We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Blackbird Lodge
Tacoma, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We were not sure what to expect having read an assortment of reviews about the property. Let me start by saying that I was very surprised and would totally stay here again! Yes there is construction going on right next door, however it did not disturb our stay in any way. We stayed in the studio unit with a river and mountain view. It was a very large room with a comfortable bed and just the right size room for 2 people. The bathroom was huge. We didn't have a car since we caught the train over from Seattle and used the Leavenworth Shuttle (another great service). We ate the breakfast, which could of been a little better, but it was nice (you make waffles, coffee and fruit cups). The desk staff was pleasant.

Room Tip: We had room 403 - nice view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    20
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We were pleasantly surprised. The room was huge and beautiful. Bed was comfortable and tub fits 2 very easily. The Napoleon Schnitzel at the Baron is the bomb, the little hot sauce shop cost us $$ every time we go. Love all the free samples they offer. We're coming back next year.

Room Tip: Great get away. Eat at the Baron and enjoy the little shops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 52RedAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, WA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

First off, there is lots on construction close to this Inn--and we were warned. However, when we got our unit, there was a man working right outside our window with an electric saw. He said that he would be there for another hour, but would be back the next morning (Saturday)--starting at 8 a.m. We were told that we had thick curtains, and that would give us privacy. Well, who wants to spend the weekend with your thick curtains drawn all weekend listening to an electric saw? The worker said that he told the Inn to not rent out this unit for the weekend--but they did not listen to him. Final straw was that the jacuzzi tub was "out of order". We reserved this unit about 1 year ago. We are extremely disappointed. Needless to say, we cancelled our reservations!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is my one and only stay at the Black Bird. Our room smelled funny like dirty carpets. It faced the hospital in front, a construction site to the right and the public toilets to the left. EWWWW. I might be a little jaded because I'm a WorldMark owner and comparisons being what they are....well let me just say I'm not a Vacation International owner and probably won't be if this is their standard. We couldn't seem to get the air conditioning to operate properly and struggled with two rather uncomfortable days of excessive heat or a freezing room. I don't understand the $50 damage deposit either unless they have had problems with this in the past. Surely the owners would not destroy the property nor, I expect would their guests but then again I'm a WM owner. VI needs to stucture their timeshare model after WorldMark. On the flipside, the sheets were clean, the bathroom was clean and the noise level with doors closed minimal. (A female in the outdoor lounge next door was apparently very unhappy with a significant other named Jeremy because we certainly heard her profanities loud and clear). On a scale of five I would give our August stay a two and that's being generous. Oh and did I mention the parking is two blocks away in a gravel parking lot...so much for convenience when needing something from the car.

Room Tip: Wait until construction next door is done and if you have to stay there pick a top floor room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at The Blackbird Lodge, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We always appreciate any comments from guest and will use the information you discussed to improve our service. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have occurred. Leavenworth has a 55 room hotel under construction next door to the Blackbird Lodge Resort. This construction eliminated our past parking lot so there is a temporary lot set up 2 blocks away. Current construction on the new resort parking lot is underway with plans for completion in October which will return our parking at the resort.
Blackbird is located in the heart of Leavenworth which allows our guest to experience all of the festivities and shops within walking distance. At the same time a convenient city center location will have more noise versus a more rural location. Our damage deposit is refundable upon check-out and is a standard procedure. I appreciate your comments and have passed them on to the resort staff as well.
Leavenworth is a gem of a destination and we hope that you will give it another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at Blackbird through my timeshare...so I had already paid in timeshare points and hefty exchange fees (over $150 for two nights). At check-in, we were charged an additional $75 housekeeping fees because we were staying less than a week, as well as $20 in city hotel tax, and $50 damage deposit on my credit card. Yikes! At the end of our stay, in addition to the hidden housekeeping fees, we were required to take our garbage out to the dumpster. What?!? Seriously?!? Of course we complied...otherwise I was afraid that I would get a charge on that damage deposit. Grrr...
Upon check-in, we were given a room that smelled like a sewer. The girl at the desk acknowledged that the room smelled...she had noticed it that morning. Uh...really?!? Did it occur to anyone to open the windows and try to take care of the problem? With some prodding we were given a different room...but I felt sorry for the last guy to check in that night...I know what room he was getting.
On the plus side, the room we ended up in was truly lovely, and the morning breakfast was a nice surprise. The hotel is a short block to the main street as well as a beautiful park along the river...a perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JacqueBurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JABoughton, VI at The Blackbird Lodge, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for your comments. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to change rooms and we are working to identify the problem which may be occurring due to a construction project on an adjacent property.

It sounds as if your reservation was booked through an exchange company where exchange fees are charged for use of their program in addition to your points. The damage deposit is refundable at check out and the hotel tax is a Washington State law which is unfortunately is high. We do ask our guests to remove the garbage at the end of the stay which assists in expediting the cleaning process and room turn around. This is a common practice in the timeshare industry and we apologize if you were given the impression this was mandatory.

We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the room, as well as the town. We hope that you will give Blackbird Lodge another chance sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed in Leavenworth for a night in early July. Blackbird lodge was located by the Wenatchee river and a stroll away from the main street (Front Street) in Leavenworth. From our spacious studio room, we had a wonderful view of the mountains and the park. The room was clean but the toilet leaked a little whenever we flushed it, which didn't bother us.

The staff was very pleasant. We were able to make our own waffles for breakfast, which was a treat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Although there is construction next door, we have not heard much noise. We were aware of time share atmosphere, and feel our room exceeds any hotel room we might have chosen. Staff pleasant enough and facility is clean and well cared for, will return again..although hope there is parking closer to Lodge at that time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramonabare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 18 in Leavenworth
1,892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#5 of 18 in Leavenworth
1,881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 18 in Leavenworth
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#6 of 18 in Leavenworth
638 reviews
0.6 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.4 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#13 of 18 in Leavenworth
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackbird Lodge

Property: The Blackbird Lodge
Address: 305 8th St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1306
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Blackbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackbird Lodge is a small, European-style lodge that features large studios and one-bedroom suites. These accommodations have gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, private river-view decks in some units, and warm hospitality throughout. Guests in the river-view units enjoy unobstructed views of the Wenatchee River and the Cascade Mountains. Located one block from the many restaurants, art galleries, gift shops and festivals of Leavenworth, 130 miles northeast of Seattle on the sunny Eastern slope of the Cascade Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Blackbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blackbird Hotel Leavenworth
Blackbird Hotel Leavenworth
Blackbird Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing