We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe all the negative reviews” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Stayton, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't believe all the negative reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The motel is old, but very clean. Staff was amazing, had a group of 16 guys on a golf outing, we stayed for 3 nights. First night we didn't get checked in until late, they kept the bar and food service open for us. Our waitress was on only her second night, you can imagine how fun it was to wait on16 guys who have been drinking and on the golf course all day. She did a great job, our drinks were refilled, she did a double take when we left and said we needed separate tickets, but I believe our generous tipping eased her pain. The food was very good, I had a french dip that was one of the best I have had lately. Now the bad, ice machines! I have seen reviews from before my stay complaining that they were out of order, guess what, they still are. Fix the ice machines, they are expected in a motel, you have the machines, now get them fixed. The breakfast is ok if included in your room price, if not, go eat somewhere else, it is not worth $7. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side (away from freeway) your better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    76
    68
    38
    30
See reviews for
90
51
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here for one night on our fly drive holiday.
It is a motel type hotel and first impressions were rather disappointing. After checking in we went to our room which unfortunately had not been cleaned!
We returned to reception and were given another room which was clean but dated.
We enjoyed some time around the pool and decided to have our evening meal in the hotel bar/restaurant.
We thoroughly enjoyed our meal/drinks and the waitress service was very good.
As mentioned by other reviewers the exit/entrance door at the end of our corridor was not secure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_T2646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

In town for a wedding and this seemed to be the only option other than Motel 6 or some other low budget hotel/motel. Room was clean but overpriced. Front desk attendant was very friendly. Biggest complaint was noisy guests slamming doors and yelling in the hallway. If I absolutely had to return to the area for some reason, I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glide, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

So i need a place with a pool and quick ... and look what i found ! Not only does it have a pool but it has 2 one for the little people AKA the kids and a bigger one for the Big kids. It also has a nice size hot tub and was very clean . The price was nice to . The only thing we did not like was the breakfast that you had to pay for that was the same as you would get some hotels for free.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glidenewbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

During our recent two- night stay, we found the employees of the Red Lion to be friendly, efficient, and helpful. The rooms were large and clean. However, the hotel overall was lacking. Both of the guest ice machines were out of order- on a weekend- in July. We asked a house keeping employee about it, and she suggested going to the restaurant ( which was closed) or the bar. The bar tender was surprised and reluctant when we showed up with our empty bucket, but did supply us with ice. The coffee bar was closed the full 2 days, and had a sign saying they were out of espresso. The juke box in the bar didn't work, outlet covers hung loose from the wall, the pool was missing chunks of plaster everywhere, and the area surrounding the pool was filled with rocks, sand, and weeds. I expected to see broken glass or cigarette buts in it. Thankfully, there were none. Lastly, sometime that we were away from our room, the water backed up into the sinks and left brown sludge in the sinks. I called the front desk and told them that we were leaving again, but that we would like that problem fixed, or a different room when we returned from dinner. It was clean when we returned. I really wanted to have a great experience at this hotel, since it is the only one in the area that has an outdoor pool. Sadly, it felt like we were on a sinking ship.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Denice4756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary T, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate all feedback, good or bad.

We are working very hard to improve areas around the hotel. I am confident that next time you visit us, you will see the improvements. We have started installing new T.V.'s in the guestrooms, and will be working on landscaping and other areas soon.

We enjoyed having you, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,

Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kelso hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Red Lion in Kelso during the 2014 Seattle to Portland bike ride, during the first night. The hotel room was clean, and the beds were surprisingly comfortable. The hallway door that led out into the parking lot was held together with duct tape, and the restaurant didn't open for business until a half hour after my wife left the next morning to continue her ride. Additionally, they took advantage of the event to jack their rate up comparable to a big city downtown hotel. I'll find someplace less expensive next year.

Room Tip: A room facing away from I-5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stay at this Red Lion each year for the Seattle to Portland bike ride. For the last 2 years the staffing level in the restaurant has been horrible. There are not enough servers for the amount of customers who come in for food.

To me this is a problem of the management staff of either planning out the right staffing, or failing to retain and maintain their staff. In either case my problem is with the management of the hotel and not the staff or my interaction with the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary T, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review! We appreciate all feedback, good or bad.

You are absolutely correct in saying that we were understaffed! We are currently hiring and I am very confident we will get this fixed right away.

We appreciate your business, and look forward to the opportunity to "WOW" you in the future.

Regards,

Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
0.4 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Kelso/Longview
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Longview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Kelso Longview Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Kelso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
17.6 mi away
Best Western Woodland Inn
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Aladdin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview

Property: Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
Address: 510 Kelso Drive, Kelso, WA 98626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview in beautiful Kelso Washington is conveniently located off I-5 just 40 miles north of Portland, Oregon, 50 minutes from Portland International Airport and five minutes from Kelso Airport. Nearby you'll find shopping at Three Rivers Mall, Triangle Shopping Center, antique and outlet malls and casinos. You'll also find Mount St. Helens, Ape Caves and Lake Merwin a short drive away. For a nominal charge, we can arrange transportation to and from Portland International Airport.Our 161 spacious guest rooms and two suites feature all the modern amenities you'd expect including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and fitness facilities. Guests can also enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and children's pool and a year-round whirlpool. Fishing, golf, bowling, water-skiing and sailing are all nearby.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The Pacific Grill is open for lunch, and the Scoreboard Lounge features a dinner menu, food and drinks with live entertainment on occasion.With 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we can accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview is committed to care, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Kelso
Red Lion Kelso
Kelso Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing