We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross food”

King Ludwig's Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 90 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Cuisines: American, German, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gross food”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

First off every surface space was sticky, the chair, table, forks, and my shoes were sticking to the floor. I didn't want to know why. When the food came it looked alright but was very heavy and didn't sit right. When the waitstaff came they took my plate with a couple bites taken out of it, took it to the kitchen came back and got within a couple inches of my face and asked if it was ok? I told them it wasn't but that it's fine, to get her out of my personal space and so I could quickly pay and make a hasty retreat out of there and to never come back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    122
    91
    43
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food for the money”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stopped at this lovely restaurant for lunch and ordered their roulades and the wiener schnitzel. Both were very good, with red cabbage on the side and the roulades came with spaetzle and gravy for $13 each. Lots of food for the money!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oktoberfest spoiled if not for beer/music”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Schweinshax'n is their speciality. However my father and my husband, an Austrian, were both craving schnitzls upon arrival and I just had a brat. Reviews said great, they said blah. Worst ever! Even with the tasty blaukraut it could not save the dried out cut of meat. To top of the disaster, a couple sitting at the end of the table ordered two Schweinshax'n, not having any knowledge of what it is, how big a portion it is and what kind of succulent delight they would brought to westerners still holding Starbucks cups in hand and a purse dog eagerly awaiting some treat from above. When their order arrived, their faces sold their fancy world. They picked, poked and looked before settling on the rice and the check. There stood two plates of a German delicacy about to be thrown out. So while the possibility of lecker Schweinshax'n, the rest of the food was horrible. A tasty schnitzl is simple with good meat. If you know your consumers are intoxicated you don't need a top chef to make simple food.

Helpful?
2 Thank M T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payette, Idaho
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We had lunch and dinner in early June. No crowds, great service, and honest to goodness Bavarian food. The Schweinshaxen were just fabulous with crisp skin, tender meat, and portions that were huge. The red cabbage and sauerkraut were excellent and the Bavarian sausage delighted my German wife. The locally brewed dark Porter was a great complement to the meals. The prices were fair considering the quantity of food. Don't miss it!

Helpful?
Thank Crankydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Two Dining Experiences”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you visit on a weekend, you can chose to sit in the lower level with communal sitting and live band for the Oktoberfest experience, or you can chose the dining room for a more cozy and quiet visit. King Ludwig's is a must do for us because we have found that the service and food are consistent with each visit. The staff is very friendly and willing to make suggestions that may best suit your table. The food is authentic, and the portions are very generous - we have discovered that if we share the Schweinshax’n and an order of Spätzle with Jagersauce, it is more than enough for two people and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cariman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King Ludwig's Restaurant also viewed

 
Leavenworth, WA
 

Been to King Ludwig's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing