We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Candlewood Suites Lakewood
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Lakewood(Lakewood)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Tacoma)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
21
21
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
21
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree laundrysized fridgedvd movieslending librarymt rainierextended stayfront deskfull kitchennice propertyroom was cleanlakewood areabusiness centertacomadishwasherhousekeepingamenitiesfi
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Unless you only have coffee for breakfast don't believe the offering here. They don't have a breakfast room because all rooms have full kitchens
You can shop for your breakfast in the DingDongs an other processed goods downstairs, then pay for the privilege
Probably not a problem for most guests as this is a longer stay place
It was clean, except for smoke smell in smokers rooms( who has these anymore?)
Staff were friendly and change four room immediately when we told them it was a smelling room
Probably will not go back

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiguelitoyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cws_lakewood_gm, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear MiguelitoyCat:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that our hotel did not provide the features you were looking for in your hotel stay such as free breakfast and 100% non-smoking rooms. Candlewood Suites encourages the inner chefs of our guests with its well-equipped granite kitchens with full-sized appliances. We try to cater to the comfort of our guests from all walks of life, including smokers, and as a policy we always have some rooms set aside as smoking rooms. Thank you for tempering your disappointment in your stay with a shout-out to our great staff at the front desk and housekeeping. Your comments were very much appreciated.
Sincerely,
Mario Lee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The girls at the front desk are very nice and eager to help. My son lost a tooth and wrote a note to the tooth fairy that required a response and the girl at the front desk re wrote our response in her hand writing for us without hesitation. The rooms were nice and the air conditioning worked well. They had a great fitness center and laundry facility. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cws_lakewood_gm, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear jmia:

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience at our hotel. Writing to the tooth fairy was one of those unique requests that make serving guests like you fun. Should you ever need any more letters from the tooth fairy, I'm certain we can arrange it. Thanks again for choosing Candlewood Suites. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Mario Lee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I recently spent two nights at this extended-stay hotel in a queen one bedroom suite. It was a most pleasant experience. Upon check-in, my dog and I were greeted by Michelle, a most friendly and lovely young woman. Due to her efficiency, check-in was both quick and seamless. Within minutes we were in the elevator and heading up to the third floor one bedroom queen suite. Upon entering, I immediately noticed absolutely no smell to the room. This is rare! Obviously Candlewood Suites are very particular about keeping the rooms clean, in addition to all the common areas. The entire place was pristine!

The suite included a very well planned kitchen area (with full sized fridge) that included a desk return that functions as both a business workspace and dining area. The furniture in the livingroom was comfortable and the television was a Vizio HD that was an appropriate size for the livingroom area. The bedroom was very roomy and comfortable - the bed and light duvet provided me with two absolutely heavenly sleeps. The bathroom was spotless and again afforded a great deal of space to move around in. Quite honestly, this suite was much larger than many one bedroom condos I have been in!

As far as the area the hotel is in, I have to say that even as a woman, I did not feel unsafe in the neighbourhood. Yes, there are some empty lots around the hotel, but I never felt as though I was taking a risk walking in the area. I also walked my dog in the area just before 11 p.m. every night and found the area to be quiet, as opposed to being scary.

After spending 4 nights in an expensive hotel on the Oregon Coast in Seaside (beachfront one bedroom) that gave my dog fleas and a needed trip to a local veterinary hospital, I can say that Candlewood Suites was truly a breath of fresh air. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCompucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cws_lakewood_gm, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Compucat:
Thank you so much for the glowing review! We know how valuable your time is and we appreciate you sharing your great experience on TripAdvisor. Your thoughtful and kind remarks brought big smiles to all our faces. Thanks so much for choosing Candlewood Suites. We hope you come back our way again soon!
Sincerely,
Mario Lee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Considering how difficult it was to find a reasonably priced, nice, safe-surrounding hotel in Tacoma, we were delighted with the Candlewood. The staff were very pleasant, the room was clean, towels and bedding were nice. Because it is set up for extended stays, they had a little store where one could purchase quite a variety of things, including food. We really enjoyed our stay and felt that we had lucked out with this find! We were in Tacoma for the State Track Meet, which means a couple hundred teams were in the area, and space was hard to come by, but we made reservations on the Sunday before and found ourselves within 10 minutes of the stadium.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrossCountryMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cws_lakewood_gm, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I picked this place because of the kitchen, to have a nice homemade breakfast before heading back to a workshop. They also had good reviews.

First if your not an asthmatic and tobacco smoke doesn't bother you you will enjoy your stay. My experience is that this is as non-smoking as living next to a neighbor who stands and smokes right outside your window, except you can't completely close that window. I have been in several hotels in this area and this is the first one that I have had trouble breathing in due to smoking. The stair well doors were open and instead of letting in fresh early spring air we were treated with smoke as people are allowed to smoke by the open outside door. We did manage by stuffing a towel under the door. Management just shrugged their heads and basically told us to tough it. The air conditioning unit also has one fan setting so getting filtered air was at full blast or it was off.


The kitchen is nice and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Patricia K,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry for the problems you experienced in your room and regret the way your concerns were handled by our staff. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and would love for you to give us an opportunity to make up for your poor experience.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews