We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful continental breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Obertal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Obertal Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
North Bend, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful continental breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Nice and cozy inn so close to everything. The continental breakfast was the best one that I have came across in all my years of staying at quaint inns. The waffle bar complete with the Nutella, choco chips, fresh fruit, and whipped cream was splendid. The yogurt bar was just as good as it had fresh fruit, nuts, and even a choice of light or regular yogurt.Good choices of cereal and awesome coffee blend to even include some seasonal creamers like pumpkin spice. I highly recommend a stay here just for the complementary breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms are value priced but clean and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    552
    142
    23
    4
See reviews for
495
844
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Idaho, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and our overall experience was poor. The staff was very nice and the location was great, really close everything in downtown Leavenworth.

In our experience we heard every single pin drop and toilet flush from the neighbors. When showering the water temperature changed at least 10 times in 10 mins. The hot tub wasn't in working condition but there was no courtesy note stating that there will be work done to it at 8am. Woke up several days in a row to a skill saw and drill. Our door didn't seal so the room was constantly cold.

A plus is that they did offer towels that were bigger than the normal child-size towel.

We won't be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Christine:

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and want you to know that we take your comments very seriously.

We are so terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We work tirelessly to ensure every guest enjoys their stay and we are disappointed in ourselves that we were not able to add you to the 84% of our guests who thoroughly enjoy their experience.

We are a wooden building and one of the downsides is that you do hear some noise overflow from other rooms, particularly water running. We wish we could fix this - unfortunately this is the curse of an older building.

I apologize for the noise of the hot tub being replaced. We are investing quite heavily in getting the hot tub done and in our haste our crew started before they were supposed to. I am sorry this created a nuisance for you.

Sincerely,

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpoint
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We recently stayed at the brand new Obertal Inn condos, just across the street from the older Obertal Inn. We stayed with friends, and found the condo to be quite large, tastefully decorated, and fully equipped. However, there was no iron or ironing board, and it may be picky, but it would have been helpful to have a hook on the inside of the bathroom door. The bed was extremely comfortable, and had the European-style duvet. It states on the website that the kitchen is fully equipped, which it was, but it would be helpful if more specifics were given. We brought items with us (which we had to carry up the stairs) that we found were already in the kitchen, such as coffee, salt & pepper and kitchen towels. It was quiet, and there was a lovely balcony off the living room. You have to walk up stairs to get to the condo, then once inside you walk upstairs to get to the spacious bedrooms. Because of the stairs we would probably not stay there again, but we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. A lot of thought went into making the condo as comfortable as possible.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaBSandpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Super close to everything, comfortable beds, nice shower. No not exactly upscale however in the context of Leavenworth and the surroundings, fits in quite nicely. The gal who runs the place, I believe Pam, is super helpful and accomodating. Oktoberfest weekend is jammed but they provided a quiet atmosphere along with parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Although the new 2 bedroom condo accommodations were more than we really needed, we were very happy to have stayed there. The condo is fully equipped, with the exception of an iron and ironing board. The decor is lovely, and the furniture and beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is not included in the price of the condo rental, but is available for $8 per person in the main hotel building, which is across the street. The condos are built above some retail space, so there are stairs to climb if that's a concern for travellers. Location is great - right in the heart of the town. You really wouldn't need to get in the car to do or see anything in Leavenworth. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emeraldgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, OR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Rooms are nice size and comfortable, decor is average; quiet except for that early morning garbage truck. The breakfast is great, and the location is excellent. Carrying our cooler and other bags up to the third floor on an outside staircase was a surprise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaInOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The rooms are clean and large. The location of the hotel is wonderful and the breakfast was great too. However, that is where the positive experiences for our stay ended. Since the hotel is pet friendly, we took our dog with us. We found it interesting that they put us in a second story room with a dog. The front office would not let us switch to a first floor room. The bathroom area for dogs is across the street which was somewhat annoying. The other annoying aspect is the garbage trucks run at around 5-7am and are very loud. My dog is scared of garbage trucks so we didn't get a lot of sleep. In addition, the front desk staff was rude when we checked in. They did not inform us prior to arriving that we can only have one vehicle in the parking lot. If another person in your party comes separate they have to park on the street (Oct-@March you cannot park overnight on the street). Lastly, there was no irons in the rooms. There are two for the whole hotel to share at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wine-o_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We thank you for posting your review of our hotel online.

We are terribly sorry that you will not be returning. As a hospitality business, we rely on our guests having a great experience and wanting to come back every year, or maybe even multiple times per year.

We are sorry that you had to cross the street to let your dog go potty. Unfortunately we are in the middle of town and there is really nothing we can change about that. Ditto for the garbage trucks. We have reached out to the city, who controls garbage collection, and asked them about the schedule. Unfortunately the garbage has to be picked up during those times due to it being in the alley and the alley must be ready to allow delivery trucks to come through beginning at 8am.

As for the parking, you are correct; there is only one spot for every room, however, in the confirmation email we send to every reservation, the following is stated about parking:

"Parking
Free parking is available on site. One parking spot is assigned per room. Should you arrive with multiple cars, only one car per room may be parked on the Obertal Inn lot, unless an exception is made by the Front Desk Agent.

Please be advised that over-night street parking is possible from April through October. Winter parking restrictions are strictly enforced during the winter months due to the need for regular snow removal activities."

We apologize that you did not notice that, but we make every effort to communicate clearly to all our guests as to what the parking situation is.

Staff being rude is completely unacceptable to us. We take great pride in being super helpful and friendly to all our guests. If we were not with you, please accept my apologies.

Sincerely,

Hans & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.4 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Der Ritterhof Inn
Der Ritterhof Inn
#11 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#12 of 17 in Leavenworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obertal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obertal Inn

Property: Obertal Inn
Address: 922 Commercial St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Obertal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please accept a heartfelt welcome as we invite you to spend a night (or two or three) at the Obertal Inn; we are one block from everything in downtown Leavenworth, also known as "Little Bavaria." Explore the shops, enjoy fine European cuisine and soak up the tranquility of our beautiful village.Our tastefully appointed guest rooms have two Queen or one King bed. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, and LCD TV. High speed wireless internet is free for hotel guests and is available in every room. All King rooms have electric or wood burning fireplaces and have a 37” LCD TV with a Blu Ray DVD player. Two King rooms have Spa Tubs in the room to enjoy a luxurious soak after your busy day. Wake up to breathtaking mountain views and enjoy a wide variety of foods on our breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Obertal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obertal Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing