We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay, EXCELLENT location”
Review of Evergreen Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leavenworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Evergreen Inn
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Very nice stay, EXCELLENT location”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Evergreen Inn is very quaint, small and in an excellent location and is less than a 5 minute walk to downtown Leavenworth. My wife and I stayed at the Evergreen Inn with one of our daughters and her boyfriend. Upon our check in we were informed that we had received a free room upgrade. We had been registered for a 2 room suite but were given an even larger one.

The accommodations were not of the most modern and one could tell that many quests before had taken their toll on the furniture and accessories that are found in the room. This is nothing against the management as keeping an Inn in good condition during two different tourist seasons (ski winter and tourist summer) is at best, a challenge. It is important for the traveler to note that the Inn is actually spread out over several blocks. Some buildings are more modern than others but most of the structure can be dated back over several decades.

In the main office there is a daily waffle bar that includes of course waffles, cereal, pastries, coffee, milk and orange juice. The inn could however drastically improve its access to the internet. There was absolutely no access in our room and we had to return to the two small tables outside the office in order to connect. Additionally, only two users are allowed to log in per room. The management did accommodate us and provided us passwords for unoccupied rooms. Still, with a full house this could be a problem.

There are a couple hot tubs throughout the property however the hours seemed to be a bit restrictive for our tastes. Most prefer a hot tub experience after a day of hard skiing or sightseeing and shopping but all tubs closed at 9:30 pm. The epilogue to that is that when my wife and I were found in a tub after that time, the management just gave us the lock and told us to lock up when we were done.

Overall the operators of the Inn were friendly, cordial and helpful with any questions or concerns we had. During breakfast time I also witness the desk clerk being overly helpful with out of state visitors that were somewhat overwhelmed orienting themselves in the rugged cascades. In all we would return to the Evergreen in the future.

See you on the trail and remember, don’t be one of “those.”
John Eric

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    28
    33
    24
    48
See reviews for
53
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yelm, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

The beds are uncomfortable, springs through side and into top. Front door has a 1/4 inch bottom gap so outside air comes in - in our case freezing air. Heat is all on or all off. Tv is 19" tube tv. Breakfast was not bad - waffles and oj. Upside was a clean room - downside wasn't able to sleep because the beds were too uncomfortable.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sasha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leavenworth hotels

seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Back in the early 1980s this was a place we always stayed...reasonable rates and right downtown. (We even rented a house from them once for Christmas...it had a clawfoot bathtub and the kiddos loved it.) New places popped up and we moved on to the Icicle Inn for most of our stays. But on a recent sunny Saturday we hopped in the car for a quick day trip, decided the weather was so nice and popped in to the Evergreen to ask if they had a cheap room...They did. The gal at the desk told me since it was a slow weekend she'd let a $75 room in the annex (some houses divided up into rooms) go for $60. The bed was fine, plenty of hot water, a microwave and small fridge, ironing board and iron, hair dryer etc...Parking was on the street right outside the door. In essence, everything we needed for our "impulse buy" getaway...No frills and the breakfast was what you would expect at that price -- waffles, a little fruit, a little yogurt, some instant cereal and overly sweet rolls...but really, $60 for a decently clean and adequately outfitted place in Leavenworth? Definitely a fair price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sistermed1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The name says it all, a Motel not an INN. It is in a good location, down the block from all the shops and restaurants. The Mrs. and the two four legged kids and I stayed in one of the annexes with full kitchen. The appliances were dated but worked (no toaster). It was a midweek stay with not a lot of traffic or problems parking. The outside needs to be re done, paint chipping off the deck and siding, window screens need to be replaced. The door has a 1/4 inch gap when closed, we had to use a towel to keep the cold from getting in. Inside the furniture is dated and with a small tv, the majority of folks don't come to this town to watch tv, there a lot of skiing and other outdoor activities to do. Once the temperature warmed you will notice ants along the doorway. The room was cleaned before we arrived, however dead ants on the second living room window sill was not what I was expecting. Bathroom: no problem with hot water, the ventilation fan worked but was loud. Bedroom: the mattress needs replacing, any time one person moves the whole frame moved. The inn breakfast area we never used, but seems kind of small if you had a lot of people. Desk staff was friendly. Not a bad stay with pets, reasonable pet fees, but you get what you pay for. We have stayed in worse.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smokey Point, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

If you are looking for a room to sleep in, its OK....Beds were very hard and the housekeeping is not the greatest! We found a used band aid on the floor and a half eaten bag of Cheetos under the sink in the bathroom. Had issues with the keys to the room as well, but they made new ones that worked, so props to them. There were lights missing that we were given the bulbs to replace ourselves. Found that strange.....It was nice to have a room with 3 beds and two rooms where the doors closed though so we could put the little ones to bed and shut the door so the adults could stay up without disturbing them.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsullyr92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

A crummy motel. Don't let a stay here ruin your visit to lovely Leavenworth. Here is a long list of problems from my 2-night stay in January 2013.
- No Maid Service: My room was never cleaned during my stay.
- Rude Desk Clerk: I asked the clerk why my room had not been cleaned -- No apology, she just snapped at me: "How should I know, I didn't work yesterday."
- Breakfast is not as promised on the website: No fruit; No yogurt; the "baked-daily" pastries were baked many days ago.
- No WiFi: It did not work in my room (#415), which is in a commercial office building a block away from the reception desk.
- Biker Motel?: A sign stapled to the wall of the bathroom says you'll be fined $25 if you use a towel to clean your motorbike. (Seriously, see photo.)
- Tiny breakfast area: The clerk suggested I use a small tray to carry breakfast back to my room a block away, or, I'm not kidding, she said I could eat it at the table outside -- in 9 degree weather. (See photos.)
- Poor upkeep of room: burned out bulb in overhead light; stains on furniture; the roller for the toilet paper holder was missing so the maid left the roll on the toilet tank.
- Lazy desk clerks: I tried for half an hour to call the reception desk to ask why there was no WiFi. I finally walked all the way back to the desk and found two clerks there who were just chatting away to each other, too lazy to answer the phone.
- Don't be fooled by the website which says this is an "Inn": This is a run-down, 1950's motel. All of the signs on the property call it a motel -- see photo; only the website calls it an inn.
- Odd tipping policy: I've never seen this before. An envelope in the room says "If you'd like to tip your housekeeper, please put your tip in this envelope and bring it to the reception desk where we'll make sure it goes to the right person." Doesn't a tip left in the room go directly to the hard-working housekeeper who just cleaned it? Sounds like management or the lazy desk clerks want a cut.

You can do much better in Leavenworth than this dismal place -- go elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmarilloRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
261 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Just a couple of months ago, we stayed at the Fairmont Pac Rim in Vancouver and enjoyed the premium amenities that a hotel of that caliber has to offer. Evergreen Inn is the exact opposite, but for a winter holiday at Christmas at an affordable price, a large room, very pleasant, personal service and a feeling of stepping back in time, and within walking distance to town, then Evergreen is a good choice.
There are many types of rooms to choose from. We stayed in one of the largest, #51 with a large bath, separate shower, full fridge and microwave in galley kitchen. There was a new flat screen TV and DVD player. We loved having the gas fireplace when we came back from a walk in town or a trip to Icicle to cross country ski.
The room could benefit from additional decorating to make it appeal to more people, but the bed was comfortable and the room clean and quiet. The WiFi worked. The very basic continental breakfast is enough to get one started for the day. It is set up in the lobby and the space is quite small so if you wish, you could take a tray back to your room. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant and went out of their way to get additional information for us. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: speak to the staff when you book your room and choose the best option for your party, length of stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coast_to_coast_250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.3 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
0.5 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#12 of 17 in Leavenworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Der Ritterhof Inn
Der Ritterhof Inn
#11 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Leavenworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Inn

Property: Evergreen Inn
Address: 1117 Front St., Leavenworth, WA 98826-1431
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Evergreen Motel Leavenworth
Evergreen Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing