We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misses the mark in too many small ways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kirkland
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Misses the mark in too many small ways”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Woodmark has an attractive lakeside location and turned out to be a convenient place to stay for attending a wedding (not at the hotel) and sightseeing and visiting relatives both in Seattle and on the east side of Lake Washington, where the hotel is located. We enjoyed our stay. Because it costs a lot and pretends to be a prestigious resort destination, however, it did not earn top marks. Here's why:

The resort fee is a joke. Why not just raise the room rates $12, since the fee is mandatory and covers standard things such as access to a very basic and unattractive fitness center (believe it or not, in this century, the hotel has no workout room or pool). and free wireless internet access? OK, the chance to use a kayak is not standard, but we did it once in 5 days. Is that worth the $105 we paid in "resort fees"?

The "valet parking" is also a rip off. The hotel would not be a good choice for visitors to Seattle or anywhere else beyond a 5-mile radius of the remote location -- without a car. About 50% of the times we needed our car, or arrived at the hotel entrance, there was no "valet." We had to leave the keys at the front desk and hope that no one took or hit the car waiting in the entryway. When requesting the car, the single individual at the front desk left her station to go fetch the car. "Self-park" at a discount of only 15% from the valet rate was an insult. Either provide the alleged valet service or let people park for free or some reasonable amount.

Service and management in general, restaurant in particular: The valet/front-desk ballet was just one sign of a system that malfunctioned repeatedly. All of the employees were friendly and polite. But they did not know their job (e.g. told us we had not paid for one of the rooms when we had) and seemed not to be at post when needed. The restaurant was worse. There are NO alternatives other than Starbucks nearby for breakfast, and the hotel restaurant's breakfast was of low quality - plus the service was horrible. No one seemed to be assigned to any table. It was hard to get the wait staff's attention. We had to ask for silverware every time we were served. None was on the table and no one was responsible for bringing it.

Finally, the closet in the bedroom was TINY. Do people in Washington wear only shorts and t-shirts and therefore don't need to hang up any clothes? Well, we had clothes for the wedding and other things that needed to be hung, but, even though we brought our own hangers to supplement the 6 or so provided by the hotel, there was literally not enough space in the closet for normal clothes for two people for 5 days.

None of these deficiencies made the Woodmark a poor choice, but it is not a "resort;" it is not a full-service hotel and it did not live up to the high expectations it set for itself.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howard j, General Manager at Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Howard from the Woodmark Hotel reaching out to Xamb to express our thanks for your time in providing input via Trip Advisor on your recent visit to our property.

I understand you have many choices among East Seattle Hotel's for your traveling needs and we want to remain your property of preference going forward.

I was however concerned that your overall experience primarily with our Reception and Guest Services team was less than stellar and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further in this regard.

Specific to the Hotel's amenity fee, I was pleased to see you were able to take advantage of our Kayaks on Lake Washington and wanted to insure you were provided with an array of additional options at your disposal as an overnight guest for your present / future use.

This would include complimentary access to unlimited sandwiches, snacks and beverages each night at 11PM via our Raid the Pantry offering in the lobby, unlimited use of the Hotel's SUV chaffeured transportation up to 5 miles point to point, Beach cruisers to explore by bike all that Kirkland has to offer and an array of discounts for Still Spa, Gem Hair Salon, Fly Fitness group and personal fitness classes, etc all packaged under 1 low nightly amenity fee.

I want to personally apologize if this was not further outlined during your visit to our Hotel.

I look forward to seeing you on a future visit and in the interim can be reached at the Woodmark Hotel's main #.

Best regards,

Howard Jacobs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    168
    44
    19
    12
See reviews for
181
403
27
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Woodmark as a family.

We were visiting people in the Ballard area, and so had looked at the Hotel Ballard and the Fairmont downtown. Neither really worked. And trying to use AirBNB was a joke...all of the listings said they weren't available, which begged the question as to why they were showing up on my search.

So...we decided to stay across the lake in Kirkland. And I'm really glad that we did.

First off, it's so much prettier at the Woodmark than at a downtown hotel. And it's not too far away, either; driving from downtown took about 15 minutes. We also were able to rent a boat to look around the lake one day, which was special.

The hotel itself is quite nice, too. Clean and clean looking, nice staff, comfortable rooms. We put two rooms together, which worked nicely. It was probably a bit expensive for what it was, but very reasonable compared to what else I saw while searching.

I'd definitely return here on a future visit.

Room Tip: I would think overlooking the lake is a very nice feature, it was for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice & immaculate, BUT is mainly meant for either business people, or people who are docking their yacht at their marina. It's quite snooty, which makes it much less family friendly, as far as I'm concerned. Of course, it's located in a business park, so all the business people make sense, but really doesn't do much to make me feel comfortable on vacation. Also, despite our room sleeping 4 people, only got towels for 2 a good share of our trip, & there were absolutely NO blankets in the room ANYWHERE! It's a very nice hotel---just not for families with children. However, if you want to book your next business meeting there, I HIGHLY recommend it!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howard j, General Manager at Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hello Suzanne H - Howard Jacobs from the Woodmark reaching out to say thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor.

We so appreciate your patronage and time you have taken to provide us with your input.

I was however concerned to read that your overall experience was less than stellar from a family experience stand point and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further.

I can be reached directly at the Woodmark Hotel's main #.

My apologies for reaching out to you on a Saturday evening but felt it imperative to connect promptly as soon as I read your post.

Thank you in advance and hope you have an excellent weekend.

Best regards,

Howard Jacobs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was the only hotel we could find that would take a family of 4-1/2 without asking to get a second room. We had a lake view room and it was a great view. We didn't take advantage but we finally got to raid the pantry on the last evening. The staff was super friendly and there are activities to enjoy right on the property. It was close the Seattle and a reasonable drive from all the sights we wanted to visit. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howard j, General Manager at Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Howard Jacobs, General Manager at the Kirkland Washington based Woodmark Hotel reaching out to Brian954 to express our thanks for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased to hear of your families' experience at our Lake Washington Hotel and took the opportunity to share your input with our entire leadership team at our morning manager huddle.

Your comments made our day and a terrific start to our week on property and wanted to be sure we conveyed our appreciation for your patronage.

I hope to see you on a future visit and in the interim wish you an excellent Monday.

Best regards,

Howard Jacobs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
191 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have stayed here before so this was a return visit and I was very impressed. the front desk very friendly and accommodating. I really want to acknowledge the bellman " Mathew" he was great. took a group of us out and dropped us off for dinner and then when we finished he was waiting for us with a smile. outstanding young man. room was very clean. my only complaint would be I'm not a fan of the pump bottles of soap and shampoo. they don't work all that well and once in the public restroom I was splashed with soap. but that aside this is a great place to stay. looking forward to my next trip there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howard j, General Manager at Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hello Bill P and what a pleasure to read your post on Trip Advisor today about your Woodmark Hotel experience in Kirkland, WA.

I want to apologize in advance for reaching out on a Sunday evening but felt it imperative to express our appreciation about your feedback in real time.

I look forward to sharing your input with our team of dedicated individuals tomorrow and have already begun a review with our Housekeeping leadership to insure all of our pump systems on our guest amenities are in excellent working order.

Thank you again and have an excellent evening.

Best regards,

Howard Jacobs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

One of the most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed at!! The staff was outstanding!
Loved that they had bikes/kayaks to use.....parked the car and never needed it again until we left!
The coffee /waters in the lobby was such a nice welcome!!
The town had so much to see and do........we will be back for sure!!

Room Tip: Ask for water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Woodmark was one of the most pleasurable hotel stays we have experienced in a long time. The property is located on the edge of Lake Washington and the views are spectacular. Sunset on the water was beautiful.
The room we had overlooked the courtyard and lake and we were treated to the beauty and love of a wonderful wedding reception. The laughter and animated conversations were fun and though not invited, we felt like we shared in the joyous occasion.
The room and facility are excellent, well maintained with a staff that is top notch. You are immediately made to feel welcome and every question or need you have is handled quickly and courteously. The staff makes you feel that they really are glad to see you and that you choose to let them serve you.
This is an excellent facility and you will enjoy your stay. Don't forget to take time for coffee on the Beach Café deck. It will recharge your batteries!!!!!

Room Tip: A room facing the water is a must. The view is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howard j, General Manager at Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Howard from the Woodmark Hotel in Kirkland WA reaching out to Richard C to express our appreciation for your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

We are so thankful for your patronage and didn't want this week to conclude without touching base on your kind input about our Lake Washington Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you on a future visit to the Seattle area and in the interim wish you an excellent weekend.

Best regards,

Howard Jacobs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkland
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Hyatt Regency Bellevue
#1 of 29 in Bellevue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Salish Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Snoqualmie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa

Property: Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa
Address: 1200 Carillon Pt, Kirkland, WA 98033-7322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Kirkland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kirkland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is found in Kirkland, a little suburb of Lake Washington. It is near a marina, which has restaurants, shops, and a spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodmark Hotel Kirkland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing