We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly mediocre food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive You - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Olive You
Price range: US$21 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 98033
K
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Surprisingly mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

And overpriced also. The atmosphere is nice though, with nice view over the washington lake. Blue moon beer is good

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    10
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pleasant Lunch in Kirkland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent a pleasant Saturday walking through the many shops and sites in Kirkland, Washington and had an al fresco lunch at Olive You, a Mediterranean style restaurant in a locale with mostly cheap Asian and Mexican restaurants that cater to the young, hip crowd. My wife had the broiled lamb special and I had the Sardinian lamb, both of which were well prepared and well presented. The Sardinian lamb is really osso bucco and cooked to perfection, falling from the bone, and still moist. It was well accompanied by jasmine rice and vegetables at a reasonable price. My one disappointment was that they could have given more attention to herbs and spices. Understandably, this is a personal preference that I have with lamb; I like it with Greek oregano, rosemary, thyme, marjoram, etc..
The restaurant is located adjacent to one of the major parking areas and so there is a lot of vehicle traffic near the outdoor eating area, but it does have a pretty good view of the lake, which is close by. Also the restaurant has a large rotisserie unit on which they had a whole lamb rotating and sending forth tempting aromas to passersby.
Service was average; not their strong suit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SenorGregorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Last time I was there the service was so bad...and food was average. Just not consistant.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank lsanborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
283 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“No breakfast; smaller menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I'm a big fan of Olive You. The last time my wife and I went there, the menu was much smaller than in the past. Originally the menu was so extensive it was hard to choose. And we also found out they are no longer open for breakfast, one of their great meals. Too bad, but it's a sign of the times. Plus this area of Kirkland has always been a challenge for restauranteurs, a challenge exacerbated by the limited amount of parking.

We went to Olive You this time because we had a Groupon for a 4-course meal. It was terrific! I still recommend Olive You!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RAMWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty good setting that deserves more traffic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Went with the wife to use a long ago purchased Groupon dinner "deal".

Place was almost empty a late Saturday evening, but we were nicely greeted by Michael (?) and truly felt welcome. Had a few glasses of wine, salad, cheese plate, lamb shank, and dessert.. Nothing to brag about, but no major complaints either. Service was excellent. Personable but not pushy. Just the right blanance between interest and intrusion.

So this IS a nice place, but I think it might be better as a cocktail bar/lounge than a restaurant when only the section towards Lake Street is open. I could see myself spending an evening "hanging" with friends and having a good time.

I just hope they see enough traffic to "hang in there" and survive the dark days of late winter and early spring. Would be sad to see these (really nice guys) disappear.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellcraft19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing