We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Hotel in Longview, WA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Standard Hotel in Longview, WA”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I booked a room at this hotel for 4 days during the Longview/Kelso Babe Ruth World Series as it was the host hotel. People came from all over the country to stay here and it was as if the town and hotel didn't even know this event was happening. This hotel was probably the best hotel in the late 70's early 80's as the updates haven't happened since then.

It was clean in the rooms but the outside was just dingy and outdated. They only serve food during certain hours and the ice machines did not work during our stay as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    86
    73
    43
    34
See reviews for
101
61
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed one night, en route to Mt. St. Helens. Very convenient. We booked through the hotel's website and breakfast was included. The property is large and older, but fairly well-maintained. Our only complaint was a lack a outlets. We travel with many gadgets and could find only three outlets (including one in the bathroom and one under the A/C unit).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StPeteKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Clean, comfortable and very friendly helpful staff. Not modern or luxurious, but a good place to stay and a bonus - an inviting outdoor pool! Bed was comfortable and had a good sleep! Breakfast quite adequate. This was just an overnight on a road trip, but I'd certainly stay again, and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Roberta46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Room had been remodeled, however, it smelled musty and of mildew. The bathroom wallpaper had what I hoped was food spots and looked as if it could have used a good scrubbing. The bathroom fan did not have any sort of draw and the ceiling and corners had mold spots growing. There were no glasses in the room, only the coffee cups supplied for the coffee maker, and my daughter and I wanted ice water to drink. We went in search of the ice-maker, turns out ice was on the second floor, and glasses to drink from. We went to the employee at the front desk to ask where to drinking glasses, she said she didn't really know and suggested the bar area. My daughter said to me this Red Lion was not like the others we have stayed at - I agree, not what I am used to from this brand.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Nosnivlng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
I want to begin by apologizing for the issues you encountered during your stay. I am sorry that the facilities and amenities were not up to par with the expectations we have for our hotels. It is essential to Red Lion Hotels that we provide you with the best possible experience during your stay. Please be assured that the issued in your room will be addressed accordingly. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to improve your experiences with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kelso hotels

Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is your basic "travelers" motel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We found parking for our utility trailer, excellent accessibility features in our room, and super pet-friendly space. The pool area was clean and spacious and great for kids and families; " fitness equipment" was very limited. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. Room was clean, although our dog found a pair of socks under the bed, which belonged to a previous guest. Air conditioning was relatively quiet and worked well with consistent temperature control.

There were only a few accessible plugs for electronics, which is frustrating if you have cell phones, computers, etc. Tulley's Coffee is in the lobby but was never open during our stay. We only had hot water very briefly in the early morning, none the night we checked in, and none for the shower later in the morning.

There were no guests in the restaurant last night; although several seemed to be eating in the adjacent bar, which was definitely more intimate and inviting. However, we ordered food to bring back to the room and it was better than average: patty melt and fish and chips. There was both a coffee maker and a refrigerator in the room, but making coffee was very difficult due to lack of plugs.

Good value for a family "utility stop". If you have pets, the motel is adjacent to the high school and other playing fields and to a river walk making walking your pet easy and enjoyable, including space to give them to play and run a bit.

Room Tip: Take your shower early in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a trip between Seattle and Portland and found it to be a lot better than the reviews. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We pulled in late and their credit card machine was down so when I went to purchase a water and snack they just gave it to me. The hotel is older but we'll maintained. The breakfast was really good and free! There is a restaurant and bar onsite. The rooms are nice sized and we'll appointed with a fridge and microwave. The beds are very comfy. Would stay here again for sure.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wyomingdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

What an awful experience we had at this Red Lion! We had no hot water all weekend and no air conditioning as well. It was 90% plus so it made for a miserable stay!!! We had to go to the State park by Silver lake to go get ready for my Nephew's wedding! This hotel really needs some remodeling!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jonel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary T, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. We appreciate all feedback, good or bad.

We are working very hard to improve in the areas you mentioned. Please consider giving us another try, I promise you we will do better!

Regards,

Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Kelso Longview Area
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Longview
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Kelso/Longview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Kelso
115 reviews
1.4 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#4 of 8 in Longview
25 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Aladdin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview

Property: Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
Address: 510 Kelso Dr, Kelso, WA 98626-3109
Region: United States > Washington > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview in beautiful Kelso Washington is conveniently located off I-5 just 40 miles north of Portland, Oregon, 50 minutes from Portland International Airport and five minutes from Kelso Airport. Nearby you'll find shopping at Three Rivers Mall, Triangle Shopping Center, antique and outlet malls and casinos. You'll also find Mount St. Helens, Ape Caves and Lake Merwin a short drive away. For a nominal charge, we can arrange transportation to and from Portland International Airport.Our 161 spacious guest rooms and two suites feature all the modern amenities you'd expect including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and fitness facilities. Guests can also enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and children's pool and a year-round whirlpool. Fishing, golf, bowling, water-skiing and sailing are all nearby.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The Pacific Grill is open for lunch, and the Scoreboard Lounge features a dinner menu, food and drinks with live entertainment on occasion.With 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we can accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview is committed to care, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Kelso
Red Lion Kelso
Kelso Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing