We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boatyard Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boatyard Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Langley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Good choice. Very close to town - walking distance. Pleasant staff, well equipped rooms with a view over the water. Private deck with seating area. The only downside - the lower units could be a bit noisy if there is a bunch of kids jumping up and down upstairs. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelready2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the Boatyard Inn and that you took the time to write a review for fellow travelers. Our guests tell us one of their favorite features of the inn are the private decks cantilevered over the beach below where they can watch for gray whales this time of year. And summer is a great time to hang out there, with kayakers, freighters, and sailboats creating the perfect panorama out front. Note: You can rent kayaks in front of the inn (or bring your own!) and launch them right off our beach.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
132
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We have visited the Boatyard Inn 4 times now and have always had a perfect experience. The staff is delightful, always making suggestions and willing to help with local reservations, the rooms are fantastic, comfortable, and have everything we need. We are looking forward to returning in July, and hopefully can fit a trip in before.

The location is also perfect, walking distance for Village Pizzeria, coffee and lunch at Useless Bay, and a great dinner at Primo Bistro.

Thanks Boatyard Inn!

Connie & Liz

Room Tip: Every room has a great view, sound of the water, and easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiceMerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you, Connie and Liz, for your enthusiastic endorsement of the Boatyard Inn and for taking the time to let others know of your experience. More importantly, thank you for being loyal guests – returning time and again. You have become all-seasons ambassadors for us! When you were at the inn last week, I hope you were able to catch one of the magnificent sunrises over Saratoga Passage that are typical this time of year.

Nothing would please us more than to have you squeeze in another visit before your July reservation. If you come in the next couple of weeks, you might be lucky enough to see a gray whale migrating through Saratoga Passage right in front of the inn.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We recently stayed here for two nights. We were in Room number 1. It was really nice and cozy and a fun escape for a few days. The room was well equipped and laid out. The beds are elevated so you can enjoy the view outside. Even though the weather was really stormy, it was still a great place to escape to to enjoy a few days of R&R. The ladies that manage the front desk were extremely pleasant and accommodating. They will even deliver a freshly made Latte right to your room. They provide a danish or two each morning to start your day out right. I would definitely stay again and tell all my friends!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbynoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Boatyard Inn. Our innkeepers Mynda and Sherri were delighted that you enjoyed your lattes and breakfast rolls in your suite though they lamented that were unable to transform the rainy weather into blue skies. We hope you will return in a few months when days are longer and sunnier and the view of Saratoga Passage and the Cascade Mountains from your private deck might just possibly include a grey whale in the foreground!

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Boatyard Inn for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the location and the accomodation. We took Unit #9 which is dog friendly. The room is spacious and includes a galley kitchen good enough for making breakfast and a light meal.
The view from the room is good as the inn is right on the water, steps away from the quaint downtown area of Langely. We enjoyed a few good local restaurants including Village Pizza and Primvera. There is an abundance of wine tasting establishments in the town as well as in the surrounding area. The dog loved the dog friendly beach and parks which are nearby.

Room Tip: Romm #9 has a good view and is dog friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia55570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
I am so pleased that you and your pooch enjoyed your recent stay at the Boatyard Inn. Suite 9 is our one designated pet friendly unit (small dogs only), and it's a favorite of humans and canines alike. The Village Pizzeria is a great place to eat and is just a block up the hill. It was renovated late last year, adding waterfront dining and a classy sports bar. It's also a good option for takeout if you prefer dining in your suite. (Oddly they don't accept credit cards so bring cash or check.). We hope to see you and your two- and four-legged friends again in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We scheduled a last minute stay at Boatyard Inn on January 11th. We stayed in Unit # 9. The fee was $150 for the night + tax. Super clean and comfortable with all the amenities we needed and then some. We will return.. Bed super comfortable, wonderful selections of coffee, teas etc. Danish etc at front desk for breakfast. LOVED THIS PLACE! HIghly recommend!

Room Tip: Unit # 9 had a partial view slight obstructed by another building but actually plenty of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masterstager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review. I am glad you enjoyed Suite 9, a favorite of many guests for several reasons: though it is not "on" the water as the other units are, it is in a quiet building by itself with a direct view of the mountains and Sound between two other buildings; the private deck is covered, allowing outside seating regardless of weather; a gas barbeque on the deck makes dining in a great option. We hope you will return again soon to experience the quiet and peacefulness of winter on Whidbey Island while rates are discounted through April.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammamish
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

My husband and I have made it a tradition to spend his birthday at the Boatyard Inn. In addition to countless other great visits, his birthday celebration at the Boatyard is always wonderful. Happily, we recently moved from the Seattle area to Whidbey Island and we still chose this inn as our "getaway". We were lucky to stay in one of the Driftwood Suites - a piece of heaven. I cannot say enough about how beautiful all the rooms are - the location is perfect, with balconies which hang right over the beach and water. Walking to town takes only a few minutes, but it is hard to leave the property. The innkeeper is the best. The Boatyard would not be the same without Mynda.

Room Tip: Have stayed in almost all of the rooms and would recommend all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Sounds like you had a wonderful birthday celebration, and we are so happy you chose the Boatyard Inn for your annual tradition. Many of our guests feel as you do -- that it is hard to leave the inn once you get there. With a fully stocked kitchenette in each of our twelve suites, you have the choice of dining out or dining in. And yes, over the fourteen years she has been with us, we are fortunate that Mynda has indeed become the face of the Boatyard Inn. Our new assistant innkeeper, Sherri, is also a long-time resident of the island and shares Mynda's passion to provide the best possible experience for every guest. Thank you for sharing your comments.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My friends and I enjoyed ourselves immensely at the Boatyard Inn back in November 2013. Loved our loft suite - bright, clean, right over the beach, stocked kitchen (with utensils, dishes and cookware), gas fireplace. Totally cozy. DVDs and games of all sort, books, too available in the office. Management very friendly and welcoming. We walked up to the village of Langely after breakfast and wandered around. Thoroughly succumbed to a sea salt scrub at the Langely Inn Spa. There is even a little theatre in the village. Check it out before you go. Sometimes there are live performances, too. Highly recommend this inn if you travel this way.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms face the ocean. Only difference might be whether you want the main floor or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyFlogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
I am happy to hear about your recent trip to the Boatyard Inn and greatly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Of the twelve units comprising the Boatyard Inn, ten are within a few feet of the water's edge. Regarding the other two, Unit 9 is set back from the other buildings but does have a view of the water, covered deck, and small gas barbeque; Unit 10 has no view of the water though it is popular for those who desire the comfort and space more typical of a townhouse than a hotel room. Unit 10 downstairs includes a full kitchen (with oven), living/dining room, powder room, and outside covered deck. Upstairs is a bedroom and bathroom. The Clyde movie theatre (circa 1937) that you mentioned features current films year round. Right now 12 Years a Slave is showing, with Philomena and Saving Mr. Banks following shortly. Movies are great but there is nothing better than treating yourself to some pampering at the Spa at the Inn at Langley. So glad you enjoyed it!

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley
19.6 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
21.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.8 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Mukilteo – Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#1 of 3 in La Conner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#3 of 16 in Langley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Cottage of Langley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boatyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boatyard Inn

Property: Boatyard Inn
Address: 200 Wharf Street, P.O. Box 866, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Langley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Langley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WATERFRONT! You'll be lulled to sleep by waves lapping along the beach in front of your room and awaken to spectacular sunrises over the Cascade Mountain Range at this 13-unit waterfront inn on Whidbey Island. Every oversized room celebrates the Pacific Northwest and the magic of the sea, with large living areas, galley kitchens, and private decks above the beach. Just a block up the hill is the charming village of Langley, with restaurants, shops, and galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boatyard Hotel Langley
Boatyard Inn Langley, Whidbey Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing