We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View!”
Review of Boatyard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boatyard Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Langley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great View!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary in June. It was one of the cleanest and comfortable hotels we have stayed at in a long time. We had a late check-in, and they were extremely accommodating. Our room was a studio and it was perfect! We had a small kitchen, dining area, sitting area with a fireplace, and the bed. The layout of the room was very unique and we did not feel cramped. My husband woke me up one morning and said, 'let's watch the sunrise - just lift your head up!' It was absolutely incredible - our view of the beach and the ocean with the sun rising was gorgeous - and I didn't even have to get out of bed! We had a little balcony with chairs and a table with lap blankets in the room for the cooler evenings. If you wanted to stay in your room, free movies were available at the front desk, as well as free coffee. The location of the hotel allows you to walk into downtown Langley. The owners and their employees are very accommodating and I would highly the Boatyard Inn for couples and for families!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grammy427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement of the Boatyard Inn. As you mentioned, one of the unique features of many of our units is the ability to see the water, mountains, and sunrise from the raised platform beds. The generous size of the rooms (600 to 900 square feet) indeed ensures our guests do not feel "cramped." I will pass along your compliments to our staff who work hard to maintain a level of service that will make you want to return again and again.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
132
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had such a wonderful girls getaway here. Sherri, the assistant innkeeper was so friendly and helpful. She made me the best mocha from the lobby coffee machine I have ever had. She even had our lattes ready for us when we had to leave the next morning early. The studio we stayed in was cute and well-stocked. The Boatyard Inn will now be our favorite getaway.

Room Tip: We were in room 7 on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the Boatyard Inn for your girls' getaway and for taking the time to write about your experience. I hope you and your friends will become repeat visitors...we'll be sure to have the latte machine warmed up for you!

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Boatyard Inn in Langley recently and loved everything about it! Our room was one of their lofts, which can comfortably sleep 4. There are two sleeping areas--one in the upstairs loft and one just off the living area. Bonus: two bathrooms! The room was clean, spacious and, most of all, had a gorgeous view. We spent a lot of time out on the small balcony as it is a great place to sit and read a book or have a bite to eat. The kitchenette was handy--small cooktop, pots, utensils, stove (no oven) as we brought beverages and snacks. The location is next to the marina, which makes for a quiet, peaceful place that you will find hard to leave. The center of town is close by, just up the street where you can find a grocery store and several great casual restaurants. Overall it was a very reasonably priced mini getaway for us and we really were sorry that we could only stay one night.

Room Tip: Definitely worth it to have a waterfront room. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milly6020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at our inn. As you noted, the inn is just a block up the hill to town which features shops and restaurants and draws large groups of tourists in the summer. But our location off the beaten track down on the beach next to the Langley Marina makes for a serene and quiet respite. You added a Room Tip suggesting it is "definitely worth it to have a waterfront room." I should point out that 11 of our 13 rooms are waterfront. One is waterview (Suite 9). The two-story Townhouse 10 has no view but a full kitchen including oven.
With 31 hotel reviews, you are obviously a well-seasoned traveler. Thank you for adding the Boatyard Inn to your list of destinations. We look forward to your return, hopefully for a longer stay next time.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect in every way. Waterfront view, comfortable beds, great front desk service. Every staff member gracious and eager to help. Hope to return! Made our girl trip very relaxing. Helped with restaurant reservations. Took group pics of us celebrating 60 years of friendship!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cheekybroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We are so pleased you and your girlfriends chose the Boatyard Inn for your "boomer" trip and for taking the time to share the experience on TripAdvisor. Both the size and configuration of the inn are attractive to small groups such as yours, making the inn a popular destination for family gatherings and such reunions. As you no doubt discovered, the temperate climate of the Pacific Northwest is idyllic in the summer and a great place to escape the more extreme temperatures elsewhere in the U.S. The next time you and your pals get together, we would love to welcome you back to the Boatyard Inn.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Private, quiet, relaxing, beautiful. What else is there to say? Oh, the staff is so helpful, and the sea otter outside our window was a plus too. Highly recommend. Have spent the entire stay out on the balcony overlooking the water and the mountains.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chickywawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Chickywawa (perhaps the coolest user name I've seen!), thank you for your generous TripAdvisor review and for choosing the Boatyard Inn for your recent getaway. You are listed as being from Dallas, and if that is the case, you no doubt appreciated our moderate Pacific Northwest summer climate, with low humidity, ocean breezes and marine air that helps to always keep things cool. An added bonus is that unlike the rest of the country, we have few bugs in the Northwest in the summer which makes it quite comfortable for hanging out or dining on the balcony just as you described.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you want to escape the heat of Texas or just want a quintessential Northwest experience.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Bring a bottle of wine and whatever sounds yummy for appetizers, dinner or breakfast, and plan to settle in. You won't want to leave! Boatyard Inn is thoughtfully appointed with everything you might want for a quiet, beautiful getaway, including a fully-functional kitchen and pots, pans, dishes, utensils, etc. so you really can cook something fresh and tasty in your room.

A short walk away is charming Langley, a town you can easily spend a day exploring. Well-curated shops, fresh local fine dining, a spa at sister property Inn at Langley (~4 blocks away at the other end of town), beachfront walks, a historic movie theater showing one well-chosen movie each night, galleries, museum, pub, remarkable coffee houses, and a well-stocked grocery store with a superb wine selection await your discovery.

Rural and charming Whidbey Island holds many delightful surprises just a short walk or drive away, from lively cultural offerings (theater, music, art classes, dance and more) to kayaking, hiking, yoga and writers workshops.

Boatyard Inn is a remarkable value for its spacious, peaceful and waterfront view rooms. You'll wish you'd booked an extra night, so do consider doing so!

Room Tip: They're all lovely-- room 12 is my favorite, with 11 and 7 close behind. Consider the brand new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJSinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We are so pleased you chose the Boatyard Inn for your recent getaway to Whidbey Island and the village of Langley. You are right that most of our guests do exactly as you described: settle in, cooking up meals in the galley kitchens and dining al fresco out on the private beachfront decks. It's hard to take your eyes off the view of Saratoga Passage and the watercraft coming and going from the marina out front -- kayakers, crab boats, paddle boarders, sailboats, with the Cascade Mountains in the distance, eagles and egrets flying overhead, and the occasional whale!
Thank you for letting other travelers know of your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you need a quick, easy, fun and relaxing escape from the city.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This lovely hotel is tucked down near the Langley Marina. We stayed here in August of last year and we had a wonderful stay. A music festival was taking place and sitting out on our deck, we were able to enjoy the sounds as they floated to us over the water. Great stay - next time, longer!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view of the marina. Can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatyard_Langley, Owner at Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our inn last year and hope to see you back again this summer. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. It's Dungeness crab season right now, and our guests are enjoying walking over to the public dock next door and buying crabs right off the fishing boats. Kids bring their fishing poles and cast lines off our beach in front of the inn (or at high tide, right off the room decks). At low tide they explore the wonders of the sea: driftwood, sea glass, starfish, seaweed, beach rocks. Summer or winter, the Boatyard Inn is a great place to experience all that is enchanting about the Pacific Northwest.

Cathy Puma, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley
19.6 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
21.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.8 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Mukilteo – Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#3 of 4 in La Conner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#2 of 16 in Langley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
6.1 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boatyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boatyard Inn

Property: Boatyard Inn
Address: 200 Wharf Street, P.O. Box 866, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Langley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Langley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WATERFRONT! You'll be lulled to sleep by waves lapping along the beach in front of your room and awaken to spectacular sunrises over the Cascade Mountain Range at this 13-unit waterfront inn on Whidbey Island. Every oversized room celebrates the Pacific Northwest and the magic of the sea, with large living areas, galley kitchens, and private decks above the beach. Just a block up the hill is the charming village of Langley, with restaurants, shops, and galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boatyard Hotel Langley
Boatyard Inn Langley, Whidbey Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing