We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection on Whidbey”
Review of Inn at Langley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Langley
Ranked #2 of 16 Langley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at the Inn at Langley, and we experienced none of the issues raised in the previous review. The location, service and views were fabulous! We stayed in one of the cottages and found the accommodations in great shape…comfy bed, cozy fireplace, wonderful full-window views and easy access to the water and boardwalk. It was always very quiet and very private.

Breakfast quickly became a highlight of each day. There wasn't just an attendant at breakfast, but a wonderful chef named Amanda. Each day the bountiful spread included several fresh fruits (amazing strawberries, cherries, peaches, etc.), yogurt, granola, silky smoked salmon, brie, goat cheese, fresh breads and preserves, along with a delicious daily quiche served piping hot from the oven and a minimum of three choice of freshly made breakfast pastries like apricot cake, cherry crumble, blueberry streusel coffee cake…I could go on and on. Amanda took excellent care of us each and every morning and was a delight to chat with about everything from food to music.

We had only two small quibbles during our stay. First, since we were in the middle of "java central USA", we were surprised to find only instant coffee in the room, albeit Starbuck's. Due to the time difference, we were up with the sun each day and earlier real coffee would have been nice. Second, if you plan on enjoying any wine in your room, on the deck or in the garden (all of which we recommend!), you might want to bring your own stemware. Glasses are provided, but they are of very low quality - thick-rimmed and tiny. Happily, we were able to find some perfectly workable wine glasses at The Star Store in town for a mere $10 each. So, these items could be improved, but we were easily able to find a solution.

The owners, front desk staff and restaurant staff were all helpful, friendly and gracious. We've traveled all over the world and the experience here compared favorably with many high-ranking properties. It's not a polished cosmopolitan hotel, but then that's not what we're looking for when we come to a place like Whidbey Island.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank magicone95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

The location and view are excellent, office staff pleasant and informative, and rooms spacious. Unfortunately, for a hotel rated Top 500 in the World by Travel and Leisure magazine, they've obviously slacked off since that review. One has to lay near the centre of the mattress otherwise feel like you'll roll out, it takes 2 of the pancake pillows to come close to serving as a normal pillow, remnants of peanut butter and scones remain on the outside deck floor and wooden table top creating large greasy stains. Finally, the buffet style "gourmet breakfast" amounted to yesterdays croissants and cold quiche, which created too much of a shortfall for the home made preserves to make it on their own. Too bad, as they had a full time attendant in the kitchen that should have ensured that heated quiche was served, though no microwave anyway.
Disappointed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Inn at Langley for 3 nights in May, and loved it. We rented a car in Seattle and travelled over to the island via ferry. That was easy and fast. Langley was easy to get to and the Inn is on the main street in town. This is the place to go if you just need to take your life down a notch and relax for a few days. We really enjoyed our top floor room, with the awesome views. (Truth be told, I didn't really see that any of the rooms would have a bad view.) The bed/pillows were comfey. The whole place was very peaceful and quiet, so we were able to sleep in every day. The balcony had a great view of the Sound, and surrounding islands (as did the soaking tub.) Breakfast was interesting, with home-made granola, quiche, croissants (two of the days those were rock-hard), fresh fruits, juice, coffee, etc. There was an exceedingly expensive dinner offered while we were there, but we didn't go. Rather, we went wine tasting at Ott and Murphy down the street, then went to the pizza place a little further down the street for supper. The pizza place (forget the name) looks a little dumpy on the outside, but has great food/service/views. There is a fridge in the room stocked with soft drinks/water/wine/beer. There are also complimentary snacks in the room. There is a small grocery down the street if you need additional snacks/drinks. The owners were friendly, and made a point to introduce themselves. The people working the front desk were nice and helpful, and even recommended a close-by hiking area for us (Putney Woods.) It was lush and beautiful, but make sure you take a trail map if you go there. We went to the spa for a massage one day, which was about as good as we've had anywhere in the world. Nothing like a relaxing massage, then back to the room to relax with the fire going, while checking out the amazing view. We also went on a whale watching excursion (no whales.) I would really research this prior to booking, and not sure I would recommend the outfit leaving from the Port of Langley. Again, we really enjoyed our stay, and the R&R it afforded.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plainstravellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

LOVED the view from our corner room. I could have spent a week on the balcony watching the tide roll in and out; the eagle who visited daily and the clouds build and swell and the rainbows. The Inn has the feel of a very, very small place (though there are in fact quite a few more rooms than it seems). The room was clean and comfortable, and the design was simple and restful, in perfect complement to the setting. We found people at the hotel and in the little town of Langley to be exceptionally friendly; it was a really nice place to spend a couple of days doing virtually nothing. The restaurant features an open kitchen that was very homey and inviting for breakfast (included), and the granola was the best. Dinner was an experience; big on theatrics which was fun, but in our party of 8, we all agreed a course or two could have been easily eliminated to the improvement of the meal and the experience. It simply dragged on too long. We loved the island and will look forward to returning. It would be nice if there was a lounge/bar; sunset happy hour would have been spectacular.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We love the Inn at Langley and are repeat visitors.
The Inn has a wonderful Zen like look and feel to it. The rooms (all with a private terrace) have a perfect 180 view of tranquil Puget Sound with the sounds and sights of herons and seagulls and an occasional whate.
The Inn is ensconced in a picturesque and quaint little town on a beautiful and seemingly private beach to wander and explore. You can relax on your terrace and read or just enjoy the scenery soaking in the natural beauty and quiet. There is a great Spa on-site that I've visited on two occasions and the treatments reflect the same serenity as the Inn.
Breakfast is included and quite a treat. You'll find a generous vareity of freshly baked goods, egg dishes, delicious bread, cheeses, yogurt, juices, and coffee from the local island roaster; all served in an inviitingly elegant and comfortable dining area.
The Inn offers an optional extravagant multi-course dinner on the weekends (by reservation only) which is definitely an occasion featuring multiple regional creative small plates paired with wine from local producersl.
The Inn at Langely is an experience you'll thoroughly enjoy. Make sure you visit the town's shops and eateries too, all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitzE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Inn is situated on a quiet and scenic coastline, with a pebbled beach out front. The rooms are large, with comfortable beds, lots of pillows, and a deck to sit and watch the waves lap ashore. The fun bit is the bathtub, which has an unobstructed, private water view! The staff could not be more helpful or pleasant. This is a true gem.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane48_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night for our babymoon on a whim. We loved every minute of it. The view was spectacular. The jacuzzi tub was a hoot (with a view ofcourse). The room had a real wood burning fireplace, a fridge. Everything was perfect! And then we had what felt like a 1000-course meal prepared by chef Costello and it was divine! And we're vegetarians, which severely limiting his options! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and can't wait to come back here again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DeeN645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley
19.3 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
277 reviews
21.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
15 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Mukilteo – Waterfront
5.9 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Cottage of Langley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Langley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Langley

Address: 400 1st St, Box 835, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260-8800
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Langley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Langley
Price Range: £225 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Langley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Langley built into a bluff overlooking the Cascade Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Langley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Langley Hotel Langley
Inn At Langley Whidbey Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing