We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel and Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Planter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Planter
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in La Conner
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming hotel and Great location”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed two nights here recently. La Conner is a picturesque small town and the Hotel Planter is right on the main street, The rooms are small but comfortable. My only complaint would be noise, both from the street and from the opening and closing of doors in the hotel itself. Try to get a room facing the courtyard if you can. The interior doors are all old and tend to bang and slam rather than close quietly! Other than that we enjoyed our stay here. The staff was pleasant and there is a great restaurant across the street for breakfast and other good restaurants within walking distance for dinner.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treylya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    59
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
84
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed one night in early August and were pleasantly surprised by this little gem. Yes - you do have to take your luggage up the stairs, but once there, the staff are very helpful, friendly, and very accommodating - at least Denise is! The rooms are decorated in the style of the hotel, and are not large, but nicely turned out and very clean. The bathroom was spacious, and the shower was great! I was worried about 'historical plumbing' - but I was happy to see that was not the case.... You really couldn't get a better location in La Conner. Right on 1st street, on the very street that you come to stroll. All in all, a great stay and we'll be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HIMetrotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night at the Hotel Planter, but it was so pleasant! The staff were so friendly. The location of this hotel is awesome!
The high ceilings and long windows were all part of the character of the place and I was happy to find out that they reused a lot of the original things in the hotel from 1907 when it was refurbished in the 80's.
We only wished that we had a room that overlooked First Street. I will definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lori V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This old hotel has been entirely up graded without spoiling any of its charm. Rooms are fairly small but very comfortable. The main draw-back is that everything is up a fairly steep stairway including check-in and no elevator. Parking is on the street wherever you can find it. On a busy summer weekend this could be a problem. There is a wonderful bakery across the street for breakfast. It did get a bit noisy from the street below on Saturday night. However, I would not hesitate to stay here on another visit to LaConner.

Room Tip: It appears that all the rooms are the same, except some do not face onto the street and would probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed two nights at the hotel and found it to be very pleasant; clean, quiet (for the most part), and the thing we liked best is that it's central to everything in La Conner. The staff was friendly and helpful, it's the kind of place that GIVES you cold bottled water instead of leaving bottles in your room and charging you $5 if you use them (you know what I mean).

There's a great breakfast to be had right across the street, literally 60 feet from the front door, and a nice bar/lounge on the same block.There are at least four or five very good restaurants within three or four tenths of a mile, making it a great place to walk to dinner and back to the hotel.

Many interesting shops to browse through, a well stocked grocery store within range, and that doesn't even mention the scene, which is right on the channel with great waterfront views and several nice places to get down to the water's edge and see some boats, birds and people.

There's a good selection of restaurants too, Thai to "American" and lots of fresh seafood at several.

The hotel doesn't have off-street parking, but we were able to park right in front of the hotel most of the time, or at the worst on the other side of the street. It can be noisy in the morning; deliveries, garbage/recycling collection, and even roosters crowing early.

If you're looking for a nice "getaway" destination for a few days of getting away from it all, The Hotel Planter and La Conner is a nice choice. If you go don't miss a drive to Deception Pass Bridge, only about 15 miles away between Fidalgo and Whidbey Islands.

Room Tip: All of the rooms, or at least the several we looked into were very similar, the front rooms face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed at Hotel Planter for 2 nights. Loved the location but the walls were so thin I could hear the man snoring in the room next to me. I also recommend that you get a room at the back of the building. The main street is very noisy from 5 am on with deliveries to the restaurant across the street, street cleaners etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fyzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

From the moment I stepped in the front door, I knew I did well. Oh about 23 carpeted steps up to the front desk. 12 rooms on the same floor. I was in a queen with courtyard view. I love the high ceilings in the room/bathroom. Also, at night the halls were lite with nightlights. Very romantic. My view of the center courtyard was relaxing in itself. Very calm/peaceful. The bath towels looked brand new. The pillows were premium quality. Friendly staff and perfect location made for a nice overnight getaway. All just 70 miles from Seattle, yet a world away.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms will be quieter, though even the view of town/water can't be very noisy as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Conner
0.3 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#2 of 3 in La Conner
226 reviews
11.2 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
455 reviews
10.4 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
370 reviews
4.9 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Conner Country Inn
La Conner Country Inn
#3 of 3 in La Conner
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Planter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Planter

Property: Hotel Planter
Address: 715 First St, La Conner, WA 98257
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > La Conner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in La Conner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Planter 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the twelve guest rooms is unique. From the custom handmade furnishings to the ceiling fans, each room is carefully orchestrated down to the last detail.But the charm of Hotel Planter doesn't end there. After strolling the waterfront streets of old LaConner, guests unwind in the hotel's beautiful private courtyard. Once relaxed and refreshed, guests can be found dining in any one of LaConner's fine restaurants, all within walking distance.Visit LaConner's finest Historic Inn, Hotel Planter...you'll be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Planter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planter Hotel La Conner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing