We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to baseball field”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this Red Lion.
The positives: Our double queen premium room was huge! Even the bathroom was large with spacious counter space. The furnishings and decorations were very tasteful and modern. Last time we stayed here at the end of our stay we discovered someone else's food under the bed. This time there was a little sign under the beds that said "yes, we checked here". I thought that was a nice touch. The breakfast was great and the children enjoyed the pool. The closest hotel to Tom 'O Shanter ball fields which was super convenient. The check in staff was pleasant and we were asked several times (while waiting) if we needed anything which was nice.
The negatives: We checked in at 5pm and our room wasn't ready.The hallway has a very unpleasant odor to it (I remember the same odor from last year) almost like rotten garbage although my husband thought it smelled like bad fish. The bathroom had long wet hair in a clump on the floor, gross! The light switches were visibly dirty as well as the bathroom door. I would never take a bath, or bathe my children in the bathtub because it didn't look clean. The sheets didn't stay on the beds. I know these are little things but I feel like this hotel could do a better job cleaning the rooms.
Overall you get more than you pay for here...huge room, great breakfast, location. However, I would be willing to pay for more a cleaner room.

Room Tip: Go for the Premium Queen rooms, especially if traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMScrapping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Our room came with a full breakfast for a reasonable rate. The front desk clerk was very nice and friendly when we checked in. It's near a little shopping center and restaurants. Everything was nice except the shower. I'm not sure if the little switch to change from shower to bath and vice-versa was broken but it was difficult to use. I like taking a hot bath at the end of the day and the water was not hot - only warm. The motel was certainly ok for a night's stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

On our way to Mt. St. Helens we decided to stop at the Red Lion on a Sunday night. This hotel looked somewhat worn & the restaurant & lounge were closed (we arrived about 5 PM). The hotel staff appeared to be working because they had to not enjoying the day.

Our room was just average nothing stood out except that it, like the hotel, appeared in need of a facelift.

The location off of I5 was great with several restaurants nearby.

We stay at many hotels & this is just another one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Hotel was clean, and all I needed was a place to put our luggage and sleep. I was disappointed that the staff had neglected to replace the coffee when the room was cleaned. I didn't get my morning coffee the first morning. Big rooms, large bathrooms, plenty of outlets for what I needed.
One thing to be aware of...there is no elevator here. Be prepared to take the stairs if you are on the second floor. But the staff is helpful in getting your bags to your room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I think there needs to be more notice given that this hotel has no elevator. There is no way a hotel can be three stars or higher without an elevator. The hotel is simply average in all respects, deserving three stars, except for the lack of an elevator.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

I would like to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I would like to apologize for the elevator being out during your stay and that you were not made aware of this prior to your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to rate our hotel based on the experience during your stay. You are a valued guest and we hope to better serve you during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Simple room, but very nice bed and good layout, excellent service. The bathroom was a bit noisy, oddly, but the shower was the best we've had in a while. Breakfast was not complimentary, but the room was cheap enough that we were happy to use our savings elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deuce444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Excellent food and prices , slept like a baby, ice machine and health room for workout was excellent and available, rooms were well taken care of and clean, t.v. could use cable, swimming pools are clean and comfortable

Room Tip: 100 Section of rooms is convenient to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatriciaCainPagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Kelso Longview Area
0.3 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Kelso/Longview
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Kelso
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Longview
204 reviews
1.4 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#4 of 8 in Longview
25 reviews
17.6 mi away
Best Western Woodland Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview

Address: 510 Kelso Dr, Kelso, WA 98626-3109
Region: United States > Washington > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range: £72 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview in beautiful Kelso Washington is conveniently located off I-5 just 40 miles north of Portland, Oregon, 50 minutes from Portland International Airport and five minutes from Kelso Airport. Nearby you'll find shopping at Three Rivers Mall, Triangle Shopping Center, antique and outlet malls and casinos. You'll also find Mount St. Helens, Ape Caves and Lake Merwin a short drive away. For a nominal charge, we can arrange transportation to and from Portland International Airport.Our 161 spacious guest rooms and two suites feature all the modern amenities you'd expect including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and fitness facilities. Guests can also enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and children's pool and a year-round whirlpool. Fishing, golf, bowling, water-skiing and sailing are all nearby.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The Pacific Grill is open for lunch, and the Scoreboard Lounge features a dinner menu, food and drinks with live entertainment on occasion.With 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we can accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview is committed to care, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Kelso
Red Lion Kelso
Kelso Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing