We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms but not planning on coming back....”
Review of Obertal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Obertal Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice rooms but not planning on coming back....”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The rooms are clean and large. The location of the hotel is wonderful and the breakfast was great too. However, that is where the positive experiences for our stay ended. Since the hotel is pet friendly, we took our dog with us. We found it interesting that they put us in a second story room with a dog. The front office would not let us switch to a first floor room. The bathroom area for dogs is across the street which was somewhat annoying. The other annoying aspect is the garbage trucks run at around 5-7am and are very loud. My dog is scared of garbage trucks so we didn't get a lot of sleep. In addition, the front desk staff was rude when we checked in. They did not inform us prior to arriving that we can only have one vehicle in the parking lot. If another person in your party comes separate they have to park on the street (Oct-@March you cannot park overnight on the street). Lastly, there was no irons in the rooms. There are two for the whole hotel to share at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wine-o_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We thank you for posting your review of our hotel online.

We are terribly sorry that you will not be returning. As a hospitality business, we rely on our guests having a great experience and wanting to come back every year, or maybe even multiple times per year.

We are sorry that you had to cross the street to let your dog go potty. Unfortunately we are in the middle of town and there is really nothing we can change about that. Ditto for the garbage trucks. We have reached out to the city, who controls garbage collection, and asked them about the schedule. Unfortunately the garbage has to be picked up during those times due to it being in the alley and the alley must be ready to allow delivery trucks to come through beginning at 8am.

As for the parking, you are correct; there is only one spot for every room, however, in the confirmation email we send to every reservation, the following is stated about parking:

"Parking
Free parking is available on site. One parking spot is assigned per room. Should you arrive with multiple cars, only one car per room may be parked on the Obertal Inn lot, unless an exception is made by the Front Desk Agent.

Please be advised that over-night street parking is possible from April through October. Winter parking restrictions are strictly enforced during the winter months due to the need for regular snow removal activities."

We apologize that you did not notice that, but we make every effort to communicate clearly to all our guests as to what the parking situation is.

Staff being rude is completely unacceptable to us. We take great pride in being super helpful and friendly to all our guests. If we were not with you, please accept my apologies.

Sincerely,

Hans & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    589
    150
    24
    4
See reviews for
538
897
44
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is not our first stay at Obertal, and it will not be our last. The Rooms are clean and have room for everything....It is walking distance to everything - Wonderful complimentary breakfast - Manager is professional AND warm - price is very good....Excellent - overall....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martian58578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Our room was on the second floor. The hotel is a walk up so not the best for some elderly folks. The room was very large and clean. Nice king sized bed. The complimentary breakfast was very nice.The staff were nice. The town is very pretty but is not a place we would go to again as you can walk thall the streets in half a day.

Room Tip: The secons floor was good and we had no noise above us,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melfordearl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in a room with a king sized bed with a very comfortable mattress. At one end of the room was an electric fireplace with two sitting chairs. They serve a great breakfast every morning, with fresh fruit salad, french toast, waffles, bagels, eggs, etc. The room included a 37" TV that we used to watch some movies.

The Obertal is located in the heart of Leavenworth, within very easy walking distance of the entire town.

The only suggestion that I'd make is that they increase the water pressure in the shower. The water more or less trickles out, where I prefer a strong stream of water that actually gives a massage action.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Saturday morning garbage truck pickup at 4:36 wakes us up Sunday morning garbage truck pickup at 6:23 wakes us up Monday morning 6:30 it wakes us up whats with that :( We stayed in a more expensive suite which is located on the second floor. If they have a before the 6 am wake up garbage truck then they should serve breakfast before 8:00 am. Had to walk for awhile to find a place open that had coffee or breakfast at that time

Room Tip: mold around the tub is not a good sign
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a an older, pet friendly, centrally located property. The staff was very accommodating and we found our room to be exceptionally clean. Some updating has been done but because it is an older building there are limits. The outdoor sitting area on the second floor can be noisy if in use, probably best to stay away from that part of the hotel. There are serious stairs to be climbed if you are resident on the third floor. The location is a major plus, within walking distance of just about all Leavenworth has to offer...

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, get a ground floor room, this will also help with the noise from the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umatilla
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Have stayed twice in the last 4 months...the double queen rooms are just average for decor and space however there is not a thing wrong with this Inn as a place to stay in Leavenworth.....everyone is extremely friendly....breakfast is good with excellent fresh fruit...some rooms have good views of the mountains.........location is good for walking everywhere....beds and pillows are wonderful......have no idea why someone would say there are squeaky beds...must have been a rare room.....and the outside is NOT shabby....it is Leavenworth and adorable! My only disappointment or complaint was having to move our car on parade day (very early in the morning in order to find a parking place on the street)....it was our checkout day at 11:00 ....parade was at 12:00 .....we thought possibly they would make an allowance as far as checking out of our room but leaving our car in their lot since new people do not have check in until 4:00..... however instead they "favor" the new people coming to town rather then the ones that have stayed 2 nights already and are leaving......this did not seem quite logical since I would not have been able to check in before noon if I had arrived early on my check in date..... but I was given the feeling that the "long-time" returning clients out ranked us unadvised new comers.... next time we will know to stay on Saturday....probably only noticed this as an inconvenience since I had recently broke a bone in my leg and was hobbling around on a cane or a walker so having to move and load the car on the street was a bit of a pain!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor (like 305 or 306) give you a good mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umatillapole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,020 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#13 of 17 in Leavenworth
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpine Rivers Inn
Alpine Rivers Inn
#8 of 17 in Leavenworth
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Der Ritterhof Inn
Der Ritterhof Inn
#11 of 17 in Leavenworth
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obertal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obertal Inn

Property: Obertal Inn
Address: 922 Commercial St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Obertal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please accept a heartfelt welcome as we invite you to spend a night (or two or three) at the Obertal Inn; we are one block from everything in downtown Leavenworth, also known as "Little Bavaria." Explore the shops, enjoy fine European cuisine and soak up the tranquility of our beautiful village. We have a variety of lodging options, from a plain hotel room to a 3 bedroom townhouse. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms have two Queen or one King bed. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, and LCD TV. Our townhouses, apartments and, suites offer excellent accommodations for families traveling together. High speed wireless internet is free for hotel guests and is available in every room. All King rooms have electric or wood burning fireplaces and have a 37” LCD TV with a Blu Ray DVD player. Four King rooms have Spa Tubs in the room to enjoy a luxurious soak after your busy day. Wake up to breathtaking mountain views and enjoy a wide variety of foods on our breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Obertal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obertal Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing