We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ideal for the less than steady”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Cottage of Langley
Ranked #5 of 16 Langley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed one night in the Cabernet room. Loved the jetted tub and a very comfortable king size bed. Room is a bit over decorated to my tastes, but very clean The surroundings are beautiful, tranquil, and quiet. The hosts were cordial and the breakfast well cooked, if not abundant, certainly more than adequate.
I have some balance issues. I walk with a walking stick. The stairs to the cottage are difficult. They have no rails. Much of the furniture is low and not easy to get up from. The toilet is low. There are no grab bars either for the toilet or shower. Some of the outside paths have uneven paving stones. So, I would be cautious about staying here if you are physically impaired.
Having said all this, I would have no trouble recommending Country Cottage, particularly for a romantic get away. We had a fine time

Room Tip: If you have a physical disability, ask the host questions
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harolbagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Country Cottage of Langley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have stayed at Country Cottage of Langley several times, in the Whidbey Rose room and in the Cabernet Cottage. We love coming here because it is close enough to Seattle to be an easy weekend trip, but far enough away that we feel like we are truly getting away.

This last stay was in the Cabernet Cottage, which is what I will review. The hosts are unfailingly accommodating. Tom and Jackie are always helpful, with great knowledge of all the activities in the area if you are interested, but also very accommodating of your privacy if you just want to hang out and enjoy the room. They are often able to help out with special requests, such as the massages we wanted after a stressful work week. Obviously, the earlier they know the more easily such requests can be accommodated, but they have always been able to help us out. Also, if you are celebrating a special occasion, let Tom and Jackie know. They often have ideas for nice little touches to add.

Breakfasts, as always, are absolutely delicious.You can join folks for breakfast in the main house or have breakfast delivered to your room. We usually choose to eat in the main area because we always meet interesting people and have a great conversation, but the private breakfast option is there.

The room itself is quite spacious and has a lovely view of the garden area, which is in full bloom at this time of year. The room also has a mini-fridge and microwave, and a little cafe table, which is nice if you want to bring your own snacks/beverages. Since one of us is on a special diet, this is extremely helpful. The bed was comfy, and loveseat was great for reading in front of the fireplace, or watching a movie. Oddly we didn't make use of the jetted tub this time, but know it is great from past visits.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbmart_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorersCa, Owner at Country Cottage of Langley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

We Love our Repeat Guests, especially those who seem determined to try all Six of our Private Cottages and sample the different Breakfasts that we offer.
We have several great Services in our Village that cater to everyone from Chocolatiers in training to Wine Connoisseur’s or just guests who enjoy a great meal overlooking Puget Sound.

We look forward to your next visit.

Tom & Jacki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Very friendly, great service, we will recommend to our friends. Would stay here again if in the area. Delicious breakfast. Private, cozy, comfortable. The owner Jackie was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walkinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorersCa, Owner at Country Cottage of Langley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thanks again for letting us know about your experience in Langley. We are always happy to see referrals from guests who enjoyed their stay with us. Especially those that appreciate our great breakfasts and comfortable bed. If you don't have a comfortable bed and a great breakfast, what's the point of a Bed & Breakfast?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We made a last minute reservation for Valentine's Day night in the Cabernet Cottage. It was a great decision. We had to check in late because we were late coming over on the ferry and had to have dinner at Primo Bistro in Langley first. The hosts, Tom and Jackie were very accommodating about that. The room was clean and well furnished. Not overly cluttered and no dusty nick-nacks like some bed and breakfasts have. The tub is huge and rectangular, definitely enough room for two people to stretch out side by side and relax. There is a little chandelier over it too and the light can be dimmed if you want.You can see the TV from the tub too so if you want to watch a movie or something while you are in there you can. The fridge was quiet and the little coffee maker worked great in the morning plus they were located in a separate little area so they weren't right in the middle of the room. Tom offered to bring our breakfast to our room in the morning which was perfect because we wanted to get as much time in the room as possible since we could only stay for one night. There was a nice little table for two to eat our breakfast at and the food was just the right amount and very tasty. We wished we could have stayed longer but only one night this time. We will definitely be back. One of the main things I like about it was there were not little notes everywhere in the room reminding you of what you can and cannot do. We stayed somewhere last year that was like that and it was very annoying. (Like no massage oil in the bed and nothing in the bath tub except the bath salts that they provided and no real candles and don't flush anything down the toilet.) So anyway, I don't know about any of there other cottages but the one we stayed in was very nice.

Room Tip: Well if you are going for a romantic getaway the Cabernet Cottage will definitely give you the atmos...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorersCa, Owner at Country Cottage of Langley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thanks for your complimentary Review. We are always happy to provide A Romantic Cottage to enhance your experience. Since you enjoyed our breakfast delivered to your Cottage, feel free to download the recipes at: http://acountrycottage.com/recipe.html?action=viewcat&catid=4

We look forward to seeing you both again for your next Special Event

See you Soon

Jacki & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Great location to the town, good enough walk to get some exercise but not in a noisy location. Very comfortable cottage, although the refridgerator noise is annoying. Great shower and very clean and cozy. The grounds are superb, many nice places to relax. The breakfasts were wonderful and the hosts very friendly and informative. All in all a great place to stay when visiting Langley and Whidbey Island.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwick22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorersCa, Owner at Country Cottage of Langley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thanks for your great Review of our Comfortable Cottage. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you visit with us again soon. We take pride in the Breakfast that we delivered to your Cottage and would love to share the Recipes with you. Most of them are available for download at: http://acountrycottage.com/recipe.html.

Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon to enjoy one of our other 5 Romantic Cottages

Best Regards,
Country Cottage of Langley
Jacki & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Pros: The cottage was clean, the bed was comfortable, and it was convenient to walk to the town.

Cons: The cottage was cluttered with knickknacks; very hard to move around in; the refrigerator's compressor in the room made loud sounds every few minutes.

The breakfast was so-so: an apple tartlet which was tasty but very sweet, overcooked bacon and a cup of fresh fruit. The owners were very nice, but when one guest who had cholesterol issues asked if the owner could make (or had made) oatmeal, the owner got a bit snippy and unprofessional. After breakfast we were told to come back to the kitchen to sign a receipt before checking out. I told them we would be leaving at 10:30, but when I went back to the house at 10:30, both owners had left the premises with their cars, which I thought was very strange.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fuoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Country Cottage was recommended by a friend from Whidbey Island. Wonderful and friendly owners. Breakfast was very well prepared and gourmet. We had a Raspberry Strate....yummy. I would recommend it highly and would return. The grounds were lovely with seating mixed occasionally around the property for private seating. Beautiful flowers around everywhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunrise Cottage, small but really cute with nice sitting area inside and outside...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley
7.7 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Mukilteo – Waterfront
21.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
19.7 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
86.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
0.4 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#2 of 16 in Langley
284 reviews
5.9 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Cottage of Langley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Cottage of Langley

Address: 215 6th St, Langley, Whidbey Island, WA 98260-9623
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Langley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Langley
Price Range: £143 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Cottage of Langley 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Always a warm welcome and fresh cookies at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Country Cottage of Langley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Cottage Of Langley Whidbey Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing