We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Leavenworth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Leavenworth
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Northwest WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

Yes, we had a place to sleep and we're grateful, but the price for this hotel was considerably high for what we received. This is a very old hotel which has seen better days. It was obvious that the bathrooms had a make-over but the carpet was really gross, the busted plastic covering to the A/C unit on the wall was just placed next to it, not on it and the clerks were nothing like the in-room, laminated letter say they were. The employees are supposed to be "personable, warm, inviting and make you feel welcome." That's a stretch. They did their jobs but with no smiles, or any noticable personality. That's fine, I guess, but HoJo shouldn't "sell" that service if they're clearly not going to deliver it.
We wouldn't stay again , mostly because of the outrageous price, but one night is doable.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    160
    119
    60
    43
See reviews for
160
182
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SEA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

I needed somewhere to stay in Leavenworth that wasn't way expensive. I found a deal for Howard Johnsons, Leavenworth online. I paid $103.00 (before tax) for a Saturday night in June. The price alone was pretty good for the location. Afterwards I looked at tripadvisor and saw all the bad comments. I got a little concerned but figured it was only for one night.

The hotel was great. I liked the location (a little past town). Check in was a breeze and the guy at the front desk very helpful. After we got to our room we received a call from the front desk asking if our room was satisfactory.

I don't know if they made changes based on the negative reviews but the room was very nice. Clean, lots of pillows, nice bedding and the bathroom was quite nice, clean and nice toiletries.

Our room had a couch and desk as well as refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Breakfast was a hot breakfast with waffles, biscuits and gravy, fruits, cereals and pastries. It was pretty nice for a continental breakfast.

All in all a very nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karbop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuPont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

If you want to stay safe, don't stay here! We just stayed and when are smoke detector started going off and they couldn't figure out why they just disconnected it and suggested we move to a different room. When I asked for a refund so we could check out early they denied it. There were two rooms that were having smoke detector problems so that is two rooms where they were disconnected. (that is just the ones we know of). If you wish to stay safe, stay else where. P.S. the same people own the Quality Inn in Leavenworth.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mimitraveler92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leavenworth hotels

Sultan, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

You can ask any of my friends - I'm just not that picky (and some of them are!) But,,,,,,,,,
I just stayed with six of my friends at this Howard Johnson for two nights in Leavenworth and it was awful! The air conditioning didn't work (they tried but couldn't fix it), power went out twice in both rooms (the breakers blew when we used hair dryers at the same time-in both rooms!), pool area/tables/chairs were so filthy we had to clean them because "no one else was available to do it", they said. We were shown where we could get towels and said to wet them in the pool,,,, We left a nice tip the first night, asking please to have enough towels/glasses, etc. for the following day. We got the towels, but the coffee pot was left dirty and no new glasses, coffee/tea/sugar and barely cleaned but did make the beds. The beds appeared comfy but none of us slept very well in them, however, that could have been in part to the sounds of traffic. We needed the windows open because the air conditioning wasn't working. This is a small, quaint town and it sounded like a freeway outside (with no freeway for hundreds of miles) and the speed limit is 35mph - just a lousy building that needs some updating. We will never stay here again and would have liked a partial refund however we were told they wouldn't do it because we booked through Expedia and we had to take that up with them. They implied that they might have been able to reimburse in some way if we'd booked directly through them,,,,,what's up with that?

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prinsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

If it weren't for the most likeable front desk agent - I might have ran from this place. If all you want to do is sleep (with Hwy 2) about 20 feet from your window, this is the place. The exterior is VERY tired, the pool is about 8' by 20' with a cedar fence between it and Hwy 2, tired patio furniture, tired office with minimal continental breakfast. The price is all I wanted to pay for an overnight in Leavenworth - DO NOT STAY HERE ANY LONGER THAN THAT! I travel a lot, and the room was clean - the pillows were some wierd material that was like sleeping with your head on a beachball. Not for seniors - quite a hike to downtown. They are also ripping up streets and sidewalks downtown to make improvements. We will not be back until we can book the Enzian Inn and the renovations to downtown are complete.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Krusty_pops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2008

We have just returned from a trip to Leavensworth Washington where we enjoyed the Maie Fest Activities. We cannot say the same for the Howard Johnson Express Inn. Stay anywhere but here. Very, Very Noisy. Doors opening and closing at all hours, toilets flushing; showers running; banging on walls and floors; people running around. It was a very tiring stay for us. We could not have a proper shower, the water would go from Hot to Icy Cold instantly and unexpectantly. The bath had a thin foam mat Half Glued to the bottom, so we did not want to bath, who could know what might be caught underneath. Our view was out onto an alga and vegetation filled pool, whose surrounding area needed much work. (pls note that we checked and other hotels/motels had their pools up , cleaned and running.). This is a very old building desperately in need of a renovation. Not as nice as the computer pics, ( which is what prompted us to book here in the first place.)

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — general state of repair and lack of sound proofing.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sailaway4245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton, WA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2008

We stayed at the HoJo in Leavenworth during MaiFest weekend and only paid 71.99 (plus tax). We booked through the HoJo website and used my AAA discount. It was quick and easy to book online even just 5 hours before we arrived at the hotel. We arrived at about 5pm and they had the room ready and my paperwork ready to be signed. The room was HUGE compared to other hotels I've recently stayed in. It had two queen beds, a small couch, coffee table, tv and shelf, desk, mini fridge, and microwave. The bathroom was equally huge. The hotel had free wireless internet which was very easy to connect to and worked great and continental breakfast.
While the rooms weren't real fancy they were more than expected for 70 dollars.
The only thing the hotel was lacking in was the continental breakfast. It had breads for toast, pastries, biscuits and gravy, waffles, cold cereal, oatmeal packets, coffee and orange juice, but it was lacking in healthy options like fruit! A nice apple or orange sure would of been nice, but oh well.
Also, while the hotel is not directly in the middle of town, it is totally close enough to walk from the hotel to "downtown" Leavenworth, which makes it really nice since parking can be tough on weekends where they have events going on.

Overall it was above average and I will definitely try to stay there next time I go to Leavenworth.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsyrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.5 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#12 of 17 in Leavenworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Der Ritterhof Inn
Der Ritterhof Inn
#11 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#5 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.3 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Leavenworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Leavenworth

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Leavenworth
Address: 405 W US Highway 2, Leavenworth, WA 98826-9342
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Leavenworth 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Leavenworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Leavenworth Hotel Leavenworth
Howard Johnson Leavenworth
Leavenworth Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing