We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible hotel”
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel was okay, but the feeling inside of it made you queezy. Not to mention, it was very cheap and lacked a family environment. The decor was also very outdated. The hotel seemed to be more for contractors in the area than families visiting. Staff was okay. The bathroom was also very tiny. I would for sure reccome d the super 8 next door for a better family environment, a less expensive, good quality hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelGuru913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Hello,
I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. All feedback, good or bad, helps us move forward in the right direction. Next time you are in the area I would recommend looking at a room with two queen beds for the room is much bigger (including the bathroom) than any of the rooms in our south end of the building. You’ll also be happy to know we are currently in the process of getting a new TV and bedding package for all of our rooms. Families are our biggest contributors during the summer, especially with us being the host hotel for most of the baseball and soccer tournaments in town. We also let all kids 10 and under eat our All American breakfast Buffet for free. The breakfast includes bacon, eggs, sausage, diced potatoes, whole fruits, cut fruits, breakfast breads, cold and hot cereal, juice, milk, and much more. We hope you’ll give us another shot in the future. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    82
    69
    41
    31
See reviews for
94
55
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Heaven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Walked in...service and staff was okay. The decor and style were DEFINITELY outdated. It was not a very family place. The room though was another story...okay room, but horrible smell. It smelled like dried blood for some reason. Anyway, I have never been to such a scary and creepy hotel in my life. In my opinion, you would be much better off at the super 8 next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amadeus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. All Feedback good or bad helps us to become aware of things we should improve on. I do know that new flat panel TV’s and a new bedding package is in the works for our property in the near future. We have also just instated the P.D.Q cleaning program requiring the rooms be cleaned a certain way to eliminate missed areas or smells. We love accommodating families year-round. Our outdoor pool deck is much larger than any other hotel/Motel in the area creating a place for adults to visit and talk and 2 different sized pools for young kids and adults. We also have our Lounge featuring a full menu that is available to guests out by the pool. As far as a Pool/Lounge combination we are the only one in the area with the feature. I hope you’ll come back to see all that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kelso hotels

north east CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here 3 nights with a group of people. Check in went horribly unfortunately. We were told the computer was not working, so she had to check us in manually-which took forever due to the size of our group. We booked a block of rooms months ahead of time, and they were all to be together, near the pool...That didn't happen! Some of our group were very angry. My husband and I lucked out and got a room on the 1st floor looking at the pool-but disappointment again-these rooms did not have sliding doors to the pool like the Red Lion in Medford. We had to go down the hallway and one of the two doors to the pool area was locked. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. We had dinner one night at the onsite restaurant, and found it to be very good! There is a great coffe place on site also-Tully's. Very good coffee. I would probably try to get a different hotel if in Kelso again due to the fact that our requests from months in advance were not honored-so keep this in mind when coming with a group.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SHZTRBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Hello,
I want to apologize for how the check in process was handled. Your input is incredibly important to us and it is taken very seriously. We try to honor all group requests days before the arrival date but clearly all requests were not fulfilled this time. I’m glad you enjoyed our onsite sports bar and all other outlets of the hotel! Hopefully you will come back in the future and we can show you what we’re truly capable of. Once again, thank you for your comments. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Used this hotel as a base for our Mt St. Helens trip. Stayed 2 nights. Hotel is located conveniently off the hwy, a Mcdonalds within walking distance to get breakfast. We bid through priceline and do not know if the breakfast at the hotel is complimentary or not. There is no elevator. Room is spacious, equipped with fridge and microwave which is a big plus, internet included. Carpet, walls, bathroom look fairly new to me. We used the laundry room in the gym ($1.25 per load). There was another reviewer "Jester D" with whom I agree pretty much with everything in his review. I also find staff helpful and friendly. By the way we finsihed our trip at Mt. Rainier and used State Route 12 and turned south at Hwy 5 to get to this hotel. White Pass Scenic Byway - State Route 12 is very very beautiful. Spirit lake which is an attraction in Mt St Helens can only be accessed via State R 12. What I meant to say is if you are interested in visiting Spirit lake in Mt. St. Helens and are coming from Mt Ranier to Kelso, you will save yourself a lot of time by finding your way to Spirit lake before you start the long drive westwards on State R 12. Otherwise, once you get to Kelso, in order to get to Spirit lake, you would have to drive 111 miles. All in all, I think Red Lion at Kelso offers good value and deserve its star rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank enchanteM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Hello,
Thank you for the positive comments! A lot of our summer business involves people visiting Mt. St. Helens, so this review will help future guests tremendously. I’m glad to hear you’re happy with the hotel in general as well as the service. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here for a baseball tournament. The location is great if you are playing at Tom O' Shanter park, within walking distance.
Pros: Great breakfast, nice bath amenities, comfy bed, friendly check -out, the room was huge and the black out curtains were great
Cons: Cleanliness , the room looked like it had been quickly cleaned and the smell was very musty/mildewy, the bedspread had crumbs on it, the carpet not completely vacuumed, two days into our stay my son found another guest's bag of cookies under the bed-gross!

Room Tip: Choose a premium room..it was huge and very roomy with a nice TV and a large fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMScrapping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I want to apologize for the cleanliness of your room. Things like that are never acceptable and should never happen. We have already taken action to coach and counsel the staff to ensure things like this are not missed. However, that doesn’t fix the fact that you experienced this unprofessional service. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed everything else with our hotel! We hope to see you soon, and thank you again for your valuable input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Me and the wife came here for our 4 year anniversary. We had such a great stay at this hotel. This was our first time at a Red Lion and we had a wonderful time. The place was very clean, the rooms were spacious, the hotel was clean and presentable. The staff was friendly and answered any questions we had about the area or items in the hotel itself. The price we paid by night was well worth the experience, considering it included access to an open late pool, hot tub, work out facility, wifi, and breakfast (which unfortunately we did not take part of).

We will be staying here again when we travel southward!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are center-circle to the pool for the most part. If possible do get one of the ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jester D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Hello,
Thank you for all the positive comments! I hope you had a great anniversary! Next time you’re in the area you’ll have to stay with us and try the breakfast. Hope to see you again next year, if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Although the room was clean and pleasant, I was most impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the desk and housekeeping staff. We came in late at night and the man on the desk was cheerful and more than willing to give us a number of options for dinner. Also, when I inadvertently left my glasses in the room, they found them and held them so I could pick them up on the way back from our trip north to Olympia. I will remember this hotel for future trips to Washington.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kris33023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. I remember seeing your glasses at the desk with the note that you were picking them up! When it comes to lost and found we take it very seriously. You would be surprised with how much is left behind each year. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
0.3 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Kelso/Longview
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Longview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Kelso Longview Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Kelso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
17.6 mi away
Best Western Woodland Inn
1.4 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#4 of 8 in Longview
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview

Property: Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
Address: 510 Kelso Dr, Kelso, WA 98626-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview in beautiful Kelso Washington is conveniently located off I-5 just 40 miles north of Portland, Oregon, 50 minutes from Portland International Airport and five minutes from Kelso Airport. Nearby you'll find shopping at Three Rivers Mall, Triangle Shopping Center, antique and outlet malls and casinos. You'll also find Mount St. Helens, Ape Caves and Lake Merwin a short drive away. For a nominal charge, we can arrange transportation to and from Portland International Airport.Our 161 spacious guest rooms and two suites feature all the modern amenities you'd expect including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and fitness facilities. Guests can also enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and children's pool and a year-round whirlpool. Fishing, golf, bowling, water-skiing and sailing are all nearby.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The Pacific Grill is open for lunch, and the Scoreboard Lounge features a dinner menu, food and drinks with live entertainment on occasion.With 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we can accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview is committed to care, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Kelso
Red Lion Kelso
Kelso Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing