We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rob Roy vs Roy Rogers”

Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 93 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Price range: US$20 - US$43
Cuisines: Healthy, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy. 2
Transit: Stops A Coulomb Tech CT2103 charging station is available to overnight guests of the resort on a complimentary basis. Visitors to the local area are also able to use the station, with a reservation via a special ChargePass™ card for a nominal fee of $1 per hour.
Description: Features gourmet meals created with the freshest local ingredients, many from Sleeping Lady's own two-acre organic garden. Meals are chef's choice and are served buffet style in Kingfisher's lodge-style setting which features exposed wood beams, river rock, and sweeping views of Icicle Canyon. European-style seating encourages interaction among guests. In the summer months, the terrace and the creek side meadow are available for outdoor seating. An extensive beer and wine list highlights local favorites and compliments the menu, which changes daily. Seasonal specialty drinks are also available.
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was our first time to this buffett style restaurant. Nice salad and dessert bars and four choices of entrees. But the highlight (or low light) came when after my husband ordered a Manhatten and I ordered a Rob Roy, explaining it was similar to the Manhatten but made with Scotch. He got his Manhatten and I got a cherry coke "Roy Rogers"! It was good for a laugh and they did make it right but still.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steveandjody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkhels, General Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your comments. I appreciate that you were able to see the humor in the situation but I apologize for the mistake.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and again we appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,
Paula Helsel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

we have been travelling oregon, washington and wyoming over the last four weeks.
in that time we visited at least 35 restaurants and Kingfisher restaurant and wine bar is way above everything else we tried.

enormous salad bar and desert bar, food was very tasty en healthy as well. they use lots of organic products. staff are extremely friendly,

building has the grandeur of same of the old stately restaurants you find in Yellowstone and Grand Teton.

The location of the restaurant is lovely, located on the edge of the forest on a creek with a beautiful resort around it.

for europeans travelling, this is the kind of food you have been looking for.
the price is above the average restaurant, but it is worth every cent of it.

go for it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AdrianBol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkhels, General Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

I so appreciate your wonderful comments and I am delighted you had such a good dining experience with us at Kingfisher Restaurant.

We take pride in serving fresh, healthful dining and it is so rewarding when we hear comments such as your.

Thank you again,

Paula Helsel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

It's wonderful to walk the grounds before and after dinner. Reserve a table outside in advance because the scenery is ideal. It's a buffet, so come hungry and get your exercise in before dinner. Food is delicious and the wine list is solid.

Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkhels, General Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

I am delighted you enjoyed your meal and time spent at Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort. We value feedback from our guests whether is an area of improvement or people that had a great experience such as yours!

Thank you,
Paula Helsel
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

If you like under-cooked fish, nearly raw stringbeans complete with stems, eggplant stew and little else ---- at $45 per plate--- this is the place for you.

Unfortunately this is what you get when you take the Sleeping Lady package deal. The resort is beautiful but the Kingfisher ruins the experience.

But to be fair, the coffee was GREAT!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank grizzlygiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkhels, General Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your disappointing meal in the Kingfisher Restaurant. Feedback from our guests in invaluable and I apologize the meal was lacking for you. We will use these comments to assist our culinary department to investigate problems in this area. Sleeping Lady is renowned for our dining experience and I regret to hear that your experience was so poor.

Thank you,
Paula Helsel

gM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Very expensive and the only dinner option at the resort unless you want pizza through room service, which would be OK for one night, but now a lot more. Food is simply prepared, not very adventuresome, but very fresh. Great emphasis on vegetables, Vegans and vegetarians would be very gratified here.

Thank Maralina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkhels, General Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our resort. It is so helpful to get feedback from our guests and we use this information to continually strive to improve our guests experience.

Again, we appreciate your comments and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing