We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at Sleeping Lady”

Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 89 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Price range: US$19 - US$42
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy. 2
Transit: Stops A Coulomb Tech CT2103 charging station is available to overnight guests of the resort on a complimentary basis. Visitors to the local area are also able to use the station, with a reservation via a special ChargePass™ card for a nominal fee of $1 per hour.
Description: Features gourmet meals created with the freshest local ingredients, many from Sleeping Lady's own two-acre organic garden. Meals are chef's choice and are served buffet style in Kingfisher's lodge-style setting which features exposed wood beams, river rock, and sweeping views of Icicle Canyon. European-style seating encourages interaction among guests. In the summer months, the terrace and the creek side meadow are available for outdoor seating. An extensive beer and wine list highlights local favorites and compliments the menu, which changes daily. Seasonal specialty drinks are also available.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
169 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food at Sleeping Lady”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A choice of red meat, fish or chicken, and vegetable dishes at every meal. Great local fruits, delicious desserts. Sumptuous breakfasts!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkhels, General Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Paula Helsel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    16
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellence - always!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've been coming to Sleeping Lady for many, many years, and have always had a great experience - the excellent food is definitely a part of it. The Kingfisher is just beautiful and so natural with big open beams and a very tasteful ambience. The food is simply top-notch - and there's plenty of it! Dinner this weekend brought a fantastic salmon with romesco sauce and an incredibly flavorly bison roast. All the sides are meticulously prepared and delicious; so is the very generous salad bar. I was not able to sample everything as the selection was so large! Great desserts with gluten-free options. Brunch was just as delicious and with great variety as well. You cannot go wrong with Kingfisher. It is not cheap but the quality, variety and quantity more than justify the price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tigressj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkhels, General Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We so appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about Kingfisher Restaurant. I'm also delighted to hear you have been returning for so many years. We appreciate all of our guests but we so recognize our old ad dear friends! I would love the opportunity to serve you again and again in the future!

Sincerely,

Paula Helsel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
2 reviews
“The salmon was amazing!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Tonight's.sockeye salmon with Romesco Sauce was so outstanding our group of six just couldn't stop raving! The food is always outstanding at this restaurant but tonight, it was beyond delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkhels, General Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Our Executive Chef and culinary team were delighted to get your comments about the sockeye salmon. I appreciate your sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paula Helsel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OMG - "Off the Charts Amazing!"”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Been here for a week...just like every year because there is no such food experience like this in the world. The Kingfisher is ridiculously amazing. Besides the unique, original flavors and natural and fresh ingredients...the overall combination of food and presentation is off the charts amazing. Tonight (my 5th dinner in a row) was the best of the best. Each night I walk out saying "It couldn't be any better." But, guess what? Tonight was the best. I consider myself a salmon snob after many trips to Alaska and growing up in the Puget Sound. However, tonight's salmon was the best salmon I've ever had. Period. When I say best...I mean best. You will not find a salmon recipe like this anywhere. I've never posted a review about a restaurant...until tonight. Amazing!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkhels, General Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Wow! What a compliment to our Culinary Department and I know they certainly appreciate your comments. Thank you for sharing your experience. We do hope to see you again and thank you for being our guest.

Sincerely,

Paula Helsel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
338 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent meals in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The meals are served buffet style with the food being of gourmet quality. Many of the vegetables are grown on the property's organic garden. We had breakfast and dinner there which were included in our room rate at the Sleeping Lady Resort. For breakfast, there are enough choices to keep one fueled for the day. The dinner offers a variety of vegetarian, fish, and meat choices. The dessert selection is also amazing. The staff are also very friendly and professional.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MOG808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pkhels, General Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We so appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience at Kingfisher Restaurant. It helps the entire team to hear directly from the guests. I'm delighted you had such a good experience.

We hope to serve you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Paula Helsel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Kingfisher Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing