We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpen Rose - a bit of a disappointment”
Review of Alpen Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpen Rose Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, OH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Alpen Rose - a bit of a disappointment”
Reviewed 24 February 2005

I think I had set my expectations too high after reading reviews on this forum. The hotel was scrupulously clean - no question about that and the staff very helpful. But I was a little disappointed with the rooms. Decor was slightly outdated and furniture was of lower quality than I had expected. A few too many cutesy touches for my taste - just not the luxurious room that I had expected. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was good - not over the top wonderful but definitely adequate. Not sure if this was a great value - we paid $120 for a king size bed with fireplace mid week. I know we could have stayed at Best Western Icicle or Enzian for less money.

Leavenworth is in a beautiful area. We enjoyed driving through Tumwater Canyon as well as going to the nearby state park. We had a nice time and would probably stay again but if you are expecting luxuriously furnished rooms, this is probably not the place.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sieburgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    184
    36
    14
    4
See reviews for
171
516
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 October 2004

The Alpen Rose is the such a delight! So clean, quiet and peaceful, delicious breakfasts and desserts, and best of all, charming and friendly staff to welcome you and make your stay so enjoyable. We highly recommend this little European Inn, and hope you too can stay at least 3 days to enjoy all the amenities. We'll certainly be back!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 July 2004

We lived overseas in Europe for two years and had the opportunity to visit Bavaria several times. Since we couldn't get back to Germany, we opted for Leavenworth. The Alpen Rose and Leavenworth really have a nice Bavarian feel. Beautiful grounds. Quiet and peaceful.......and loved the suite! Highly recommend for couples who want a nice getaway.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 April 2004

I discovered the Alpenrose quite by accident. Everything else was full and I was directed to this inn. After staying here once, there was no question in my mind that a return trip to Leavenworth would have me staying here again. That was eight years ago. My friend and I stay here three to four times a year. We have a favorite room and are able to reserve it most of the time that we return. We feel like part of the family of the Alpenrose because we have always been made to feel so welcome. Breakfast and dessert are scrumptious, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the inn is located close enough to the main part of town that it is an easy walk for shopping or meals, but off the highway so there is no traffic noise. If you discover the back way out of the yard, Enchantment Park and the trails along the river are very close.

For the summer theater season, the owners graciously order our tickets and get us the best possible seats for the price we want to pay.

This is the absolute best place in Leavenworth to stay.

I do not believe there is a better place in

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 April 2004

The Alpen Rose Inn is truly "home away from home". We stay there 3 or 4 times a year for either 2 or 3 nights at a time. We feel like we're part of the Alpen Rose family. When we walk into the Inn it's like being home without all the stresses and responsibilities. The owners and staff have put their hearts into making the Alpen Rose Inn by far the best place to stay in Leavenworth, with wonderful breakfasts and desserts, beautiful rooms and warm, gracious hospitality. Why stay anywhere else in Leavenworth when we've already discovered the best!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2004

EXCELLENT - not the most inexpensive place to stay, but well worth every penny! We have stayed in many different places in Levenworth. One stay at the AlpenRose and we were hooked. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. They will even let you choose your room. There's a VCR in each room with a good selection of video's. It is a very quiet and relaxing place to stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the Inn is impecable. The breakfasts were always tasty and we especially enjoyed the evening deserts - just make sure you don't eat too much for dinner! It is a perfect blend of Inn and Bed and Breakfast. Stay and enjoy . . . B&K

  • Stayed February 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bid Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 July 2003

This is a great place to stay. Warm and friendly. The rooms are spacious and very nicely decorated.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.8 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,836 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,849 reviews
0.5 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.3 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#13 of 17 in Leavenworth
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Linderhof Inn
Linderhof Inn
#5 of 17 in Leavenworth
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Rose Inn

Property: Alpen Rose Inn
Address: 500 Alpine Pl, Leavenworth, WA 98826-9384
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpen Rose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpen Rose Inn is a beautiful Bavarian style Inn in the Bavarian Village of Leavenworth, WA The Inn has 15 gracious rooms, most with fireplaces and some with balconies, and 2 Condo units with one or two bedrooms. The Inn rooms include our full hot breakfast, evening dessert and coffee/tea service delivered to your room each morning. Enjoy the seasonal pool in a beautiful garden setting or the outdoor hot tub open year around. Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Alpen Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpen Rose Hotel Leavenworth
Alpen Rose Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing