We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Kelso
1 review
“Terrible.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

There were several problems.
1. Very long line/wait at check-in. Waited about 20 minutes standing in a line.
2. Pool heater was broken and not fixed over two day stay. Hot tub out of service as well.
3. Room telephone not functioning for local calls.
4. Wifi very weak in room.
5. Mattress pads were bunched up under fitted sheet in both beds. During the night the fitted sheets came off the mattress (not secure elastic) on both beds.
6. Room was never serviced during two day stay, and "do not disturb" sign was not put on the door. Asked for service, never got it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    79
    68
    38
    31
See reviews for
91
52
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poulsbo
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

When you book and expect breakfast make sure you call them to double check. We were surprised at check in our room did not include breakfast and it would be an additional $7.95 per person. There are other aces near by you can get food cheaper than that. They have rooms at the end of hallways with exit doors right next to them. Our room door shook each time people were coming and going. When we arrive our bathroom had a large puddle of water and the sink was dirty. We called and waited an hour for house keeping. We finally told them to forget it since we had things to do. We were disappointed

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank NormaJPoulsbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary T, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review! We appreciate all feedback, good or bad.

I have spoken with our team about the challenges you encountered, and am confident they are being corrected. We appreciate you choosing Red Lion, and we look forward to the opportunity to "WOW" you on a future visit.

Regards,

Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kelso hotels

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I've stayed here twice, and it's alright. I've never had a problem with my room, but the hallways and lobby could do with a refresh. The glass doors to the parking lot don't seem that secure, but it's not too bad. The breakfast buffet is actually one of the best things about this hotel; their eggs are excellent! Staff are friendly, but don't go over the top to make guests feel welcome, and some appear to be disinterested.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

we woke up to bed bugs in our room!! at first hotel staff told us we were mistaken, and they were FOR SURE not bed bugs. and that they were trained to spot them and were positive everything was fine. sure enough my husband moved the mattress and found several more AND bed bug poop. we did get an apology and a refund AFTER my husband demanded it. oh and we got a ladies business card and was told to call her on Monday. BEWARE if you stay here!! I understand this type of thing happens in hotels but they they did not handle it properly at all!! staff needs to be trained.

hotel lobby was nice and friendly. rooms not were not; very outdated, and dirty feeling.
pool was suppose to open at 10am but instead staff left the lobby full of people in swim ware untill 11 when they finally opened the pool.
oh and the night before (it was a staurday) we took the kids to the pool around 8pm, but it was so full around the pool it was insane! there were kids everywhere which was expected however, most of the chaos was adults which were everywhere (you couldn't even walk around the pool) and they were all drinking alcohol. it looked like a college party out there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was one of the single most disappointing stays in 40 years of traveling. I recommend you drive the extra distance to Portland to avoid this facility. Mold in bathroom, non-existent AC, strong disinfectant smells in the hallway, shabby furnishings, and a dis functional security locking system on an exterior hallway door. Supplied all of this information to Red Lion (corporate) and received a generic apology. I asked to have my communications sent directly to the facility's general manager - still no response. This is a place to be avoided. And, Red Lion corporate should take a close look at this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary T, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry you had such a bad experience! I have shared your challenges with the appropriate departments, and we are working very hard to improve! We appreciate your business, and the feedback!! We look forward to the opportunity to "WOW" at a future date.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were pretty happy with this motel. Yes, it is dated & it definitely shows in the furniture. It was reasonably but not exceptionally clean (noticed mildew on shower curtain) but desk service is exemplary. We stayed here going north to see family and again coming back south home within 4 days. My main complaint-we went into the dining room both times & NO wait staff! We had to go to the lounge to find someone to wait on us-6:00 pm both times. Once we found someone they were GREAT for waiting on us even remembered we had been there a few days before. Food was good. Breakfast was ok last trip, haven't had it this trip. For free breakfast you do have choices of cereal, eggs, bacon, sausage, several bread products, fresh fruits, plus juices, coffee & tea. There was a nice looking outdoor pool, as well as a nice looking exercise room, but we did not use them.

Room Tip: Even # rooms are quieter, away from freeway traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel definitely shows its age but the quality of service is way above average. Everything is very clean and neat. Also the Soap and other items were really top notch.

My only complaint was the breakfast, it tasted a bit bland and the baby red potatoes were way under cooked and pretty much raw. The presentation and selection for breakfast was above average though,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
0.4 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Kelso/Longview
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Longview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Kelso Longview Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Kelso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
17.6 mi away
Best Western Woodland Inn
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Aladdin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview

Property: Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
Address: 510 Kelso Drive, Kelso, WA 98626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview in beautiful Kelso Washington is conveniently located off I-5 just 40 miles north of Portland, Oregon, 50 minutes from Portland International Airport and five minutes from Kelso Airport. Nearby you'll find shopping at Three Rivers Mall, Triangle Shopping Center, antique and outlet malls and casinos. You'll also find Mount St. Helens, Ape Caves and Lake Merwin a short drive away. For a nominal charge, we can arrange transportation to and from Portland International Airport.Our 161 spacious guest rooms and two suites feature all the modern amenities you'd expect including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and fitness facilities. Guests can also enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and children's pool and a year-round whirlpool. Fishing, golf, bowling, water-skiing and sailing are all nearby.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The Pacific Grill is open for lunch, and the Scoreboard Lounge features a dinner menu, food and drinks with live entertainment on occasion.With 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we can accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview is committed to care, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Kelso
Red Lion Kelso
Kelso Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing