We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, but the Inn not as special as the reviews.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wild Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wild Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 La Conner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice staff, but the Inn not as special as the reviews.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We won't stay again. The staff was very nice. The breakfast was pleasant. the place is clean and cute...that's the best part.

The place isn't as luxurious as described. Nothing special in the location and inconvenient. The view was of a of a trailer. The bathroom was small and awkward, no counter space. All laminate material. The tub was a pre-fab enclosure.

We stayed in one of the smaller rooms and it was small. The bed was packed with cute pillows, but we spent our time stacking restacking them in the morning....crowded and awkward. The room was stuffy and hot. The hangers were those annoying clamped in anti-theft type, strange for that sort of place. The price for the room was too high for what it was. We were disappointed, it just didn't match the reviews for us.

We also didn't like staying in LaConner, boring after a few hours and only one restaurant was open.. The town is better for an afternoon stop off.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank getreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farrny, Owner at The Wild Iris Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
As the owners of the Wild Iris Inn, we live here at the Inn and take enormous pride in both the quality of our Inn and the town of La Conner. We’re sorry that this guest found both to be lacking. This guest apparently stayed in one of our Casual Guest rooms. The Casual Guest rooms are the smallest of our three room types. They overlook the residential area surrounding the Inn and do not have decks or balconies that take in the pastoral and mountain views behind the Inn as do our King Suites and Deluxe King Suites. Our Casual Guest rooms are well represented on our website and we never represent the view to be other than what it is.

Our Casual Guest rooms were purposefully designed to offer true value to those guests who are looking for a simpler or more economical traveling experience. In spite of our economical rates, the rooms are appointed with many of the same amenities as our larger King Suites and Deluxe King Suites. Although there is no jetted spa tub or fireplace, each room has a private en suite bath, luxurious linens and bath products, flat screen television, DVD player and CD player, our signature Wild Iris Cookies and the same attention to detail found in our larger rooms. Each Casual Guest room has at least one screened window and a fan, and when the warmer weather arrives, a window air conditioner. Guests who stay in our Casual Guest rooms also find it relaxing to sit on the Inn’s wraparound porch in nice weather or in our cozy lobby area by the fire when the cooler weather sets in.

Regardless of the room type that a guest selects, we strive to provide every guest with a friendly and welcoming environment, a delicious two-course breakfast and attentive service that exceeds their expectations. If for any reason a guest feels that our hospitality has in any way failed to meet their expectations, we very much appreciate hearing from them while they are still here at the Inn so that we can make their stay the most enjoyable and memorable experience possible. We do hope that you will consider all of our reviews and give us the opportunity to share our hospitality and the charming little town of La Conner with you. Thank you. Lori and Steve Farnell, Owners and Innkeepers, The Wild Iris Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    50
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
370
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We found the welcome very helpful and friendly, we also enjoyed the sweet treats in our room when we arrived and the magazines and bath robes. Tea was available in a sitting area near reception and coffee was there before breakfast, I would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in our room. Breakfast was delicious - too much for me to eat but they wrapped my cake to eat later.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane47uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, FL
Level Contributor
267 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We enjoyed everything about this inn including the (large) delicious cookies waiting in our room when we checked in, and the next afternoon. The owners are attentive, and very helpful with their knowledge of the area - they are good folke to deal with. This is not your typical B & B in that is not some large home that has been retrofitted into an inn, it was designed and built this way. It is very quiet - we did not hear any neighbors during our 2 night stay. I was taken by surprise by the lack of a closet in our room (we did have one of the smaller rooms) it seems to be the only thing they overlooked. The breakfast is as good as you will find anywhere, and plenty of it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VillagerRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here last weekend for a single night. We were looking for a romantic, relaxing getaway night near home but away from the big city. After much research, I made a reservation at the Wild Iris. We arrived early (around noon) and checked in to see if perhaps a room was ready. We were met by Lori, the owner, who was most pleasant but not surprisingly, said the room wasn't quite ready. She provided a great recommendation for lunch (Seeds, just down the street) and we were off. Upon returning, Lori had most graciously upgraded our room (perhaps the kissing in the lobby had something to do with that)! Rosie led us to a gorgeous deluxe King room with a view of the farming fields, balcony, fireplace, sitting area and whirlpool tub. Everything about this B&B and the room spelled ROMANCE! Lori's attention to detail was perfect and each room has the BEST cookies ever upon arrival! We ordered a bottle of wine and a cheese platter before settling in for a RELAXING evening. Breakfast was amazing to say the least and the facilities all around were perfect. Needless to say, we'll be back! Thanks Lori -

Room Tip: Back side rooms have balconies and view of the farm/fields rather then the front, which look to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattle5789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Fantastic right check the get go! A quaint, attractively-decorated property. Really feels like you are staying with friends.

What we really loved about our stay here:

Fresh (most amazingly addictive ridiculously tasty) cookies in your room each day

Big 2.5 person jetted tub in your room

Nice quality Aveda products in the shower / tub

Magazines in the room

Beautiful private balcony with rural views

Gas fireplace which would be great in the winter

Great bed

Flat screen TV and free DVDs to borrow in the lobby

Friendly / helpful staff and customer service that would put the four seasons to shame

Fantastic breakfast with fresh local ingredients served to your room if desired

We asked for ice and a toothbrush (as my wife forgot hers). They had one there for her which was impressive.

Only suggestion would be another wi-fi hotspot as internet connection was a bit patchy in our room. Overall a relaxing and fantastic experience. Highly recommend wild iris and La Conner.

The Nell Thorn pub is awesome and very close.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenderedundat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

The lovely couple that runs the inn will go out of their way so that you have an incredible stay in La Connor. Everything from the delicious breakfast, bedrooms, shared living spaces, and the porches are spectacular. They even set me up with a mini-snack for my sight-seeing drive. I have stayed here on 4 different occasions and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Enjoy every moment here

Room Tip: Ask for a fan on hot days
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlympicPeninsula2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

I recently stayed 2 days and nights in the Wild Iris Inn with my wife. It was the first time we'd stayed in a bed and breakfast, and we both loved it.

Making the reservation on the website was easy. When we had a few questions about the inn, we emailed the owners. Both times, our email was returned within the hour. Arrival and checkin was easy, and the front desk staff was very friendly and nice to deal with. Our room was small, but nicely appointed. The TV was smaller than the typical huge flatscreen you see in almost all hotels these days, but it was close enough to the bed that it was fine. We especially liked how they had some DVDs available for borrowing - no rental, just the honor system.

The girl working the front desk gave us two recommendations for dinner, both within walking distance in the very picturesque town of La Conner. Both of them were excellent.

The bed was extremely comfortable and we both slept very well. No complaints on that point.

Breakfast was incredible. Coffee and orange juice were served first, followed by 2 courses. The first course each day was a small fruit, yogurt and granola parfait accompanied by the best coffee cake I've ever had. The second course was a very, very good quiche. The food was actually a bit different the second day. I believe they rotate menus, although the items were similar. I guess if you stayed for a week or so you might get bored and want for something different, but everything was so good, I could easily eat it for four days straight without a problem.

Everyone who worked at the inn was very warm and friendly. The owner asked about all of the activities we did while in La Conner and actually seemed interested in the answers. It was a refreshing reminder of what good customer service feels like.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Conner
0.4 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#1 of 3 in La Conner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Planter
Hotel Planter
#2 of 3 in La Conner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#15 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
10.5 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Iris Inn

Property: The Wild Iris Inn
Address: 121 Maple Ave, La Conner, WA 98257-9461
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > La Conner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in La Conner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Iris Inn is a short drive from Seattle and Vancouver, but "miles away!" Our 18-room inn is designed with your comfort in mind. 12 of our rooms are suites with jetted spa tubs, king beds, fireplaces, and outdoor decks/patios with fabulous views of the Cascade Mountains. Our 6 casual guestrooms feature king bedding & private baths. Regardless of the room you choose, you will love the Wild Iris Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Wild Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wild Iris Hotel La Conner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing