We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Planter
Nearby Hotels
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Mount Vernon)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon(Mount Vernon)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auld Holland Inn(Oak Harbor)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
60
65
14
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
65
14
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelthe main streetsecond floorrooms are smallceiling fanolder hotelhigh ceilingscharming towncoffee and tearoom was cleanroom overlooking the courtyardmemory foamfree bottled watera stones throwsouth endinteresting historyon the small side
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wanting a nice retreat for my husband's 60th birthday, we chose Hotel Planter in La Conner. What a lovely weekend!!! The hotel is a beautifully renovated old hotel, centrally located in the middle of town, with lovely rooms and a huge bathroom. The rooms are on the second floor, with a wide staircase and no elevator, which could be a challenge for those who are unable to pack lightly! We had a room overlooking the main street which was perfect for the firework display on July 4. Everything is within walking distance; great little shops and some great restaurants. The staff on the reception desk were very friendly and we loved the complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby. We'll definately be back!

Room Tip: Loved being able to look over the main street from our bedroom windows. Even though is was July 4, apart from the sounds of the fireworks, the street itself was not too noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJC838890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Visited La Conner this weekend, and spent a nice night at the Planter Hotel. We love eclectic, historic accomodations, and the Planter was lovely. Hotel is on the second floor, up the wide staircase above other businesses. Very clean, nicely decorated. Our room was over the garden, which is a really nice place to sip wine. Bed was comfortable, even though it was a "full" bed, not a queen, as we requested. A little short for my 6'3" DH. Nice big bathroom. The hotel is in a great location, easy walking to all the sights, shops, wineries, restaurants. We felt very safe letting ourselves in late at night. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank darlenew1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We called to book a room, and they said they had availability. We told them we had a baby, but we didn't need anything extra for him. They told us we could not stay at their hotel and to try another hotel in town. The said the reason was that their hotel is on the second floor. We told them it was OK, the baby had been in a multi-story building before, but the answer was still no. Seriously? I think at least 99% of hotels have more than one floor.

Extremely FAMILY UNFRIENDLY.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank kmact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C.Hoskins, Owner at Hotel Planter, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Your baby is beautiful! If you had been a guest in our Hotel you may be better able to understand why we do not accomodate children. The hotel is only 12 rooms and our culture is to provide a small intimate hotel for adults. It is natural for babies to cry. For guests looking for a get a way, it may become a problem. Due to the nature of being a historic hotel on the second floor we have many spaces that could be very dangerous for a child. We have established this restriction for the safety and comfort for all guests. Thanks for posting the beautiful photograph of your baby. Should you and your hubby ever need a get a way call me and I will personally comp a room for you. Perhaps, then you will understand and consider writing a review based on your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Comfortable beds, quaint rooms, tea and coffee, in the heart of La Conner, right across the street from one of the best bakery- breakfasts in town, what more would you want. We like Room 6, corner room, so we can look onto the main street and can see the Rainbow Bridge and main street. Parking can be a bit tricky because it is always busy but when all the tourists leave we get a spot right in front. We can walk most places and enjoy this charming town. Enjoy the many shops, restaurants and art along the Channel. Have a meal by the Channel as you watch the boats float by. I have been visiting The Planter for many years and more to come.

Room Tip: Not many rooms so book early not to be disappointed. Not noisy ever even on the front of the hotel. We like room 6 on the corner a bit bigger with a view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy11653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C.Hoskins, Owner at Hotel Planter, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Your baby is beautiful! If you had been a guest in our Hotel you may be better able to understand why we do not accomodate children. The hotel is only 12 rooms and our culture is to provide a small intimate hotel for adults. It is natural for babies to cry. For guests looking for a get a way, it may become a problem. Due to the nature of being a historic hotel on the second floor we have many spaces that could be very dangerous for a child. We have established this restriction for the safety and comfort for all guests. Thanks for posting the beautiful photograph of your baby. Should you and your hubby ever need a get a way call me and I will personally comp a room for you. Perhaps, then you will understand and consider writing a review based on your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Coming from Vancouver, BC, we are frequent visitors to the charming town of La Conner in Washington State. After multiple pleasant experiences in various hotels and Bed and Breakfast we decided to try the Hotel Planter situated in the main street of La Conner, by the waterfront as we were always curious to see what is hiding behind its historical façade.
Built at the turn of last century this hotel has been totally remodelled.
We had to reserve early: this 12 room hotel only has one twin bedroom, according to the guest preference the accommodation goes from a suite with Jacuzzi to a number of queen bed rooms (do check when reserving). This room was very comfortable and sizeable for 2 adults, a simple bathroom (shower) well appointed. The price fully reflects this simplicity.
We met 2 of the staff persons who were charming and very helpful. The lobby has round the clock coffee.
No breakfast offered but there is an excellent bakery across the street. Also a number of restaurants and pubs are all at a short walking distance.
We will definitely come again to the hotel Planter.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews