We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good pizza and Okotberfest beer”
Review of Northern Ales

Northern Ales
Ranked #6 of 15 Restaurants in Kettle Falls
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: CAUTION! We have peanut shells all over the floor! We are a family friendly establishment. We serve Pizza and Pub food, but we do not deep fry or gill. At least 9 beers on tap all made here. We also have products for those that are Gluten Free (GF). Live entertainment every Thursday, Friday, and some Saturdays.
REPUBLIC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pretty good pizza and Okotberfest beer”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Visited this brewery after reading about the good beers and pizza; other reviews are right! Thin crust pizza and seasonal beers went great together at a reasonable price. Solid customer service in a cavernous, utilitarian space. Would return but suggest readers also check out the Republic Brewing Company for comparison's sake.

Helpful?
Thank J9Koffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
114 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Little Brewery”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

A nice stop for lunch or dinner on your way to somewhere. Kettle Falls is not most people's destination but Northern Ales is worth a stop. Great beer and a fun little menu that tops the local fare in Kettle Falls and Colville.

Helpful?
Thank IRTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
453 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Update on an earlier review”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We reviewed last year and just a little update.
Menu changes include pizza everyday. Good thin crust choices in several sizes. All good value, the locally made brats are still there and a tasty treat if your a fan.
Beers are pretty much the same, except we're getting lighter choices. I don't mean light like Coors light, but good ales with character and lower alcohol. My favourite brew is currently available, the Octoberfest Whippersnapper, please save some for me. But if you do want a lighter beer, the Grouch ( named after the annual local citizen voted as the towns Grouch) is a great choice, this is what all light beers should taste like, flavorful with a nice finish.
There's live music almost every night they are open, some of which is great.
This is a great friendly pub and you'll be welcomed local or not.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiguelitoyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good pizza, good music, some unusual beers (good, too)”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Imagine a green concrete-bloick building, no windows, the sort of bunker a bar looks like in Provo, Utah. That's Northern Ales from the outside, Step in and you'll hear bands or musicians playing most nights, free peanuts, the shells lining the floors, a pub menu long on pizza but with a few alternatives, and beers with the brewery in the back. Personal-size pizza with a salad came at a good price (pepperoni and black olive, around eleven bucks with the salad), crust thin and crispy which I like. Beers, I took the Black Canyon dark ale and later tried the Rice Pale Ale. Each well made with nice mouthfeel. Then my server brought me a style I had never heard of before, a Braggot., It dates back to the middle ages, Chaucer praised it, it's a sweet beer/mead combo. Steve, the brewer, said he makes a barleywine up to around 9% alcohol by volume, and then adds fermenting honey to take it to 13%. Potency aside, Northern's Braggot would be a dessert wine to match any port or sherry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Stevens, Washington
1 review
“A well hidden gem”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Almost missed this one but we were glad we searched it out. The beer was great (try the black grouch!) The staff was friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northern Ales also viewed

 
Kettle Falls, WA
 

Been to Northern Ales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing