We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bait and switch”
Review of Obertal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Obertal Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Port Orchard
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bait and switch”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Second time in a row using Group-0n that price was increased once we arrived. Person at desk insisted that we upgraded our room via telephone, so price was more. We did not request "upgrade" and never used or would have requested a hot tub IN THE UN-PRIVACY of the bedroom. Thought my sister and I were getting a two bed room, instead one bed and a tub! We told clerk we did not request upgrade or tub, but nothing could be changed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We appreciate Janis submitting her review.

Generally we take all comments in stride and address all issues so we can constantly improve our services. We find it extraordinary that Janis would use the term "bait and switch" as the title of her review.

As an accommodation to guests who purchase promotional certificates, we offer the possibility to upgrade from the purchased room. This option is clearly identified when making the booking online as Janis did on June 10 at 7:35PM. Janis selected the upgrade and, per her reservation we reserved her in that room.

We understand that sometimes there is a misunderstanding, but I must take issue with the accusation levied in this review. We do not "bait and switch" our clients and we didn't do this to Janis either. We simply reserved the upgraded room Janis requested.

We assume that when Janis purchased her promotional certificate she did not read through the accompanying rules. We are totally transparent every time we do a promotional offer and every buyer of these certificates knows, or should know, that there are always rules attached to promotions. We have never been accused of "bait and switch" and it is difficult for me to accept the accusation of doing something other than honorable.

We sincerely hope that you (the reader) will heed the hundreds of positive reviews and know that we take hospitality very seriously and would never, for the sake of a few bucks, bait and switch our guests.

Sincerely,

Hans & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    578
    146
    24
    4
See reviews for
521
878
41
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silverdale, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

PROS: VERY clean and GREAT location.
CONS: Bathrooms too small. Breakfast bar too small for amount of guests served (e.g. 1 waffle maker for the whole facility) and the seating area was WAY too small for the number of rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SJC528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your review. We appreciate the comments and we are aware of the limitations of one section of our bathrooms. We wish there was an affordable fix - unfortunately there isn't.

Our breakfast area is small and it does get crowded in there when a large number of guests all come at once. We make it easy on our guests to take breakfast to their rooms and/or eat it on the patio when it's a nice day.

We are terribly sorry this provided an inconvenience for you. Sadly, neither of these two issues are easily addressed.

Sincerely,

Hans & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This past weekend I had the wonderful opportunity to stay at the townhouse units offered by the Obertal Inn. The townhouses are 2 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, a kitchen, flatscreen TVs...etc. The townhouses are very spacious (could easily fit four/five people) which made for a very comfortable stay. The employees were also very friendly. I would stay here again (and hope to go again in October) and, as a result, strongly recommend the Obertal Inn.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Maurice:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you in October again.

sincerely,

Hans & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great location, within walking distance to everything!! Rooms were clean, staff was very friendly, helpful & answered all of our questions. Amazing shopping & restaurants all around. This will be our go to place whenever we visit Leavenworth! Check them out!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Haley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Haley:

We LOVE the capital letters. Thank you!

It makes our day to write such wonderful reviews and know that we are succeeding in our mission.

Sincerely,

Hans & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the Obertal Inn. It was a bit pricey, but not much more than others around it. We would stay here again. Close to everything that Leavenworth has to offer. Thank you for your congeniality.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Terri:

Thank you very much for your nice review.

Summer months and December are the busiest time of year and prices on the weekends are seasonal. We are glad you recognized that it is a bit more expensive at all hotels in town and we are really happy that you would stay with us again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Hans & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great location in town within walking distance to everything. Staff is friendly and suggested a great location for horse back riding. The rooms were ok but not bad. The breakfast area needs expanded but good selection. We would come back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjg300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad you would come back next time when you visit Leavenworth.

We are aware that the breakfast room is small and are racking our brain to figure out a way to expand this area without breaking the bank. Sadly we are beginning to realize this is something we may have to live with. We hope our guests will forgive us that one issue.

Sincerely,

Hans & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I wanted to spend the weekend in Leavenworth for our 5th anniversary. Obertal Inn was the perfect place to stay--the spa suite with fireplace was beautiful, the spa tub with jets was really relaxing. The view of the mountains from the hotel are beautiful. We were able to easily walk anywhere to get food or drinks. I loved that the inn sells beer and wine in their lobby--I often wish more hotels did this. When we bought a bottle of wine the person at the front desk offered to give us some nice wine glasses to take back to the room. All of the staff we interacted with was super friendly. My only complaint is that the people in the room above us were extremely loud--they had a dog that barked most of the day and much of the night. I wouldn't blame the inn for this--guests need to be more considerate.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Erin:

Thank you very much for your very nice review.

We are so terribly sorry for the barking dog above you. We wish we would have known because we would have most certainly addressed it immediately. We are so sorry this may have put a bit of a damper on your stay. We very much appreciate you recognizing that we can't control everything that every guest does - this really means a lot to us.

sincerely,

Hans & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Der Ritterhof Inn
Der Ritterhof Inn
#11 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#12 of 17 in Leavenworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#5 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obertal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obertal Inn

Property: Obertal Inn
Address: 922 Commercial St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Obertal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please accept a heartfelt welcome as we invite you to spend a night (or two or three) at the Obertal Inn; we are one block from everything in downtown Leavenworth, also known as "Little Bavaria." Explore the shops, enjoy fine European cuisine and soak up the tranquility of our beautiful village. We have a variety of lodging options, from a plain hotel room to a 3 bedroom townhouse. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms have two Queen or one King bed. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, and LCD TV. Our townhouses, apartments and, suites offer excellent accommodations for families traveling together. High speed wireless internet is free for hotel guests and is available in every room. All King rooms have electric or wood burning fireplaces and have a 37” LCD TV with a Blu Ray DVD player. Four King rooms have Spa Tubs in the room to enjoy a luxurious soak after your busy day. Wake up to breathtaking mountain views and enjoy a wide variety of foods on our breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Obertal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obertal Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing