We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, except for little things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Blackbird Lodge
Tacoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice, except for little things”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I spent an evening at The Blackbird Lodge as a quick weekend getaway. The building itself is wonderful, right downtown and close to shopping and food. The room we were in was large and the bathroom had plenty of space, but that might all be due to us being in the Studio EZ room. The staff was nice, and they even had the football game on in the common room and allowed us to stay after we checked out to watch it.
The little things:
There was no shampoo in the bathroom, just 2 small bars of soap.
The parking lot is cramped and difficult to park in when you are the last vehicle there for the evening. If you have an option, bring a smaller car (we will when we make a summer trip here, we took the truck for possible poor pass conditions).
Small old television in the room. Not like you will be watching a lot of TV in a town like this, but it is still nice to have just in case.
They have an advertisement above the TV talking about movies in the lobby. And those movies are $4.00 each rentals. Thankfully there is wi-if in the room for Netflix on a mobile device.

Overall a pleasant stay and definitely somewhere I will be coming back to probably bring family/friends here for a catch-up vacation.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    20
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I have stayed at Blackbird lodge twice a year for the last four years. We go to Leavenworth in December and July every year. Leavenworth is a wonderful destination with something to do in each season. But you're not interested in the place, you want to hear about the hotel. The people are friendly and helpful and the rooms are very maintained. The best ones are on the 4th floors as they still have a great view of the river and mountains. The other rooms use to have a view but there's a new hotel being built in front of Blackbird which has stolen much of its pristine views. The free breakfast is really just waffles so if you like waffles, you're in luck. The location is perfect right in downtown Leavenworth. Perfect for wine tasting all afternoon and then a nice walk in the riverside park before dinner.

Room Tip: 4th floor as the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellogg, Idaho
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay, comfortable bed, plenty of room for two. We stayed in the studio, queen bed. Was hoping for a mountain view, but the front shops,shoppers were relaxing to watch. Construction on other side of building, but did not bother us. Had small kitchen, dishwasher, microwave, refrigerator. We enjoyed the padded window seat. Friendly service. We did not get up in time for the breakfast, time could be extended for late sleepers, Coffee should be made available during the day instead of only during the waffle/fruit cup breakfast, which ended at 0900. There is a small coffee pot/coffee for one pot in the room. They should at least offer coffee for one pot each morning of your stay! We stayed two nights. As an update, the note slipped under the door the evening before departure does not request garbage to be taken out. Maybe they listened to the previous complaints? Prices are on the higher end, but it is mostly a time share, renting a few rooms out at special rates, which we took advantage of. Convenient location within walking distance to main shops, river hiking trail. Nice group balcony with beautiful mountain, river view!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank naturegirl1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at The Blackbird Lodge, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to the staff, as well as your suggestion regarding extending the breakfast and coffee. Leavenworth is a wonderful town and we are so glad you stayed at Blackbird Lodge. Please come back and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We were not sure what to expect having read an assortment of reviews about the property. Let me start by saying that I was very surprised and would totally stay here again! Yes there is construction going on right next door, however it did not disturb our stay in any way. We stayed in the studio unit with a river and mountain view. It was a very large room with a comfortable bed and just the right size room for 2 people. The bathroom was huge. We didn't have a car since we caught the train over from Seattle and used the Leavenworth Shuttle (another great service). We ate the breakfast, which could of been a little better, but it was nice (you make waffles, coffee and fruit cups). The desk staff was pleasant.

Room Tip: We had room 403 - nice view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We were pleasantly surprised. The room was huge and beautiful. Bed was comfortable and tub fits 2 very easily. The Napoleon Schnitzel at the Baron is the bomb, the little hot sauce shop cost us $$ every time we go. Love all the free samples they offer. We're coming back next year.

Room Tip: Great get away. Eat at the Baron and enjoy the little shops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 52RedAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

First off, there is lots on construction close to this Inn--and we were warned. However, when we got our unit, there was a man working right outside our window with an electric saw. He said that he would be there for another hour, but would be back the next morning (Saturday)--starting at 8 a.m. We were told that we had thick curtains, and that would give us privacy. Well, who wants to spend the weekend with your thick curtains drawn all weekend listening to an electric saw? The worker said that he told the Inn to not rent out this unit for the weekend--but they did not listen to him. Final straw was that the jacuzzi tub was "out of order". We reserved this unit about 1 year ago. We are extremely disappointed. Needless to say, we cancelled our reservations!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is my one and only stay at the Black Bird. Our room smelled funny like dirty carpets. It faced the hospital in front, a construction site to the right and the public toilets to the left. EWWWW. I might be a little jaded because I'm a WorldMark owner and comparisons being what they are....well let me just say I'm not a Vacation International owner and probably won't be if this is their standard. We couldn't seem to get the air conditioning to operate properly and struggled with two rather uncomfortable days of excessive heat or a freezing room. I don't understand the $50 damage deposit either unless they have had problems with this in the past. Surely the owners would not destroy the property nor, I expect would their guests but then again I'm a WM owner. VI needs to stucture their timeshare model after WorldMark. On the flipside, the sheets were clean, the bathroom was clean and the noise level with doors closed minimal. (A female in the outdoor lounge next door was apparently very unhappy with a significant other named Jeremy because we certainly heard her profanities loud and clear). On a scale of five I would give our August stay a two and that's being generous. Oh and did I mention the parking is two blocks away in a gravel parking lot...so much for convenience when needing something from the car.

Room Tip: Wait until construction next door is done and if you have to stay there pick a top floor room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at The Blackbird Lodge, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We always appreciate any comments from guest and will use the information you discussed to improve our service. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have occurred. Leavenworth has a 55 room hotel under construction next door to the Blackbird Lodge Resort. This construction eliminated our past parking lot so there is a temporary lot set up 2 blocks away. Current construction on the new resort parking lot is underway with plans for completion in October which will return our parking at the resort.
Blackbird is located in the heart of Leavenworth which allows our guest to experience all of the festivities and shops within walking distance. At the same time a convenient city center location will have more noise versus a more rural location. Our damage deposit is refundable upon check-out and is a standard procedure. I appreciate your comments and have passed them on to the resort staff as well.
Leavenworth is a gem of a destination and we hope that you will give it another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.4 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#13 of 17 in Leavenworth
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#5 of 17 in Leavenworth
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackbird Lodge

Property: The Blackbird Lodge
Address: 305 8th St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1306
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Blackbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackbird Lodge is a small, European-style lodge that features large studios and one-bedroom suites. These accommodations have gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, private river-view decks in some units, and warm hospitality throughout. Guests in the river-view units enjoy unobstructed views of the Wenatchee River and the Cascade Mountains. Located one block from the many restaurants, art galleries, gift shops and festivals of Leavenworth, 130 miles northeast of Seattle on the sunny Eastern slope of the Cascade Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Blackbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blackbird Hotel Leavenworth
Blackbird Hotel Leavenworth
Blackbird Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing