We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to the recomendations”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wild Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wild Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 La Conner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
249 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Lived up to the recomendations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

This is a very pretty little bed and breakfast inn surrounded by flower beds and hanging pots. The country style rooms are small but very comfortable with gas fired fireplaces it was too warm to use, alas. There were two enormous cookies waiting for us chock full of dried fruit and nuts. We later used these as a "trail lunch" in Mt. Rainier. The morning breakfast is served in a charming, country style breakfast room by a sunny and cheerful server. We, being early risers, were the first ones down when they opened up at 8 am. We had yogurt with granola, topped with berries. There was a good sized slice of cinnamon strussel bread on the side. We also had an egg stratta with spinach and potatoes topped with a creamy sauce and tomato and zucchini. My husband said there was also ham in it but he must have gotten all of it because I didn't taste it in my portion. No matter, it was ample, tasty and filling. Neither one of us could quite finish it all but we sure tried.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    49
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
367
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed overnight in September. Had a very nice King room with whirlpool tub. Room was spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, tasty cookies provided, and a great porch opening onto small back yard and local farm fields in the distance. Breakfast was very good and staff accommodated a special meal need. Though not on the waterway in town, it is a very short pleasant walk to the main street. Will definitely return here.

Room Tip: Thought we had a deluxe King room, all the rooms we observed looked comfortable with many amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boscorelli53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

My husband & I were only in La Conner for 1 night & stayed at the Wild Iris. The entire experience was amazing! It started off great with our phone call to the Wild Iris to book a room. Rosie answered the phone and was so helpful & was such a pleasure to talk to, and was also so nice when she greeted us when we checked in. We were so pleased with our beautiful room, and LOVED the homemade cookies in our room. Just when we thought it couldn't possibly get any better, we went to breakfast the next morning. The food was amazing-but the friendly service was even better. Lori (the owner) & Cathy made us feel like they were so happy that we were there. Lori was also glad to share her breakfast recipes with me when I told her how delicious it all was (Lori cooks the breakfast herself!). Our only regret was that we could only stay 1 night!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

The Wild Iris Inn is a delightful place to stay while you enjoy the Skagit Valley and the small town of La Conner which is near Anacortes and Mount Vernon, WA. The Inn has very comfortable rooms complete with fireplace and a large jacuzzi tub. Delicious cookies await you when you arrive at your room (and Lori shares the recipe)! The breakfast was special and very filling with homemade granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, pumpkin spice bread, a large piece of freshly baked ham/cheese fritatta, juice and coffee. There is lots of attention to detail. Very nice!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haptravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuxtla Gutiérrez, Chiapas, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

On short notice and after a long day's driving, we were able to book a Casual King room. It exceeded our expectations for the price. The young woman on duty was ideal! She provided a quick but perfectly executed orientation and went beyond the call with a small space in the refrigerator until she went off-shift, and then an ice-bucket, for a dairy product we had brought -- which happened to go great with the in-room cookies! We were especially happy with our room's two comfortable wing chairs, comfortable bed, robes, the aforementioned cookies, and Avena toiletries. There's not much walking around space in the room, but they've fit the chairs alongside the sleeping and entertainment area in an attractive way, and in-room spaciousness wasn't important to us. The downstairs sitting area is comfortably furnished and stocked with magazines and hot beverages. It's an easy 10-15 minute walk downtown. The breakfast food was excellent -- berries first, then a hot egg dish. (Note that the volunteer fire department siren may be heard from there, but we only heard it once and that was while at breakfast.) We think this is a great "escape."

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetCeleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Steve and Lori, owners, make significant effort to maximize the joy of the stay.

My partner and I visited La Conner for three different nights. As a former member of a distinguished B & B group, I was aware of them apart from trip advisor site.

We had no difficulty in setting up the reservations by telephone after reviewing the room offerings on their website. I spoke to Steve or an employee for the different nights for the separate visits in late August 2012.

My partner and I shared three different rooms due to changing our plans and adding another night, plus Steve and Lori, owners, upgraded us one night. The in-room spa tub was very nice and the porch spa off another room was even nicer.

With each move for the three separate nights we found the most delicious cookies (2) waiting! What a treat.

The three respective beds were very firm which my partner and I really appreciate. One room on the second floor had a small AC unit in the window as it faced mostly west for the very warm afternoon sun. This was appreciated.

The breakfasts were very filling. The first course was house-made granola and yogurt with fresh fruit riding atop, along with some bread or muffin. The second course was an egg concoction on the order of quiche/frittata. More than enough. We learned to take the bread/muffin “to go”!

Coffee and hot water was available in the shared living room from about 8 a.m. Orange juice and coffee were served with breakfast.

Steve offered to set up seat upgrades on air tickets and ferry reservations on his own computer in his office off the front-desk area. While some may desire a free-standing biz center or computer station in the “lobby”/shared living room, we had no difficulty “going through Steve”. Some might, and if Steve or Lori were unavailable, there might be an issue.

The inn offers multiple DVD titles for use in the room. Each room also offers a CD player. Knowing this, we took along a couple of CDs that we play to lull us to sweet slumber.

Desire for ice is met with help from owner or employee. We got a bucket or so on each night. It might be problematic that a self-service ice machine was not available, but we had no issues.

We stayed two consecutive nights and returned after another consecutive two night stay elsewhere up the coastline. On the third morning, the breakfast egg item was a repeat. While it would definitely been nice to not repeat the dish, I suppose it is luck of the draw, so I cannot lodge this as a valid or legitimate complain. However, I wonder if the menu is ever shaken up. For example, on the first course, lose the bread and add pancakes or French toast as the second course with maybe a scrambled egg. One couple stayed five or six days in a row while we were there, and I wonder how many repeat breakfasts were offered them. It is probably not much of an issue as the vast majority of persons probably do not stay more than two nights.

The inn is within walking distance to Seeds and Nell Thorn, both very good restaurants, and to the waterfront. If you do decide to walk, do not take Washington Street, but use the main drag that is very flat compared with the hill encountered on the former path.

Back in La Conner again, my partner and I would stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idemandthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm
Level Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

During our 3 weeks trip along the westcoast we stayed here one night and were very satisfied! Our room was decorated lovely and there were delicious homemade cookies. The breakfast was a homemade menu consisting of yoghourt with fresh berries and granola and a delicious homemade gratin with eggs, potatoes and vegetables. We had some questions about our trip and the owners were very helpful. We will stay there again on our next trip to that region.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paso.Doble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Conner
0.4 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#2 of 3 in La Conner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Planter
Hotel Planter
#1 of 3 in La Conner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#15 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
10.5 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Iris Inn

Property: The Wild Iris Inn
Address: 121 Maple Ave, La Conner, WA 98257-9461
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > La Conner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in La Conner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Iris Inn is a short drive from Seattle and Vancouver, but "miles away!" Our 18-room inn is designed with your comfort in mind. 12 of our rooms are suites with jetted spa tubs, king beds, fireplaces, and outdoor decks/patios with fabulous views of the Cascade Mountains. Our 6 casual guestrooms feature king bedding & private baths. Regardless of the room you choose, you will love the Wild Iris Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Wild Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wild Iris Hotel La Conner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing