We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Lakewood
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lakewood
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely Candlewood Suites for one night. Everything was clean, comfortable, and relaxing. I especially loved the softness of the bed and linens. The kitchenette would have been a life saver during an extended stay, though we did not have time to enjoy it. The fitness center is 24/7, making a late evening work possible. Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank OregonianErica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cws_lakewood_gm, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Dear OregonianErica:

Thanks for the great review! We are so pleased you had a comfortable stay and really appreciate you taking the time to write in. We hope you come back our way again soon.

Sincerely,
Mario, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in May using points. Check-in was easy and I was acknowledged at my membership level, we were given a room away from the road. The room was well laid out with a kitchen and all the necessities (except an oven). It had a nice size bathroom (however the door did not quite open all the way, it bumped against the counter top; either a poor design or workmanship) but only soap and shampoo/conditioner, although all the towels were of very good quality.

The Candlewood Cupboard, their ‘convenience store’ was well stocked with frozen meals to fruit to ice cream at reason able prices. A wide choice of videos is available at no cost. Unfortunately we had an issue with the clickers, there are no instructions available and after a while realized that the 2 clickers (for the TV and the video player) were the same brand but the TV and players were actually different brands. I took both clickers to the front desk and the young lady was surprised at what was left in the room. Anyway, even with a replaced video clicker it still didn’t work, this time I was given a brand-new one, successful too. There are also 2 BBQs with a covered outdoor seating area available.

Back to my membership level, I was asked at check-in which ‘reward’ I would like and selected the points. I waited over a week before questioning about it but when contacting the hotel my points were added right away, thank you Nallely. Heading out for the day, just as the room door closed I realized the pass card was left inside, a maid was right there, she called down to confirm who I was and let me in. I felt quite secure that they checked me out first.

Tacoma is just a place you pass by on the freeway, so I thought, but we had a very nice experience. The Tacoma Art Museum and the Museum of Glass were well worth visiting as was Point Defiance Park and Lakewold Gardens, which is very close to the hotel. Also in the Tacoma downtown area are some very beautiful buildings and homes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tailes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cws_lakewood_gm, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear tailes2:

Thank you for the detailed feedback about your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It's always great to hear how our team performs when the guest encounters a hiccup in their stay. I'm so glad the issues were all addressed to your satisfaction. Thank you again for your kind words about our staff. It brightened everyone's day.

Sincerely,
Mario Lee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We chose this hotel for the location. It's midway between our two destinations: Mt Rainier and Seattle, and it's easy to find off the highway. We're satisfied with just about everything. Hotel was in very good shape. Room was spacious and clean and updated and had kitchen amenities such as a range and a dishwasher. Reminded us of a Residence Inn minus the free breakfast and p.m. manager's reception. We didn't cook but enjoyed being able to microwave popcorn. We didn't even bother making coffee in the room as they're always available and free down in the little mini-mart. There's no daily housekeeping but we only stayed 2 nights so that's not a problem. We could get fresh towels from the front desk if we wanted, but we didn't bother. Many people stayed a lot longer so that free laundry facility was one of the amenities. We were midway through our travel so we took advantage of the free washer and dryer. Just had to buy detergent, and yes, clean out the dryer filter. We could just walk to restaurants and a grocery outlet which was great after having been on the road all day. Didn't check out the fitness center which was next to the laundry area but we could see many guests taking advantage of the machines after work.

Room Tip: Our room faced the busy street which could be noisy at times but which did not bother us. If you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FunTrips101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cws_lakewood_gm, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear FunTrips101:

Thank you so much for the detailed feedback. It was really wonderful of you to recap all our great amenities like the free laundry and fitness center. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come back again soon.

Sincerely,
Mario Lee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed 20 days so far. Customer service is A+! Daughter couldn't connect to Wi-Fi, they called Nintendo to make it happen. Employees make you feel comfortable and go out of their way to know your name and make you feel at home. Beds are comfy, free internet, laundry, huge library of movies you can watch free,good sized work out room, and a big grill with seating outdoors. Three fast food restaurants close by, a restaurant within walking distance and major highways just blocks away. Definitely would come back here. Thank you Candlewood!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cws_lakewood_gm, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear kathy y:

Thank you so much for your great review. We so appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback. We're glad our hotel provided you with all the comforts away from home. Thanks again for choosing Candlewood.

Sincerely,
Mario Lee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Okay, we travel a lot and are from Florida, so being used to Marriotts we weren't sure what to expect here. The greatest part is the little sundry shop, free movie/book lending library, plus free laundry. The staff is wonderful and our room was clean and comfy, the gym much better than the Yakima Fairfield Inn we stayed at the next night. I'm sitting in the full service Marriott at SEATAC right now thinking how much more we enjoyed Candlewood! We had lots of visiting all over Washington State but this charming place was the favorite. Maybe it's the small-town kindness or just the holiday spirit but we really enjoyed our stay. To top it off, they're pet friendly! Check in, grab a movie, and relax!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgtampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cws_lakewood_gm, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear rgtampa:

Thank you so much for the glowing review! We are so pleased when guests use our wonderfully unique amenities like the free DVD movie library and complimentary laundry facilities. Thank you for ending our year with such warm and heartfelt praise. It was greatly appreciated by everyone on our team. We hope you'll come by our way again in 2014!

Sincerely,
Mario Lee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stay here all the time when he is up for work, its super clean, and its a new building. The manager is very nice and there are free movies you can watch from the lobby, I asked for a movie they didnr have and he bought it specifically for the collection, talk about going the extra mile. The gym is nice and there is free coffee 24/7. We had a kitchenette and I was able to cook easily. The parking lot was safe too and well lit. We will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arenee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cws_lakewood_gm, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear arenee14:
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Your glowing review made my entire team smile. Thank you for taking note of the exceptional work our housekeepers do. We pride ourselves in always trying to get the most recent movie releases for our guests and are happy to fulfill guest requests for any movies we don't have. We're also pleased that you took advantage of the fully-equipped kitchen in your room. We believe our guests should be able to eat a nice, healthy home-cooked meal even when they're away from home. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to having you back again soon!

SIncerely,
Mario Lee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for one night after visiting the Mt. Rainier. The property is very good and well maintained. The price is acceptable and you can also redeem IHG points if you have enough on your balance. The good thing for this hotel is the location is very convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilywx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cws_lakewood_gm, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear lilywx:

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We're so glad you had a nice stay after your trip to Mount Rainier. Our hotel is centrally located to many of Washington's greatest landmarks like Mount Rainier and Mount St. Helens, as well as being just a few minutes from JBLM and downtown Tacoma. Thank you for staying with us and we hope your next visit will be a longer one.

Sincerely,
Mario Lee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakewood
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma South - Lakewood
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tac...
#1 of 1 in Lakewood Pierce County
120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Lakewood South Tacoma
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Seattle / Tacoma near JBLM Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Lakewood
Best Western Lakewood
#1 of 6 in Lakewood
378 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 28 in Tacoma
66 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Lakewood

Address: 10720 Pacific Hwy SW, Lakewood, WA 98499-4736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Lakewood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lakewood
Price Range: £87 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Lakewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Candlewood Suites Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing