We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed here for three nights and found the staff friendly and the lobby welcoming. The room was good and well cleaners each day. Breakfast was relatively varied and there was a coin laundry. The pool was indoors and there was a basic fitness room with machines and a few free weights. Biggest downside was the internet - as per everyone else's comments the internet was SO slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1985Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear 1985Dan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the internet connection. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    40
    19
    6
    10
See reviews for
38
20
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had a horrible experience trying to cancel a reservation with this hotel. Since the AMC flight from Hickam to McChord was cancelled/no seats, and no flights in the near future that I could use, I tried to cancel my booking. Come to find out after the fact that the hotel has a 72-hour cancellation policy (so I would have had to cancel the reservation last Saturday for a reservation I made for today [Monday]), which was NEVER explained at all. Kudos to the nice, patriotic lady at Guest Relations who tried to intervene with the hotel manager directly, and tried to explain the nature of military travel. This place is right next to the base (which is why I chose it) and one would think they would try to be more amenable to the military community?! Please do NOT give this place your bu$ine$$!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Rob C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the experience you had with your reservations and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This was just a quick overnight stay for my family. When we first checked in, our a/c was not working, I can say they had it going in 5 mins. So that was nice. I agree like others posters have stated, the internet needs help. A hotel of this quality should have reliable internet service. Other then those two things, the place was nice and clean, room were good and we used the pool and hot tub both were very nice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Darren L,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are delighted to hear you liked your room accommodations and found the rooms clean. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We have taken note of your comments regarding the internet service and will use these for the improvement of the service we provide our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel mid-July and this hotel is no longer a very good choice for the business traveler or anybody else that requires an internet connection for any reason. The network connection was exceedingly slow - reminiscent of dial-up days.

If you need a stable and reliable internet connection, you best look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Work2Roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEALAManager, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear LoCld9,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review to let us know how we are doing as we value our guests opinions. I was sorry to hear that you encountered issues with the internet during your stay and we appreciate you letting us know so that we can look into it. I hope that in the future you will take advantage of our twenty-four hour staff so that we can solve any issues you have during your stay.
Sincerely,
Amber P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express - clean, efficient and fine for a night or two stay. It's right off the freeway. Breakfast was pretty good. Check in was quick and easy. Rooms were clean. We reserved a king room but got two queen beds.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEALAManager, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Pam,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I do apologize that you were not happy with your room type when a standard room is booked instead of a specific room type we do assign what is available upon check-in but do our best to fulfill all requests. I was happy to hear that you were comfortable during your stay and that our staff was able to provide you with an efficient check in. We hope to see you again during your future visits to the area.
Sincerely,
Amber P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is the best HIE I've ever stayed at, and I've stayed at 20-30 different HIEs across multiple states. Superfast internet, hot pool and spa, hot breakfast and freshly baked cookies in the evening. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEALAManager, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Jean W.,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review as we always love hearing from our guests. I am glad to hear that you had such an excellent stay with us and that you were able to enjoy the snacks provided as well as the internet. We look forward to providing you with the same great service on your next visit to the Lakewood area.
Sincerely,
Amber P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was going to overlook the curtain falling down off the hook, but it got worse. We stayed in room 105, with a roll-in shower. The bathroom door opens into the entry way that makes it very difficult for a wheelchair to enter the bathroom. You have to close the door, pass it, back into the corner, open the door, and enter. Finding a shower chair created quite a stir. First they found a chair that goes into a tub, then they found one attached to the wall in a different room. While Nick was most helpful, it really shouldn't have been that difficult. Why have a roll-in shower, if you don't have a chair. Room 104 has the bench. 105 does not. They allowed my husband to use the other room to shower. Then to the restaurant. We had two cups of coffee. Both times the coffee thermoses were empty and I had to find the attendant to bring full pots. It just shouldn't be this difficult.

Room Tip: If you want an accessible shower, choose 104.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScrappyTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEALAManager, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear ScrappyTexan,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review as we rely on our guest's feedback in order to improve our services. Our coffee is a popular service in the morning and because of the brewing time there are some occasions where it is in high demand and we need to replace multiple containers at one time. I am glad to hear that Nick was helpful during your stay and will pass along your kind words; however, I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as relaxing as we normally provide for our guests. We do have different levels of ADA equipped rooms and I am sorry that the roll in shower equipped room was not available when you checked in. I hope that in the future you will call the hotel when you book so that we can reserve you the correct level of ADA room.
Sincerely,
Amber P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakewood Pierce County
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lakewood
1.8 mi away
Best Western Lakewood
Best Western Lakewood
#1 of 6 in Lakewood
348 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Lakewood South Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Seattle / Tacoma near JBLM Base
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites DuPont
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood
Address: 11751 Pacific Hwy SW, Lakewood Pierce County, WA 98499-5176 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakewood)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Lakewood Pierce County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakewood Pierce County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Lakewood Pierce County
Lakewood Pierce County La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing