We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if you are anywhere near Seattle”
Review of The Wild Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wild Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Conner
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must if you are anywhere near Seattle”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Lovely get away, romantic enough for a honey moon. Enjoy peaceful and relaxing La Conner Washington. The breakfast is fantastic and the sleep is very quiet. The owners are your friends while you are there, so you don't feel like you are staying at an Inn, but someone's home. Shower and hot tub very clean, nice touches like fireplace and walk around the center of La, Conner.

Room Tip: Let the hostess know what you are looking for in a room when you book (romantic get away, peace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargeBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    52
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
394
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I rarely have a B & B experience where the attention to detail is so spot on. The Wild Iris Inn in tiny La Conner, Washington is such a place. From the inviting chairs on the porch to the local photography gracing the walls to fresh flowers, an immaculate room, and a truly delightful two-course breakfast, this inn is a winner! They easily accommodated our dietary needs without just omitting ingredients. These are professionals, even noting what kind of tea we were drinking so they could provide the same type with a new pot of hot water. The ambiance of the inn is perfect though the weather was so sunny and warm, we had no need of the gas fireplace. The large, fluffy towels, robes, and Aveda products in the bathroom also won us over, as did the DVD selection and CD player. Nice touches, all. We will definitely go back and you should, too!

Room Tip: A king-sized suite with a jetted tub is available. We opted for the smaller queen room since we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamingbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights at this inn and were very impressed all around. The details are lovely - a private sitting porch attached to our room, a gas fireplace, thick towels, very nice linens, refined but understated decor, fresh flowers and huge delicious cookies in our room, and a very fresh and tasty breakfast. The owner Lori is charming and gracious. I have never written a review before but felt strongly about writing one after this excellent experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I learned this place is run by a former hotel marketing exec. It shows as everything here is well thought out. It's a modern purpose-built building but with a tasteful B&B theme to it. Reasonably priced. Excellent staff. A very generous 2-course breakfast that I doubt anyone can finish. I think they should let people choose a single course or both if they are starved. Otherwise a lot of food can go to waste.

We had the least expensive room which looks out to the parking area. It was small but nicely appointed and the bed was comfortable. In the morning on Monday however some commuter traffic going by was loud in addition to the garbage trucks. Next time I would spend the extra money to get a room facing the opposite direction overlooking what looked like a small farm field.

Oh and the cookies they give you when you arrive are a meal in itself.!

You can walk a block to town. If this place was on the water or had a better territorial view I'd give it 5 stars. Almost perfect.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jellyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I just stayed here for our anniversary. I believe this is our first stay at a B&B and I don't know why we have waited so long! The personal touches and attention to detail were outstanding.

First the rooms: we had a king bed with an outdoor soaking tub. The outdoor tub was great, so nice to soak after dinner on a beautiful evening looking out over the gardens and surrounding hills. Room was clean, bedding was all great. Bed was a bit soft but that is personal taste. The cookies looked so good (more on that later).

The location itself is great, right on the edge of downtown La Connor. About a 5 minute walk to the waterfront. The building is very well maintained, fresh flowers throughout.

Breakfast the next morning was outstanding. Fresh fruit, yogurt, and granola, with pumpkin or zuchini bread. We didn't eat the bread to save room for fritatta and they offered bags to save for later (attention to detail). The fritatta afterwards was so good, eggs, ham, asparagus with hollaindaise, potatoes, kale, and cheese. They do offer breakfast to go if you need to catch a boat.

After breakfast we checked out and left on a bicycle ride to Deception Pass. When we returned Laurie offered towels, or shampoo if we needed them to change (keep in mind we were already checked out). After we changed she gave us OJ, Water, and even offered us a beer (we don't drink beer so had to decline). Again, Laurie and the staff did everything possible to make sure our stay was just perfect. I realize I am not capturing it all in words, but this place was just fantastic. We will be returning, and this time for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our first night away alone since we had our baby. The hotel was perfect in every way. The attention to detail was evident, and the little touches were very sweet. The homemade cookies were amazing, and the two-course breakfast is not to be missed. The staff and the owner were very welcoming and even accommodated my requests for extra pillows with a smile. Location is very good, we could walk to downtown La Conner. Not sure when we'll be able to get away without the baby again, but we'll definitely be back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarabic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, UT
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a great stay at the Wild Iris Inn in early June. We had one of the middle rooms on the first floor with a jetted tub outside in a small patio/seating area. The room was tastefully decorated and the bed comfortable. Lori is a warm, gracious, and attentive host. Although we missed the reportedly awesome two-course breakfast in the morning, they made up two bag lunches with enough food to feed a small army and left it outside our door at 7:00 a.m. so we could catch make our kayak tour in Anacortes. And I must mention the cookies. There were two enormous cookies in our room when we arrived, and they didn't look like our kind of cookie, so we let them sit until late in the evening when we bothered to taste them. When we did, it was hard to leave them alone. In short: they are da bomb. Coconut and chocolate and dried cranberries ... and wow ... just plain awesome. (We had two more in our bag lunch, and I'm pretty sure between the four cookies we had enough calories to survive in the wilds for a month or more.)

Room Tip: I don't think you can go too wrong with any of the rooms. The one we stayed (described above) wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Conner
0.4 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#2 of 4 in La Conner
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Planter
Hotel Planter
#3 of 4 in La Conner
140 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
475 reviews
10.5 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
621 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Iris Inn

Property: The Wild Iris Inn
Address: 121 Maple Ave, La Conner, WA 98257-9461
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > La Conner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Conner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wild Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Iris Inn is a short drive from Seattle and Vancouver, but "miles away!" Our 18-room inn is designed with your comfort in mind. 12 of our rooms are suites with jetted spa tubs, king beds, fireplaces, and outdoor decks/patios with fabulous views of the Cascade Mountains. Our 6 casual guestrooms feature king bedding & private baths. Regardless of the room you choose, you will love the Wild Iris Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Wild Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wild Iris Hotel La Conner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing