We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Get Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boatyard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boatyard Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Langley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Get Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed two night in early December and the Boatyard was the perfect spot to relax. Very close to all the shop and restaurants in Langley. The kitchen facilities are very nice, but we didn't really take advantage because there are so many great restaurants in Langley. We did bring pizza back to our room one night and watched a movie (the innkeeper has a great selection to borrow from). With the fire going, it was romantic and cozy place to spend a December evening. The bed was comfortable, the room was very clean and there were some nice decorating touches. My wife really appreciated the blanket by the fire to wrap up in. Definitely would stay there again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Russ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. With the high ocean tides typical this time of year, many of our guests hate to leave the comfort of their suite and instead use the kitchen facilities for their meals. "Eating in" by getting pizza from the newly remodeled Village Pizzeria a block up the hill is also a great choice. As you may have discovered, winter storms generate waves right up to the bulkhead in front of the inn. Ten of our twelve rooms feature beachfront decks where you can literally feel the sea spray on your face as you watch the pounding waves just inches away. Winter is also a great time to take advantage of our reduced rates. We appreciate your taking the time to write a review.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
132
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed at the Boatyard for our annual first weekend of December family trip. Had three rooms, a loft suite, handicap suite and single. Love the improvements. The kitchen areas are so much more functional, the new carpet and furnishings are so nice and love the new showerheads and toilets!!! Oh, and the complimentary pastries in the morning were a real nice treat!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellevueBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
First of all, thank you for being a loyal guest of the Boatyard Inn and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your enthusiastic endorsement of the improvements we made to the property this year. We will continue to upgrade in 2014, beginning with placement of king-size beds in the loft units. You mentioned the complimentary pastries. This is something we just started experimenting with on the weekends. As you know, our rooms are more condo-like (600-900 square feet) than merely a hotel room, each including a large living area, separate sleeping area, kitchen and dining areas. Our guests typically prefer to make breakfast in the room to take full advantage of the waterfront experience. Your feedback will help us assess the success of this program as we continually seek ways to enhance the guest experience.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I often book 3 day getaways around the Puget Sound, and the Boatyard Inn was a wonderful place to stay. Literally located on the water in the quaint town of Langley, the accommodations were welcoming and lovely! The staff was very friendly, and the town was fun to explore! I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone! We will return!

Room Tip: Room 2 was quiet, private and had plenty of view windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemmel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the Boatyard Inn and hope you will return again next year to see the changes we will be making to some of the two-bedroom loft units such as the one you stayed in including replacing the upstairs queen beds with built-in kings. You are right! We are literally on the water, especially this time of year when tides are high. Winter or summer, some guests have confessed to never leaving the inn and instead spending the entire day out on their private deck (ranging from 8' to 18' long and 5' to 8' wide), watching the sunrise over Saratoga Passage, waving to kayakers gliding by, and spotting bald eagles circling above. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, cA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Langley is a warm, friendly coastal town with great views, great food and overall beautifulness at every turn. We stayed at the Boatyard Inn for 3 nights with our mini Doxie. We knew it was a cool place because our neurotic pet was completely at ease from the moment he entered the suite. We had the "partial view" - which was a direct sight line of the water from the entire suite. Its really the size of a good sized condo and the kitchen and bath are huge, stylish and most importantly functional. The inn keepers were very helpful and when we mentioned the bed was a tad firm for our taste, a foam pad was immediately installed - heaven! Everything is in the kitchen to cook if you want and the local market has a delectable deli. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
We are glad you and Doxie enjoyed your stay at the Boatyard Inn. We are one of the few inns in Langley that accommodate small dogs, and we have earmarked the suite you stayed in, #9, as our one "pet friendly" unit. I am so pleased that you mentioned your preference for a softer mattress to our innkeeper so that we could respond to your needs. We hope you will bring Doxie back next year so the three of you can once again enjoy the incredible views of Saratoga Passage and the Cascade Mountain Range from your private deck.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Fell in love with this place after stepping into the room. We called the Boatyard Inn the morning that we needed a room and they were able to accommodate us in spite of the short notice and our request for only one night. (Our original trip plan was Mt. Ranier for 4 days/3 nights. With the government shutdown, we decided on Camano Island for 2 nights and then we had one night to fill and several people recommended Whidbey Island as our next destination, specifically Langley.)

I gave this background because despite our request for one night only, the minute we walked into our room (#7), we asked if it was available for a second night and upon finding out it was, called our hotel in Seattle to change our reservation.

Parking is readily available, the office has a great walking map of Langley, the room had everything that you would need (fridge, tea kettle, pots, two burners on the counter, plates, cups, dish soap, sponge, coffee maker, coffee and tea, blow dryer, fireplace, extra blanket, books on Langley both historical and one of current places). There was a queen bed, but we opted to sleep one in the bed and one on the couch, which felt just like a bed. Oh and while minor, the shampoo and conditioner provided were great as well!

In addition to the table and two chairs on the balcony overlooking the water, there is also a little wooden seating area on the balcony where you can sit comfortably with your legs criss-crossed. If you stay here make sure to sit on whatever balcony you have and take nice long deep breathes, the air is just amazing.

Overall all three staff that we spoke with during our stay were friendly and very helpful. I would love to stay here again and would recommend the boatyard inn to anyone that will listen!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolealia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an enthusiastic review. We were so please to be able to accommodate your request to extend your stay. We hope you will return next year and stay even longer, taking advantage of the kitchen area typical of all rooms that allows you to prepare your own meals. This time of year, as well as mid-summer, our guests often walk down to the marina next door and purchase live Dungeness crab from local fisherman right off their boats. They then run up the hill to the Star Store for salad fixings and fresh-baked bread, and retreat to their condo-like suite to steam the crab. In the summer, that dining experience is often outdoors on your private deck where, sharing a nice bottle of Pinot Grigio, you can toast the bounty of the sea and your good fortune to be experiencing the best of island life.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

my husband and i visited here for two days recently and we had a wonderful time!! the rooms are cozy and right on the water, it was such a peaceful and relaxing place to stay and trust me we really needed a vacation! the people at the front desk were very nice and accomadating. the dog at the front office was super friendly and lovely too! only problem we had was the water was turned off for four hours on one of the days we were there, but that was the citys fault not the hotels. and the hotel staff was very nice about giving us bottled water. We will definately go back! we loved it!

Room Tip: make sure to get a room facing the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Boatyard Inn. As you noted, the inn is waterfront, in fact, ten of our twelve rooms are cantilevered over the beach below. This time of year there is less beach due to higher tides. But you do have the advantage of experiencing some incredible winter storms that bring in huge driftwood logs that smash into the bulkhead right out in front just a few feet away. It's really quite dramatic! And of course January brings an abundance of bald eagles that continually swoop down to the beach for prey. In the summer, during minus tides, you can step right outside the inn and walk all the way to town. We hope to see you in 2014.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Truly a gem! The Boatyard Inn has the upscale hotel look and feel with small town, small hotel personal attention and laid back atmosphere. The studio units are well thought out and have everything you should need for a relaxing stay on Whidbey. The innkeepers couldn't be more friendly and personable, yet professional. Whether you want to walk up the hill to one of Langely's several eateries, catch a movie at the local theater, or stay in, sip some wine and borrow a DVD from the Inn's rather good selection of good films, you can't go wrong at the Boatyard Inn!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for your review of our inn. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and are hopeful that you will come back to see us the next time you need a getaway.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley
19.6 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
21.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.8 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Mukilteo – Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#2 of 3 in La Conner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#2 of 16 in Langley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
6.1 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boatyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boatyard Inn

Property: Boatyard Inn
Address: 200 Wharf Street, P.O. Box 866, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Langley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Langley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WATERFRONT! You'll be lulled to sleep by waves lapping along the beach in front of your room and awaken to spectacular sunrises over the Cascade Mountain Range at this 13-unit waterfront inn on Whidbey Island. Every oversized room celebrates the Pacific Northwest and the magic of the sea, with large living areas, galley kitchens, and private decks above the beach. Just a block up the hill is the charming village of Langley, with restaurants, shops, and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Boatyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boatyard Hotel Langley
Boatyard Inn Langley, Whidbey Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing