We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Saratoga Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saratoga Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Langley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
vista
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Inn is lovely but the staff is sadly lacking personal involvement and support for the Whidbey "newbie" visitor.

We had great difficulty getting from the Seattle airport to the Inn and called several times both before our departure from home and once we arrived at the airport trying to get good information and help in our planning. The Inn manager was very uninformed regarding options to get to the Inn and had no knowledge of the rail system and commuter train which would have taken us right to the appropriate ferry to Whidbey. It was a very frustrating afternoon wasted trying to find the right transportation to the right ferry.

Once at the Inn we wanted to rent a car on the Island and once again no one at the Inn seemed to know what to do. The Island Bus is fine if you don't get off. Once you get off you may have to wait an hour or more for another one to come along.

The food was good but there was not enough seating and we had to sit on the couch with our plates on our laps because there were not enough places to sit. Once again, the manager or other staff was not concerned.

We have stayed at many B&B's across the country and have a good sense of what makes a memorable experience, this Inn needs to learn how to interact with their guests at least during the breakfast time to see how their stay is going and to see if there is anything they can do to help with the plan for the day. We never saw anyone. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alihuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    36
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
230
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in the water view King room with balcony and fireplace.... Wonderful room , and beautiful view . The service and friendliness of the staff was exceptional. Lindsay and Kayce made us feel at home. Breakfast and afternoon goodies were excellent ...we would definitely stay again

Room Tip: The king room with Balcony on the second floor with water view, would be my recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired070805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We knew we wanted to drive to Langley - Whidbey Island - and we visited Port Townsend, Coupville and Langley - Langley won hands down and this Inn is superb. The service and attention to detail is excellent. The full breakfast was very good and obviously 'home cooked', the rooms very clean and comfy and obvious ownership love.

I will be back and I wholeheartedly recommend the village visit and staying at this lovely Inn.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony don't ask for the water view - they don't appear to have them, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for a quiet midweek getaway. I made the right choice with the Saratoga Inn. We stayed in the Carriage House. It was huge, comfortable, romantic and I am so happy we stayed here. Views were beyond great. We walked through Langley but honestly just wanted to stay in room and veg out. It was so relaxing and so luxerious. We will be back next year for our next anniversary. Previous posts said there was cookies, but I guess that has discontinued. Sad. Other than that, what a great place. Way better than Boatyard Inn or Inn at Langley. Those places don't even compare to this place. Loved it!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashhorserider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niederkruechten, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Actually we wanted to stay only three days, but we have extended by two days because we felt so comfortable. Everything was so AWESOME. Beginning with the Innkeeper and her team, the delicious breakfast, the beautiful and cozy room, the wonderful porch and the wine in the afternoon. It was an unforgettable time! Thank you so much for everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I just completed our 3rd visit to the INN and once again everything was perfect. The location, rooms, amenities are superb but the service provided by the staff is unsurpassed. I'm booking our next stay today. Outstanding experience! Well done!!

Room Tip: Request a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The most incredible breakfasts. We stayed in the carriage house the bed was heaven! The view of the Saratoga Passage from our private porch was spectacular Every need was anticipated. We would go back again and again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnSchoeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley
21.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
21.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
24.6 mi away
The Wild Iris Inn
The Wild Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in La Conner
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#2 of 16 in Langley
280 reviews
6.0 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
51 reviews
17.9 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Inn

Property: Saratoga Inn
Address: 201 Cascade Ave, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260-8415
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Langley
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Langley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Saratoga Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at Saratoga Inn, a romantic island getaway just a ferry ride away within the charming seaside village of Langley. Enjoy beautiful views of the Cascade Mountains and Saratoga Passage from the privacy of your room or from our friendly common area, which includes an old-fashioned porch. Gather in our Commons for a hot breakfast and complimentary afternoon wine and cheese. Hot beverages, ice, DVDs, WI-FI, HVAC and bicycles are also complimentary. Shops and restaurants are within walking distance from the Inn. Park you car and enjoy some small town walk-about living and stress-free "Porch-Talk!"! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saratoga Hotel Langley
Saratoga Inn Langley, Whidbey Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing