We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel stay ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bavarian Ritz Hotel
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Leavenworth
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Every year a large group of friends and family go to leavenworth for the christmas lighting festival. We decided to stay and the Bavarian Ritz for the first time this last winter because it was in town and less walking for the young kids. That was the ONLY convenient thing of this hotel. The rooms were dirty (inch of dust on the curtains), remotes dont work, hot water was minimal, the window outside of my shower was disturbing, the walls to the bathroom didn't even go to the ceiling... so it was pretty much a bathroom stall. Worst part was the live blues band playing directly under us that stayed loud all the way till 2 am. Kept everyone awake including our young childeren... whom slept on a floor of pillows due to the utter lack of principle and care from the hotel staff. We booked the queen jacuzzi suite... which was to include a couch with pull out bed for our daughter. this was clearly not included, our refridgerator was so small we couldnt even fit ANY food we brought, our coffee pot brewed ONE cup of coffee. For paying over 500 I feel scammed and ripped off. Politely informing the front desk our unsatisfaction in the first ten minutes... I was rudely told I misunderstand and this is not thier problem. I hate the Bavarian Ritz and the staff that did not respect or take care of us. Never go Here! Its a rip off!

Room Tip: Dont ever book here. You wont get any sleep unless you want to listen to poor kareoke from drunks al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shayla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

We go to Leavenworth every year with another family. This time, we decided to stay at the Bravarian Ritz hotel. We choose it because it looked nice and location.

We checked in, but the room was not ready (it was early) so we walked around, had lunch and et cetera. Later we went to unload out bags. This queen Jacuzzi room was the same size as all the base room except a long hallway and a bath tub that was slightly larger than a normal tub with some Jacuzzi jets. We were disappointed. Maybe a 'lets not go back here' disappointment but that's all.

Later, after dinner and drinks. We decide to head to our room to play some cards and hang out with the other family. Whelp, the music below was so loud that it was vibrating everything. It was Karaoke night or something. Yes, this room was right above a bar... Good to know. I went down to complain and he said it was only till 10. I should have raised hell then but decided that we could talk over it. Well. 10 comes and goes, I call (since they close the front office early) and the manager said he would call the bar. He then calls back and says that the band was done a while ago. Yes, it went from a rumble to a boom boom car sound and that would be going much later...

They finally turn it down to a point where you could ignore it if you turned a fan on and tried to not hear it. The bead was also rock hard and the pillows were as comfortable as a folded towel.

After waking up a dozen or so times, we get up for good only to find that the shower doesn't work. Not as in broken but disconnected. Bath only. I went to talk to the manager and after threats to contact the BBB he gave me a whole $39 off. A $190 to $150 for a MISERABLE evening, night and morning.

Oh, we also found a skirt under the chair... Cleaning was apparently surface only. We're also not old farts. We're early 30's with kids. We can handle noise.

Room Tip: All I can say is do not get the Queen Jacuzzi. It's Directly above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jayson182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

After checking online for reviews and prices, we made reservations for a weeknight stay here; and although there had been negative comments, we were pleasantly surprised to find the room comfortable, clean, and conveniently located. We were close to everything but not right in the middle of the main business district. Check-in was friendly, quick and efficient. Our end room was quiet and included not just a coffee maker but also a microwave and toaster. Coffee was also available in the upstairs hall near comfortable seating. We even appreciated the ease of access to the internet via the free wifi. The only drawback was the lack of a simple continental breakfast since local bakeries and restaurants didn't open until 9 a.m. We still believe this was a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here because we checked the reviews on our cells phones and it rated quite high in comparison to the surrounding hotels. The location was great. To our surprise, the hotel was the dirtiest and most run down hotel we have ever stayed in. The vents were filthy, there was dirt build up around the carpet edges, the carpets were stained and the whole hotel smelled dirty. The hotel was listed online as being mid-priced. I would really hate to see what the low priced hotels look like. We spent the next three nights in a rental home.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before you pay. They have a no refund policy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RachelFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My boyfriend surprised me with a gift certificate for a night at this hotel and I was looking forward to it for months! The owner/manager called us constantly for updates as to when we were going to arrive and the front lobby was closed when we got there! We had to wait 15 minutes for someone to show up to give us our key. We were not so pleasantly surprised to find a USED CONDOM NEXT TO THE TRASH CAN!!!!! The shower was the nicest part of the room...we went to sleep and then left early in the morning. The owner/manager completely denied that his housekeeping staff would have missed that condom, basically blaming us. Also, the website mentioned NOTHING of a mandatory two-night stay when my boyfriend bought the gift certificate for one night. This place was the biggest pain in the butt for us and we will never ever stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hamagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stopped by on a summer weekday without reservations. I had checked several Leavenworth hotel websites, so I knew about the prices and that rooms were available. This one was one of the cheapest, especially when located right downtown. We were offered to upgrade to a room with a view, which we did. But I don't know whether it much matters whether you overlook the street, the trees, or another building. We don't spend much time in our rooms. But we did enjoy sitting on the deck. Not a pretty deck, but not scary either. The chairs were comfortable enough to sit back with a good book and bottle of wine and enjoy the river sounds and the mountain view.

The hotel is definitely older and the colors/decor was dated, but everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable for me. (Too soft for hubby.) We had coffee and tea in the hallway always available, which was nice. The room was not large, but had the requisite microwave, tiny fridge, ironing board, and hair dryer. It also had a fake fireplace in the window - funky. (As it was 95 degrees that day - we didn't check it out much!) There was ice available, but you had to get it from the front desk. Having a part time desk clerk is unusual in this day and age. And that meant no ice in the morning. But for the price of the room, I could afford to get some ice elsewhere.

The location, for the price, was not something I found elsewhere. The hotel is right on one end of the downtown area, so we could walk to all the touristy shops and restaurants. They also had their own parking lot, which would be good during busy times.

The hotel also gave us the courtesy of trying to reach us before leaving town to tell us we left a t-shirt behind. That was a nice touch.

Room Tip: The street view is probably wonderful at Christmas, but could be noisy the rest of the year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OSUGrad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

They offer many different room types and if you pay attention it is exactly what they advertise. Very friendly accomodating staff, room was what we expected and other than uncomfortable pillows we got exactly what we expected. We choose the value room with no view, as they warned us the music (Saturday night) was loud from the bar below but off by 10:00pm as stated. Convenient location, no frills room good price for summer peak season. Yes there is no elevator and narrow staircase so be prepared. Parking convenient across the street from hotel.

Room Tip: depending on your preferences they have rooms for every request. If you don't like noise do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johncrawcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#5 of 19 in Leavenworth
1,990 reviews
0.6 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#13 of 19 in Leavenworth
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 19 in Leavenworth
1,382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Der Ritterhof Inn
Der Ritterhof Inn
#11 of 19 in Leavenworth
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Ritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Ritz Hotel

Address: 633 Front St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1346
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Leavenworth
Price Range: £90 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bavarian Ritz Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience romance Bavarian Style at Bavarian Ritz Hotel, one of the most romantic hotels in downtown Leavenworth. Set in the heart of downtown Leavenworth Washington. Just as you step out of our hotel, you are on Front Street in the heart of downtown, where all the shops,restaurants and where all the action is. We have unique rooms and suites you have to see the pictures to appreciate them.Free downtown parking lot exclusive for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Bavarian Ritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Ritz Leavenworth
Hotel Bavarian Ritz
Ritz Leavenworth
Leavenworth Ritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing