We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not necessarily great”
Review of Cafe Christa - CLOSED

Cafe Christa
Price range: US$5 - US$24
Cuisines: German, American, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Upstairs across from the Maipole featuring German and Northwest specialties with 11 German beers on draft.
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, not necessarily great”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The food was good, just not anything above average. The service however was excellent. Very good waiters helping you and checking on you often. The manager also came by to check on us. We were seated in a narrow hallway by the lovely windowseats which we loved....but the air conditioning made everyone freeze! They did turn it off when requested spot on. The other small problem is that everyone had their windows open to get fresh air circulating and warm up and then there was an invasion of little nats swarming around everyone and their food...I could see everyone swatting! May need to get screens or sonething. But...even so...we had an enjoyable dinner and they are to be commended on their excellent waitstaff!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    30
    31
    13
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ocean shores
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good…good enough – Pros and Cons”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Looking at their menu and location we figured it looked like a good choice.
Pros -The open windows letting in the polka music, the historic feel of the place and the wait staff made for a very pleasant experience. They had a nice selection and varied menu and the service was quick and professional. Being in Leavenworth there was a nice selection of the Bavarian kind. The food was nice. Nothing real special or OMG delish but nice. There were no complaints around our table. The portions were adequate.
Cons – The price point was a tad on the steep side but I suspect this is just a Leavenworth thing as we saw this most everywhere we went. For $11, I had their sampler which came out to be a sausage and a half with some potato salad and sauerkraut. There was not much for the non-meat eaters but here again, when in the land of beer and brats it can be tough on those non carnivores.
Bottom Line – if you are hoping for “Wow!” you might not find it here. If you are looking for no surprises, standard dining in a nice atmosphere this might be the ticket.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ducklakedaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A bit dated but still good restaurant”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We had a dinner @ Cafe Christa in August after travelling all day and were tired and hungry. By 8pm the town of Leavenworth was shutting down, and Cafe Christa was still open, so in we went. We enjoyed a table overlooking the street, and had schnitzel in keeping with the Austrian theme of Leavenworth. Food was good and filling, and we enjoyed a beer with dinner. The restaurant makes their own dessers including Apple Struedel but we were too full to try it. The building premises seem a bit older and the restaurant decor is looking a bit faded. The service was a little spotty, and the table beside us received our bill and vice versa. Overall a nice place, just nothing extraordinary.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelley738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Return every trip”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is our favorite place for dinner while in Leavenworth. Always an excellent meal and super friendly service. We'll be back again for sure.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kraeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EagleID
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“looking forward to first trip to leavenworth”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

owners - as restaurant people, we are encouraged to try your restaurant when we visit in September since you suggest you have introduced an improved menu. we enjoy german-austrian cuisine and hope to find items we knew in Europe at your locale. dan Peterson, boise

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank danieldpeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Christa also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing