We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience !”
Review of Cherry Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennewick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cherry Chalet
Ranked #1 of 2 Kennewick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We don’t get away often, so when we acquire lodging we are always hopeful we’ve done our homework. The Cherry Chalet exceeded our expectations!

The room was clean and well appointed. The grounds were well kempt and pleasing. The large outdoor patio was a paradise in itself with gas fire pit, comfortable seating and a waterfall all surrounded by mature cherry trees. The two dogs were a welcome surprise and great fun to have around.

Breakfast was served in the room and was incredible in presentation and quality. The hosts even accommodated our desire for a primarily plant based diet.

The hosts, Steve & Rainy, were very friendly and trusting. They pretty much give you the run of the property and do not babysit you. We enjoyed this freedom and independence. We rate our experience at Cherry Chalet a 10 based upon previous lodging adventures we’ve had.

We hope to encourage some of our family to join us next year at the Cherry Chalet.

Fly Like An Eagle,

Steve M

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FishyBendOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

We have stayed in many B and Bs and this one is one of the best. The hosts were gracious when we arrived late and rather than showing us our room and leaving, invited us out to the gorgeous patio to meet other guests and sit by the handmade flagstone firepit. It is not often that your hosts are hosts in the true sense of the word, it felt like we were visiting friends.

The room was very high quality with a slipper tub and open stone shower. No mini shampoos here, but real products including bath salts and big fluffy towels. Having breakfast served in your room is a feature we have always enjoyed, but we had the opportunity to eat outside in the morning sun was lovely. Breakfast was prepared with local produce and items from the garden, wish we were here during cherry season. A nice walk in orchard capped our morning.

There is a stunning coi pond and resident pooches providing that family touch. There is even a cat wondering around outside in case you are a cat person.

The bed and linens were go comfortable that we had to check the brand so we could buy one for ourselves. Rooms are constructed with high-end details including oil-rubbed bronze fixtures, granit counter tops, and thick carpeting. Our room had a balcony which overlooked the orchard with a rooster outside that had the sense to keep quiet until 9.

As a writer I often spend a week in B and B to write and this place will be next on my list.

Stunning. The comfort, luxury, and welcoming atmosphere will definitely bring us back.

Room Tip: Just make the reservation, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The room and the surrounding grounds made for a wonderful setting; in fact above average. If you are looking for isolation with little to no contact with the proprietors you will undoubtedly like it.

The inn keeper was out of town when we arrived and left the key for us to let ourselves in, so there was no initial greeting. It happens in the middle of the night a breaker in our room blew and when I called him on the phone, he was aware of the problem but had not yet taken care of it. He instructed me how to grope my way through the darkness to the garage to reset the breaker, after having done so only to find the garage door locked. So we spent the evening in darkness.

The breaker blew again the next evening and again he was gone so I had to take care of it myself. This time the garage was unlocked so I could do it myself. It seemed to be a general pattern that the inn keepers where not around to ask questions and there is no office or front desk to go to and often could not reach them by phone. If you like being left alone, this is great, if you like being waited on forget it.

They said we could use the gas grill which was nice but found there were no BBQ tools nor had it been cleaned. So I bought my own tools to clean it and cook. Breakfast was unpredictable; it could arrive anywhere from 8 to 9:30 so you just had to be ready. Unlike a traditional B&B where they serve in their dining room between certain hours and you come at your leisure.

With the trouble we had with the electricity, buying our own BBQ stuff, and not being able to get a hold of them, you might think they would offer some compensation; a partial discount, or a free night or something but nope, full price. Plus they just assumed that the BBQ tools we bought, we were going to leave for the next people. I was too embarrased to ask for them back.

It's not likely we are going to go back. To bad too, because if they would kind of dote on you a little like most B&Bs, it would have been a great stay.

Room Tip: Bring a flash light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherrychalet, Owner at Cherry Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Since Doug's review, we have had the building inspected, changed out the breakers and have experienced no more outages. We have since added a new outdoor barbeque that boasts a wood fired pizza oven. We apologize for having inconvenienced our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is a working farm in a beautiful setting. We stayed in the new Santina Chalet, which is very nicely finished with a balcony overlooking the orchard. We were there for the cherry harvest and got as many cherries as we could eat. Walking through the orchard with the resident Chesapeake Retrievers and throwing a stick for them along the irrigation channel was blissfully zen. We were extremely well taken care of, beyond the call of duty. After getting stuck in the sand for the third time in the Juniper Dunes Wilderness area, we called our host. Without blinking an eyelash, Steve drove 50 miles at his busiest time of year to dig us out. He's just that kind of guy. When we left, Steve's father loaded us up with cherries for the trip. You won't encounter greater or more genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan58349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This was the third year in a row we have traveled to the Tri-Cities and each time we have stayed at the Cherry Chalet. It gets better and better each year. We were there this year just as they started the cherry harvest. There is nothing better than cherries right off the tree! The grounds are beautiful with a spacious patio and grill area. There are two water features with fish and Steve (the owner) doesn't even mind if you feed the fish. We just love this place. Can't wait to go back next year. Steve is a very friendly and gracious host.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This is a a working cherry farm and during harvest it's a bit crazy, but the rooms are beautiful and the hosts are generous. Expect minor early morning noise if you're there during the 10 or so days of harvest. The noise is not excessive (I've had worse at Hilton properties near a major street).

The finish out in the rooms is VERY nice. The grounds are attractive. The patio especially is a pleasant place to kick back and relax.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank pvilleSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Cherry Chalet. The grounds were beautiful and the host and hostess were wonderful. We definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kennewick hotels
1.8 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Kennewick / Tri-Cities
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Kennewick
Quality Inn Kennewick
#10 of 17 in Kennewick
115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Kennewick
Super 8 Kennewick
#5 of 17 in Kennewick
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tri-Cities/Kennewick
5.9 mi away
Clover Island Inn Kennewick
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennewick at Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Chalet

Address: 8101 W 10th Ave, Kennewick, WA 99336-9567
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tri-Cities > Kennewick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kennewick
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing