We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay in Langley” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boatyard Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boatyard Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Langley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay in Langley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent two quiet nights here on an after Christmas get away. Our room was fantastic: comfortable with a kitchenette, great bed and very roomy. We were on the ground floor - the advantages: easy load-in and load-out plus a spectacular deck immediately above (as in 3 feet) the beach with an incredible view. The (only) disadvantage: the family above us seemed eager to clomp around until well past 11pm, but that was a small price to pay!

We've stayed in other inns at Langley but this is easily our new favorite!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterMikeSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a favorable review of the Boatyard Inn, in spite of the noise caused by our upstairs guests. Needless to say, you...and we...would have hoped instead that you'd have been lulled to sleep by the sound of waves just outside your windows. We appreciate your letting our innkeeper know about the noise while you were there so that she could ask your upstairs neighbors to "tread more gently," which I understand they did. We are honored to be your new favorite place to stay in Langley. We will do our very best to exceed your expectations on each and every visit.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
132
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We visited this beautiful place between Christmas and New Years. It was beautiful! very clean and spacious for a family of 4. the view is spectacular as the property is right on the ocean. Very quiet at night time...so is you are looking for some r and r this is the place to be. iit is also within walking distance to all the quaint little shops. Also, there is alittle cafe that serves the best Burgers I have ever had!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We so pleased your family of four enjoyed the Boatyard Inn during the holiday season. I am assuming you stayed in one of our loft units that includes a bedroom area downstairs (where you can lay in bed and watch the sunrise over the Cascade Mountains...I hope the sun was out during your stay!) and an upstairs loft bedroom with an additional bathroom. We are in the process of upgrading the lofts in Units 6 and 8, including built-in king-size beds upstairs (instead of the current queens); this project will be completed by the end of January. Yes, many of our guests comment on how quiet the inn is. Often the only sound you will hear is that of waves on the beach a few feet out front and the occasional screeching of a Great Blue heron "fishing" along the waterfront.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We spent two nights for my birthday in mid-December in a waterfront suite at the Boatyard Inn. Didn't spend any time on the deck because of the weather; but it was very relaxing listening to the waves roll onto the beach. Very nice kitchen and other amenities (bed & bath). Excellent restaurants in Langley.

Room Tip: Choose room 5 waterfront suite. Excellent view of Puget Sound and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Happy birthday! We are delighted you chose the Boatyard Inn for your celebration. And although the weather was a bit soggy, I'm pleased you enjoyed the beachfront setting which can be both dramatic and serene, depending on the day this time of year. We hope you will allow us to welcome you again next year as you celebrate your special day.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We spent Christmas in a waterfront suite at the Boatyard Inn. It was quiet, cozy, and relaxing. Splendid views of the sound and distant mountains. It was too cold to spend much time on the small deck but with the windows open a little, we could hear the lapping waters and birds. Lovely! Comfortable bed and furnishings, a minimalist kitchen but enough to get by on, very friendly inn keepers, great location for walking into town. A little spendy but worth it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank debdak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your Christmas stay at our inn. The holidays are such a festive time of year in Langley, when the whole town "decks the halls." In fact, businesses try to outdo one another, competing for the honor of being chosen Best Decorated. We hope you will revisit us later in the year when weather will beckon you to spend hours outside on your own private deck watching the seascape just a few feet in front of you. If you come in the spring, you can enjoy the richness of island life while taking advantage of our reduced rates.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
190 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed two night in early December and the Boatyard was the perfect spot to relax. Very close to all the shop and restaurants in Langley. The kitchen facilities are very nice, but we didn't really take advantage because there are so many great restaurants in Langley. We did bring pizza back to our room one night and watched a movie (the innkeeper has a great selection to borrow from). With the fire going, it was romantic and cozy place to spend a December evening. The bed was comfortable, the room was very clean and there were some nice decorating touches. My wife really appreciated the blanket by the fire to wrap up in. Definitely would stay there again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Russ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. With the high ocean tides typical this time of year, many of our guests hate to leave the comfort of their suite and instead use the kitchen facilities for their meals. "Eating in" by getting pizza from the newly remodeled Village Pizzeria a block up the hill is also a great choice. As you may have discovered, winter storms generate waves right up to the bulkhead in front of the inn. Ten of our twelve rooms feature beachfront decks where you can literally feel the sea spray on your face as you watch the pounding waves just inches away. Winter is also a great time to take advantage of our reduced rates. We appreciate your taking the time to write a review.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed at the Boatyard for our annual first weekend of December family trip. Had three rooms, a loft suite, handicap suite and single. Love the improvements. The kitchen areas are so much more functional, the new carpet and furnishings are so nice and love the new showerheads and toilets!!! Oh, and the complimentary pastries in the morning were a real nice treat!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellevueBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
First of all, thank you for being a loyal guest of the Boatyard Inn and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your enthusiastic endorsement of the improvements we made to the property this year. We will continue to upgrade in 2014, beginning with placement of king-size beds in the loft units. You mentioned the complimentary pastries. This is something we just started experimenting with on the weekends. As you know, our rooms are more condo-like (600-900 square feet) than merely a hotel room, each including a large living area, separate sleeping area, kitchen and dining areas. Our guests typically prefer to make breakfast in the room to take full advantage of the waterfront experience. Your feedback will help us assess the success of this program as we continually seek ways to enhance the guest experience.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I often book 3 day getaways around the Puget Sound, and the Boatyard Inn was a wonderful place to stay. Literally located on the water in the quaint town of Langley, the accommodations were welcoming and lovely! The staff was very friendly, and the town was fun to explore! I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone! We will return!

Room Tip: Room 2 was quiet, private and had plenty of view windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lemmel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the Boatyard Inn and hope you will return again next year to see the changes we will be making to some of the two-bedroom loft units such as the one you stayed in including replacing the upstairs queen beds with built-in kings. You are right! We are literally on the water, especially this time of year when tides are high. Winter or summer, some guests have confessed to never leaving the inn and instead spending the entire day out on their private deck (ranging from 8' to 18' long and 5' to 8' wide), watching the sunrise over Saratoga Passage, waving to kayakers gliding by, and spotting bald eagles circling above. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley
19.6 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
21.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.8 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Mukilteo – Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#1 of 3 in La Conner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#3 of 16 in Langley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Cottage of Langley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boatyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boatyard Inn

Property: Boatyard Inn
Address: 200 Wharf Street, P.O. Box 866, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Langley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Langley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WATERFRONT! You'll be lulled to sleep by waves lapping along the beach in front of your room and awaken to spectacular sunrises over the Cascade Mountain Range at this 13-unit waterfront inn on Whidbey Island. Every oversized room celebrates the Pacific Northwest and the magic of the sea, with large living areas, galley kitchens, and private decks above the beach. Just a block up the hill is the charming village of Langley, with restaurants, shops, and galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boatyard Hotel Langley
Boatyard Inn Langley, Whidbey Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing