We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beware- no longer a hotel but a timeshare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Blackbird Lodge
Federal Way, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beware- no longer a hotel but a timeshare”
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Beware that since VI took over the Blackbird as a time share it is not run like a hotel. This was quite a surprise for us. Although we had paid in advance for our room, we charged a $50 damage deposit, there is no maid service, they only provide coffe in the room for the first day (more is a dollar a bag), they provide soap and kleenex, but no shampoo or lotions, the bathroom did not have any heat and is all tile, there is not door on the shower, you are asked to take out you own garbage before you leave, there is an inventory sheet for you to go over when you get there to make sure everything is there when you leave, the breakfast is in the lobby and consists of waffles, instand oatmeal, fruit cups, coffee/hot water, and a toaster (no bread). The lobby is only open from 8:00 AM until 6:00 PM. So if you need anything after that time, you are out of luck. Wireless is $5.00 per day. We thought we were getting a queen bed, with a fireplace and balcony over the river. What we got was a king bed, no fireplace, a window over the town and hospital (the Christmas Lights were nice), and we were able to hear everything that was going on in the hall and directly next door. The rooms are nice and the staff is nice, so if you are not expecting a "hotel" type visit, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KJNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    20
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, IDaho, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We reserved a room for two and after driving 8 hours to get there at check-in the girl at the desk swipped our credit card to charge us for the room, then said "unfortunately, the reservation is for two, and your 7 month old baby counts as a 3rd person, so I can't give you a key." We said fine, lame policy, but refund our money and we'll leave. "unfortunately, i'm not authorized to reverse credit card transactions." We were livid. We paid a $50 over occupancy fee to stay the night and talk to the manager the next morning. It turns out their policy really is to charge people and not refund their money. Jolene Polly, the manager, was unbelievably unhelpful and unsympathetic to the situation. I guess business must be good if they can treat their customers like that. Oh and a side note...the ice machine was broken, and the so called continental breakfast was a broken waffle maker and a dole fruit cup. LUXURY! We could have sneaked out baby around the whole time and acted like there were only two of us, but please, we're on VACATION. How many weeks do you get a year? Horrible experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank sihines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

The rooms were clean and neat and the service was excellent. The hotel is located in a perfect location right off the main street within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. For a studio room, we thought that it would be small, but it was larger than we expected. We will definitely return to this hotel for a little getaway!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGilmore4100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

We discovered this little gem of a town last December, came back this year and will be back in 2009. The lodge is a great place to stay. The staff is always friendly and helpful, the rooms are always clean and in good shape, and you can't beat the location! It sits right off main street so we arrive, park the car, and then walk everywhere. If don't care to walk they have a great trolley service that will get you all around town. No matter what side of the hotel they put you on you have a great view. Either you see town and all the lights and mountains in the background, or you have the river and mountains at the back of the lodge. We have stayed in front and back and have never had an issue with any noise. Breakfast is do it yourself belgian waffles, yogurt/granola parfaits, and oatmeal. The do have juice and coffee too. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyrockoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2009

We planned a week long snowmobiling vacation at Blackbird several months in advance. On their list of activities snowmobiling was listed. Upon our arrival (two pickups with snowmobile trailers) we were informed we could not park our trucks in their parking lot. The streets in front are signed "no overnight parking". The lot was basicly empty (one other pickup). We asked haw many other guests were expected at the hotel during our stay. They said eight. There would have been plenty of room. The front desk staff was cold and inflexible. Her only suggestion was to park several blocks away where we could not watch our equipment. All other hotels were booked. We had to leave. They ruined our vacation.

Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Blackbird_Sucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2008

Beautiful!
Loved It!
A+

The rooms are large and luxurious!!! Best Place I've found in Leavenworth!

  • Liked — The Room
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foodcritic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

The location is excellent. It is only a block away from downtown Leavenworth. We have a very nice Jacuzzi tub in our unit. The tub is built for two. We have a fireplace in our bedroom and a nice kitchen. We have friends that are next door in a lock off studio. Our kitchen is well arranged with a small dishwasher and under the counter refrigerator. The stove is a new flat top two burner unit (The studio does not have a stove). They have a friendly staff that provides a breakfast in the lobby every morning. Our bedroom has a gas fireplace and the studio also has a fireplace.

Our room is on the front of the lodge but if you have one on the back of the lodge you also have a nice view of the river and Blackbird island.

All rooms are not the same and they are remodeling some of the rooms so do check prior to reserving so you get what you want in a room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not all units are the same so you do have to check to be sure you have what you want in a unit.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank jrcOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#5 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Linderhof Inn
Linderhof Inn
#7 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#12 of 17 in Leavenworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackbird Lodge

Property: The Blackbird Lodge
Address: 305 8th St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1306
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Blackbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackbird Lodge is a small, European-style lodge that features large studios and one-bedroom suites. These accommodations have gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, private river-view decks in some units, and warm hospitality throughout. Guests in the river-view units enjoy unobstructed views of the Wenatchee River and the Cascade Mountains. Located one block from the many restaurants, art galleries, gift shops and festivals of Leavenworth, 130 miles northeast of Seattle on the sunny Eastern slope of the Cascade Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Blackbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blackbird Hotel Leavenworth
Blackbird Hotel Leavenworth
Blackbird Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing