We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Wait to Return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wild Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wild Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 La Conner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our 10-day stay, occasioned by art workshops in nearby Mt. Vernon, at the Wild Iris was so enjoyable that I don't know where to start. So I'll just list a few things that make this inn so special to us.

Our room, #106, had a back porch, screened by Asian pear trees on one side and overlooking the neighboring family farm, and it was a pleasant place to relax with a glass of wine on a late, warm afternoon. (Speaking of warm, not all rooms have air conditioning, which can be an issue when the hot and often sultry summer days don't cool off much at night.)

Coffee and tea are available in the cozy common room before breakfast, which began with a bowl of local berries with yogurt and granola, with a side of just-baked muffin or breakfast bread; the follow-up, an egg dish - always different and always delicious - completed this generous meal. Then, in the unlikely event we craved anything later in the day, giant cookies - packed with dried fruit, chocolate chips and nuts - appearted later in our room. And as La Conner is quite small, good restaurants for lunch and dinner are within short walking distance.

The best part of our stay is that we felt truly "at home." The owners and staff made us feel like family, were endlessly helpful and congenial, and we look forward impatiently to being their guests again next summer.

Room Tip: Consider whether or not you want a room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    50
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
370
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

A group of 4 of us recently stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms are charming, clean and cozy, well decorated and ventilated. The breakfast on both days was just super, food excellent, service and friendliness outstanding. The owners are so helpful and pleasant. The whole experience here was just wonderful. We would recommend it to anyone.- Canadian or American.
The owner also makes the most delicious cookies - you get one each day in your room - yummy!

Room Tip: We had Jacuzzis - that was a lot of fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickyda1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

When you first walk into this Bed and Breakfast you feel right at home. The hostess greeted us and took us down to see our room before we checked in. We were so glad she did. We walked in and just thought :Wow:. It had a king size bed beautifully made up with a lovely quilt and lots of fluffy pillows. The was a fireplace facing the bed (not on for us as it was summer) that really added on to the ambience. We were on the ground floor that had a porch with a secluded hot tub. They have a wonderful 2 course breakfast that is included. It starts out with a bowl of granola, yogurt and berries and then is followed by a fritata. My husband had the one with meat in it and I just had a vegetarian one. Filled with all type of things and very good. The second day she remembered I don't eat meat in my eggs and as she didn't have a vegetarian fritta made me a special egg dish. The staff is very friendly and make you feel as if you are part of their family. We were only there for 2 days and I received a very nice hug when we left. If you are looking for a romantic get away This is the place to go.

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms with the hot tub if you are looking for a romantic retreat. When you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollipopkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I found this B&B on the internet in search of a comfortable place to spend our honeymoon and even though we had never been to La Conner, we decided to take a chance. What a great decision that was! We LOVED the Wild Iris Inn. Everyone took great care of us for the 5 days we stayed (we wanted to stay longer but they were booked up the rest of the week). The staff was so hospitable and friendly. They made sure our honeymoon was as special as could be. The room was perfectly clean, spacious, well kept, and decorated with fresh flowers. The amenities made our stay very comfortable, the cookies were delicious snacks, and the atmosphere was relaxing and peaceful. Breakfast was out of this world each morning, very filling and delicious; and a fresh new recipe each morning! Lori went out of her way to make our stay wonderful and we can't wait to go back to celebrate our future anniversaries.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yea2ballet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

It has been a number of years since our first visit and has been on the list to return. Finally this was the trip, although only one night - Wonderful! Nothing like be welcomed back like you just returned from a afternoon out. Fabulous staff, great food, wonderful bed, peaceful environment. We will return, much sooner this time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I always look to see if there are deficiencies and I just could not find any in this quaint bed and breakfast in this beautiful tourist town. The staff (quite often the owners) were friendly and forthgiving, the rooms were complete to the smallest detail.No expense was spared in making each room your home while you were there. Jaccuzie in the room, fireplace to keep you warm off season, balcony to sit outside in the fresh air and all the comforts of home. The breakfast to kill for..What more can be said..Top of our list of bed and breakfast inns to stay at again.

Room Tip: We had a room facing a farm. Nice serene view. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karaoke_zale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My friend and I had a girl's weekend away to Washington. Stayed one night at the Wild Iris Inn. From start to finish, this was the best place I have ever stayed at. Right from check-in, until check out everything was perfect. The owners and staff were soooo friendly. The rooms were spectacular. The welcome "love affair" cookies were incredible and the breakfast was delicious. Fresh flowers in our room. The detailed accents in the rooms and in the dining room- you don't get any of these things when you stay at a hotel. I will definitely return to this Inn. Nothing compares to it and "wow" the price is soo right!!!

Room Tip: We had a room with an outside hot tub. Private deck, wicker chairs/table. Such a beautiful room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Conner
0.4 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#1 of 3 in La Conner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Planter
Hotel Planter
#2 of 3 in La Conner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#15 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
10.5 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Iris Inn

Property: The Wild Iris Inn
Address: 121 Maple Ave, La Conner, WA 98257-9461
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > La Conner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in La Conner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Iris Inn is a short drive from Seattle and Vancouver, but "miles away!" Our 18-room inn is designed with your comfort in mind. 12 of our rooms are suites with jetted spa tubs, king beds, fireplaces, and outdoor decks/patios with fabulous views of the Cascade Mountains. Our 6 casual guestrooms feature king bedding & private baths. Regardless of the room you choose, you will love the Wild Iris Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Wild Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wild Iris Hotel La Conner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing