remove our things (and upon our return, noticed some food had been put out for breakfast at some point). Once we had checked out, the owner reneged on his word and said he would only refund us for one night and charge us a full night as a cancellation fee. He also accused us of having our dogs in the upstairs room (which is ridiculous because our senior dogs cannot do stairs and there are plenty of stairs to get to our room).

I did bring in our dogs just inside the side door of the Main Lodge while we were eating dinner. They never moved more than 5 ft. from the door and simply lay on the concrete floor just inside the door, panting. The temperatures were well over 90F outside (even at 6PM) and the General Manager Russell had seen the dogs and not asked me to move them back inside the car (we'd been on a road trip for days). The dogs left right after dinner to go with my husband and son who were staying elsewhere- so that my friend and I could catch up and have a mini Girls Escape (although our toddler girl did remain with me).

Even putting aside the ridiculously small amount of liquid hand soap in the bathroom (which we quickly ran out of and had to dilute with water to "stretch"), for $200 a night, one tends to have higher expectations for service than the comment from the owner Pete Nelson that his place was probably "too rustic" (his words) for us. No "I'm sorry- how can we make things better? Can we bring in more fans?" or "More soap is not a problem; sorry about that oversight." or simple, clear info such as "We only serve breakfast from 9-10AM."

I've travelled all over the world (including Vietnam, Mexico, etc.), camped on beaches, etc. and "rustic" is NOT how I'd describe Treehouse Point. Frankly, we wanted to love the place which is why we were so disappointed and dismayed at our experience. "Shallow" is a better description. Gorgeous on the outside, but lacking where things really matter. The soap & breakfast are minor issues that can be easily addressed (or made clearer in the future with better communication). Although for the cost and the "look" of the property, it's surprising that details like those (and the full trash can in the kitchen) are overlooked. The heat and reneging on your word- cannot. Ironically, the owner has both children and a dog- with little compassion for the effects of high heat on the children and/or dogs of others.

For $200/night, you can absolutely do better in the Seattle area (Issaquah is a suburb) than the poor treatment we received here.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
60 Thank AzuRiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteNelson, Owner at Treehouse Point, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Dear AzuRiv,

We regret you had a difficult stay at Treehouse Point. As we are new to the business of hospitality we expect to make meaningful changes that will take into account your important grievances. As of now we will be better prepared for the peak summer heat. Each room has been provided a compact fan that should take care of the worst of the summer heat. We have also hired a full time breakfast attendant who will be sure to have the morning meals ready no later than 8AM. Other important odds and ends such as making sure the soap dispensers are full and the garbage is taken out will be looked after by our full-time room staff. Unfortunately, animals are not allowed at Treehouse Point. Most of us are dog owners ourselves, however, Treehouse Point is an extremely delicate environment and we strive to be excellent stewards of this unique property. In the case of dogs having special dispensation, they must be kept out of the Main Lodge and all of the treehouses. We regret to have denied your refund after finding this important protocol was not followed.

Sincerely,

Pete Nelson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle,wa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

I recently stayed at Treehouse Point and my expectations were blown out of the water.

First of all, let me say that the place is pure heart and magic. It was built by the owner Pete Nelson and his wife Judy (who is also the most excellent chef-in-residence). The treehouses and outbuildings are set amongst towering forest, next to a river and the place looks like nature built it all on its own. Beautifully, with grace and integration.

It obvious this is a labor of love for them and that shows. Not only in their attention to detail to ensure a comfortable stay, but in their welcoming attitude. They are open with their time and the land they steward.

The treehouses themselves are works of art. Comfortable, beautiful and simple. Sleeping in a tree for a night is beyond words..like floating in another world.

My night there was shared with a few visiting musicians and filmmaker--a fun and hilarious campfire jam ensued with drinks made by Pete himself. The food was kept around for grazing well into the night. This is apparently the typical for the place : )

In addition to the treehouses, they also have a very comfortable lodge with a beautiful dining room, fire place and event spaces if you wanted to plan that retreat.

Take my word, its worth it! Everyone has to stay here and sleep in the trees, just once : )

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leandra_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Issaquah
3.5 mi away
Salish Lodge & Spa
Salish Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Snoqualmie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Seattle - Issaquah
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle/Issaquah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Seattle-Issaquah
10.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Seattle Bellevue
20.7 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treehouse Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treehouse Point

Property: Treehouse Point
Address: 6922 Preston-Fall City Road SE, Issaquah, WA 98027
Region: United States > Washington > Issaquah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Issaquah
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Treehouse Point Hotel Issaquah
Treehouse Point Issaquah, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing