We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely room in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boatyard Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boatyard Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Langley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“A lovely room in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

The location is quiet, set perhaps the distance of a couple of blocks from the main street of town. It was an easy walk from the hotel to shops up a quiet sidewalk with trees and peek-a-boo views of the water. The Inn area is quiet, nicely tucked away with a private feel to it. The boatyard (there is an actual boatyard next door) offers interesting photo opportunities. We saw a lot of wildlife including great herons and an eagle. The buildings have a newer modern look to them. Inside the rooms are clean with newer fixtures and nice amenities. The room we stayed in had a full kitchen as well as a gas fireplace, flat screen TV and a private patio on the water. The staff was quiet friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlilly_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
132
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sun City Center, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

My husband and I just returned from a weekend stay at the Boatyard Inn, Langley, WA. At first sight, we had our doubts. It really looked like an old boathouse. We were greeted by a lovely, charming woman who immediately put us at ease. She walked us up the stairs to the 12-week-new #12. When she opened the door, we were greeted with the warm, wonderful scent of new wood. As soon as we walked in, we were treated to the most stunningly beautiful, welcoming residence immaginable! To call this a room would be a great injustice. It's a perfectly appointed, expertly decorated, upscale studio apartment. Attention to detail is apparent everywhere, from the amazing 5-head shower with heated towel bar, to the realistic gas fireplace with flat-screen LCD TV above. The floor-to-ceiling wrap around windows urged us onto the two decks with cozy, rustic seating complete with table-top gas grill. All the better to enjoy the amazing water and mountain views. The bathroom and kitchen areas are a combination of warm, natural wood and earth-toned black slate. Two gas burners, with stainless warming wrack, stainless Kitchenaid dishwasher and stainless refrigerator with icemaker (full of ice upon our arrival!) made this little kitchen a gourmet cook's dream come true. But the real dream was the bed! We both let out audible sighs of pleasure when we eased ourselves onto the crisp, white linens covering the softest of down pillows and the most sumptuous of mattresses. Then we actually looked at each other and laughed out loud at the delight of that bed! We couldn't decide if it was really larger than the usual king-sized bed, or if it just seemed to be. Either way, sleeping on it was pure bliss. Propping up several of the six pillows and just reading in bed was an urge too strong to resist, since the apartment has an ecclectic library of books, many of which are on my current reading list. My husband loved the fireside furniture, and sat there with his laptop, catching up on a bit of work while I shopped the Langley boutiques which are about a city-block away. We had planned to breakfast and lunch at local restaurants, but so loved this little home-away-from-home that we just got deli take-out from the local grocery store. Our thinking was that no restaurant could possibly compete with the comfort or view from this wonderful, relaxing retreat, and the food turned out to be as excellent as it looked in the deli case! Not only was our stay memorable, but every shop owner and townsperson we met was charming, personable and friendly. The Boatyard Inn is a diamond in a perfect setting. I'm smiling as I write this, and know I will do the same whenever I remember it again. This is simply as good as it gets!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

My husband and I took a second trip to Langley and stayed again at the Boatyard Inn. We chose to stay in the newly built Driftwood Suites and it was absolutely beautiful! The fully stocked kitchen was well worth it as we enjoyed a delicious meal out on the deck right above the marina. After taking the short walk into town for window shopping and a glass of wine we sank into the most comfortable beds I think I have ever slept in and were able to get good use out of the cozy living room and fireplace. Now that we are back in the real world I often reference this as, "My Happy Place", when I need to take a minute to slow down and relax!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank papasmurf1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

We recently enjoyed a 3-night stay at the Boatyard Inn for our anniversary. We can't say enough about the wonderful staff, enthusiastic owners, and inviting, delightful decor and environment. Upon arriving, we were pleasantly surprised to find we had been upgraded to a brand new Driftwood Suite, due to a bit of construction on other parts of the property. What a lovely and generous offering, which we enjoyed immensely. One of the owners and ourselves were the only "guests" staying at this time, and staff associates Mynda and Faye made sure our every need was taken care of. We can't wait to come back, perhaps in the "off season" to enjoy grilling on our personal bbq, a peaceful rest tucked into those beyond comfortable cloud-like beds, and a snuggly fire in front of the beautiful fireplace. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

My husband and I celebrated our 41st anniversary this past August. We travel to Langley every year and this was our first visit to the Boatyard Inn. Faye was our innkeeper for the 3 nights. She was fabulous and full of information to insure our stay was extra special. We stayed in Studio 5. We watched the sunrise every morning. The views of the sound and the mountains were breathtaking. We plan to go back next year.

Debe White

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debe5069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Boatyard Inn. Faye was incredibly nice and exceptionally helpful. The studios are extremely clean, tastefully decorated with a definite WOW factor! We were so close to the water! Very relaxing to hear the waves lapping on the shore as we fell asleep on the super comfortable king sized bed! We will definitely be staying here again! We hated to leave! This is the PERFECT place to stay on Whidbey Island - well within walking distance to shops, Star Store for groceries if you want to cook and restaurants if you don't! Thank you Faye for such an outstanding stay at your beautiful place!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becki_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

A friend and I ventured to Whidbey Island for a Tuesday-Wednesday respite from the usual hustle and bustle. The Boatyard Inn is the perfect retreat and what a value! Sandy beach front to monitor time passing with the changing of the tides, rooms that are more condo-like than a room at an inn, with all the amenities of home. You can feast at the fabulous local restaurants or buy local ingredients at the Star Store for an incredible meal on the room's deck or the inside dining area that both have 180 views of the water. The loft format has a bed downstairs where you see the sunrise over the sound and a loft that overlooks the first floor of the unit and has it's own separate bathroom. Furnishings were done with an eye for every detail down to the perfect blanket to wrap around your shoulders while deck-sitting to watch the morning sunrise and evening sunset. The gentle lapping of the waves is a hundred times more effective than Tylenol PM. The beds are top drawer (no problem for a picky back like mine). The kitchen is supplied with all the basics and even the coffee, teas and creamer (no powdered, glumpy white stuff) for the required "fist cup" are delicious! The eagles that live in the shoreline trees do jaw dropping aerobatics. One night at the Inn was fantastic, but with the shopping, magical beaches, activities (even glass blowing), wineries, gardens, golf, kayaking, a longer stay is definitely warranted.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cnordling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley
19.6 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
21.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.8 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Mukilteo – Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#3 of 16 in Langley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
6.1 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Cottage of Langley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boatyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boatyard Inn

Property: Boatyard Inn
Address: 200 Wharf Street, P.O. Box 866, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Langley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Langley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WATERFRONT! You'll be lulled to sleep by waves lapping along the beach in front of your room and awaken to spectacular sunrises over the Cascade Mountain Range at this 13-unit waterfront inn on Whidbey Island. Every oversized room celebrates the Pacific Northwest and the magic of the sea, with large living areas, galley kitchens, and private decks above the beach. Just a block up the hill is the charming village of Langley, with restaurants, shops, and galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boatyard Hotel Langley
Boatyard Inn Langley, Whidbey Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing