We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't Be Back”
Review of Silvara Vineyards

Silvara Vineyards
Ranked #9 of 47 things to do in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With the beauty and majesty of the Cascade Mountain foothills as the backdrop for your experience at Silvara, it only takes a second for the stress of the outside world to leave you as you arrive. That's what owner and winemaker, Gary Seidler, saw when he decided to create his winery in this serene location. In the white of winter, as green takes over in the spring, or in the summertime with the wildflowers in full bloom, the crackle coming from stone fireplaces that frame our great-room, tasting room and outdoor patio say relax. Catch a live band outside in summer while you enjoy one of our cheese platters. Arrange a private tasting event. Or, plan to attend one of our gourmet winemaker dinners, offering a mouth-wowing food and wine pairing experience. We think you'll agree that Silvara Vineyards in Leavenworth is the perfect location for tasting award-winning wines that are smooth, bold and expressive and enjoying events that are truly personalized to your signature taste.
Lake Tapps
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Won't Be Back”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Nice Setting, but wines just OK. Staff wasn't very welcoming and did not seem to enjoy serving us. We were the only ones there at the time. Maybe that says something?

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank nwfireguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvara V, Manager at Silvara Vineyards, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We are very sorry to hear you didn't have a pleasant experience on you last visit to Silvara. We hope you will come again and give us another chance to serve you. We do strive to give all our customers the best greetings and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    5
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible experience!!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

First time I have been let down by a Trip Advisor review. In fact, this was such a horrible experience its the first time I have felt compelled to write a negative review due to the rude and possibly racist behavior. Based on previous reviews and its bucolic setting I chose to take my guests to Silvara Vineyards. We arrived Monday around 1 pm to an empty parking lot. We thought maybe it was closed, but the sign said they were open. We entered and found the space empty of people except a lone lady behind the counter. She was on a computer and on entering she offered no greeting, just looked up at us and glared as if we were disturbing her. We should have taken her rudeness as a warning and left, but we had taken the time to travel the from Leavenworth and the setting was nice so we naively stayed. When we walked up to the counter with a look of annoyance the lady got off her seat and came over to us. Again, she offered no greeting nor gave us any information on the winery. When we enquired about wine tasting her response was only “its $5 dollars per person” as if we were a bunch of freeloaders and that small price would send us packing. Foolishly we said yes, and though the room was empty with many tables and couches by the fire she did not offer us a seat to be more comfortable, but just placed our glasses on the counter where we were standing. Again, she never asked if we were familiar with the winery or gave us any background information, just handed us a paper with the wine information and began pouring or more accurately drizzling. I can only imagine the winery must be suffering from financial hardship, because the amount she poured was barely enough for one small sip. I have been to wineries all over the world and have never seen such a small amount poured. My guests were from Japan and would like to have bought a bottle to bring home but were so offended by the employees rudeness they refused. In full disclosure, we did have 2 small children with us but they were behaved and the sign out front said children were welcomed if accompanied by parents. Unfortunately, being short on time this was the only winery we had time to visit so could not try the other more convenient and friendlier tasting rooms I have been to in Leavenworth. We were in Leavenworth for 2 days and everyone from our hotel to the many shops and restaurants we visited were exceptionally hospitable, warm, friendly and to us which made the rude and inhospitable behavior we experienced at Silvara Winery all the more shocking. We look forward to returning to Leavenworth but not being masochist will avoid Silvara Winery.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvara V, Owner at Silvara Vineyards, responded to this review, 8 April 2017
Thank you for such an honest review of your experience, Brian A. While it’s been quite a while since you had such a negative experience in our winery, we still wanted to follow up to let you know about the changes we’ve made in our tasting room. We strive to make exceptional wines, and we believe the experience we offer in our tasting room should be just as exceptional. Since your visit, we’ve hired a new General Manager, replacing the employee who poorly served you. Arieca, our new GM, shares our philosophy that our guests’ experience is of primary importance, because they are exactly who we make wine for. Since she joined us last year, she has proven herself time after time, and we’re glad to have her. We’re confident that none of our guests will again receive the poor service that you experienced during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

If you are looking for a wide varieties of wines - this is not your place. If you are looking for some carefully crafted wines which have just been released and are unique to this winery - then you are in the right place. Silvara does not mass produce their wines and their distribution is limited - which makes it even more of a wonderful find. The staff is excellent - and they gave us the locations of two other wineries. Did I mention that their wines were wonderful? The facility is large, well appointed and has cheese and crackers available for sale. You could spend as little as a half hour - or a whole afternoon here, and you would not be disappointed. Go - it is worth your time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank djude1148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Spent a fantastic afternoon here”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

One thing my husband and I love to do is find a nice winery and share a bottle of wine with a meat/cheese platter and just sit out on the patio. At Silvara vineyards, this is just the perfect place to have such the afternoon.
We visited on an August Monday afternoon so it was quite slow. Only one staff member but her service was fantastic and we were in no rush.
I would recommend this place. And if you're visiting Leavenworth...which only took us 1/2 day to browse through the quaint town, this is a great place to wind up afterwards.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very good Chenin Blanc”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We sampled the wines, enjoyed the Chenin Blanc the most. We sat out in front enjoying our wine and a smoked cheddar. We bought two bottles of the Chenin Blanc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverIslanders41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silvara Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Silvara Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing