We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Obertal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Obertal Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My husband and I, along with our mini-poodle who is our constant companion and a great traveller, stayed at the Obertal in Leavenworth. We had a 3rd floor room which was spotlessly clean (I am a bit of a germaphobic and didn't feel the need to do my usual "sani wipe down"). The room was comfortable and the staff were excellent. They guided us to dog friendly restaurants, a swimming area for our water crazy pooch and any other sites we wanted to see. We really enjoyed the whole town and were very happy staying at the Obertal. We are planning a similar trip this summer and will book there again.
Thanks to the staff at the Obertal for making our visit very enjoyable. See you soon!
Cheryl & Ken Taschuk (and KC, the mini-poodle)
ps We stayed the next night at Coulee Damn and had a very disappointing experience in comparison!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    578
    146
    24
    4
See reviews for
521
878
41
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

On our recent driving vacation we reserved a room at the Obertal Inn in Leavenworth, Washington. We were kind of wondering what it was going to be like and were pleasantly surprised by a very comfortable room and the most accommadating hostess. She had us on the top floor to begin with but we asked for the ground floor if possible and she made it happen for us. It was a great room with the most comfortable beds that almost made it feel like we were at home climbing into our own bed. The bed just almost swallowed you up in coziness. Breakfast was served up the next morning and there was lots to offer. The view had we have taken the top floor would have been great as there are snow capped mountains off in the distance.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I have stayed at quite a few hotels in Leavenworth, WA. Some I will stay at again, some I avoid at all costs, lol. The Obertal, however, is a new favorite. I will definitely be staying there again. The room was clean, comfy and homey. I loved the charming facility, also. The "staff" made you feel more like a friend or family member that a "guest" or customer. I highly recommend the lovely establishment.

Room Tip: Call ahead, let them know exactly what you are looking for. I did, and they gave us the perfect room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I purchased a Groupon for this hotel with intentions of giving it to my parents but they were unable to use it. I live on Vancouver Island, BC and recently planned a 4 day trip to Seattle (been many times) and Leavenworth (never been). The Groupon cost $89 for a King Suite with champagne mimosas. After staying at the Obertal Inn, I'm glad my parents did not receive this as part of their Christmas gift!

Positives:
The 3-hour fire logs provided for burning in the fireplace were warm and cozy; Bed was clean and harder (good for me); Pillows were squishy and comfy; Breakfast was delicious with lots of healthy, fresh, and tasty options!; The tall maintenance? gentleman was very friendly and helpful in assisting us with alternate driving directions as Stevens Pass was closed for avalanche control.

Negatives:
I was disappointed by the dated feel of our top floor (room 404) suite. The kitchenette was located in an awkward narrow closet/hallway beside the bathroom; The overflow drain of the sink was rusted through in a 2" hole; Drain was very slow and backed up just washing hands; Shower head had poor pressure and half the water came out the lower faucet; The tv remote only changed channels seemingly if all the stars and planets were aligned. It was actually the most frustrating part of the evening since there is no "guide" channel to show what is on and you have to just flip through the channels. I nearly threw the remote several times while trying to "relax". The covered parking area provided to guests staying in suites was appreciated but was partly blocked and difficult to get into even with my tiny Pontiac Wave. I had about an inch on either side of my mirrors. It snowed through the night and I would have really liked to have seen the uncovered walkway and stairs from our room shoveled before we went down for breakfast at 915am. I really don't think this is too early to have the walkways cleared for a business considering it is a safety issue. In addition, the hot tub was closed/being redone which was very disappointing to find out on arrival considering I definitely would have enjoyed that ammenity.

Lastly, I was charged $35 in "taxes" on top of the Groupon I'd prepurchased. Clearly this is too much and I will need to call the Obertal Inn to get this straightened out.

I would like to return to Leavenworth when I have more time to take in the town and explore the surrounding area but I would probably try another hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor King suite (#404) was very dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
We thank this guest for sharing their review on Tripadsvisor. We learn invaluable insight from reviews and appreciate anyone who takes the time and effort to review us.

We feel terrible that this guest did not appreciate our little Inn, but understand some of the concerns. Our two Deluxe Fireplace King rooms are indeed in need of an update and it is slated to take place next year early spring. We will gut those rooms and redo them completely so they are back up to standard.

We are sorry that the remote didn’t work – we don’t know what happened. We were unable to recreate the difficulty with changing the channel. It would irritate the heck out of me as well if the remote acted up.

The snow should have been shoveled earlier and we have discussed this with our staff.

We understand that it is disappointing to not have the hot tub available, however, we are quite certain this guest would have been even more dissatisfied had (s)he experienced our old hot tub. It was 25 years old and was on its last leg. We are spending over $40,000 replacing our hot tub an repairing the deck. Overall this year we will invest an additional $80,000 in upgrading our hotel. In three years’ time we will have spent over $300,000. Unfortunately we can’t do it all at once, otherwise we would.

The taxes on the 1 night groupon are $9.78, which is what this guest was charged.

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Where else can you get a champagne cocktail (for $3) to sip with your lovely free breakfast? Waffles and big variety of fresh fruit, nuts and other delicious things to add to them or your cereal or yoghurt. Host made great suggestions for restaurants, walks, drives and scenic travel. In fact, everyone we encountered in Leavenworth was very hospitable. Really enjoyed the snow, the magical holiday lights and good, unusual restaurants and food shops. You can walk anywhere from the Obertal and walking is one of the most enjoyable things to do here. Room was spacious and comfortable and I always appreciate it when I can bring my little dog.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Very friendly reception when first arriving, super quiet whenever in our room, and great breakfast. Would certainly stay here again when coming back. Also, easy walk to all the good stuff, like the Icicle Brewing Company.
Chris,
Anacortes

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fidalgo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everett, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband and I stay at the Obertal Inn everytime we are in Leavenworth. Our 5 pound Pomeranian, Sophie, is welcome there as well! The staff is always so friendly, the motel and grounds are always very well kept and clean too. It is close to everything you would ever want to do in Leavenworth, so the car stays in the parking lot the whole time we are there, My husband is a skier, so in the Winter months when we visit, he goes skiing for the day while Sophie and I poke around town(many stores are dog friendly as well). If you are looking for an affordable place for a night or two...or a whole week, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stessielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Der Ritterhof Inn
Der Ritterhof Inn
#11 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#12 of 17 in Leavenworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#5 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obertal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obertal Inn

Property: Obertal Inn
Address: 922 Commercial St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Obertal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please accept a heartfelt welcome as we invite you to spend a night (or two or three) at the Obertal Inn; we are one block from everything in downtown Leavenworth, also known as "Little Bavaria." Explore the shops, enjoy fine European cuisine and soak up the tranquility of our beautiful village. We have a variety of lodging options, from a plain hotel room to a 3 bedroom townhouse. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms have two Queen or one King bed. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, and LCD TV. Our townhouses, apartments and, suites offer excellent accommodations for families traveling together. High speed wireless internet is free for hotel guests and is available in every room. All King rooms have electric or wood burning fireplaces and have a 37” LCD TV with a Blu Ray DVD player. Four King rooms have Spa Tubs in the room to enjoy a luxurious soak after your busy day. Wake up to breathtaking mountain views and enjoy a wide variety of foods on our breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Obertal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obertal Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing